We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE RICHMOND HOUSE-DETAILS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richmond House Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE RICHMOND HOUSE-DETAILS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed The RICHMOND HOUSE HOTEL -two nights . in feb-2014-as honeymooners. Apart from the excellent set up of the hotel -spacious rooms with excellent beds ,A beautiful place to dine or sit -on the private balcony of the kings suite on the top floor. with some extraordinary views of the down town of kandy. it was nice to see at night the from the balcony the light up city of Kandy-we really enjoyed with the family members of this hotel .always eager to serve and give any ideas about the next day programs- and it is a colonial style bungalow hotel which made us really nice experience.look forward to to meet you next time in Kandy-Thank you for the staff for their excellent service-

Room Tip: The top balcony -Kings suite is worth to stay-
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    172
    60
    21
    5
See reviews for
148
286
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I visited-The Richmond Richmond house-In April-2014-The hotel-Is on a top of a mountain with
some magnificent views and a serene atmosphere. The staff was brilliant and the service is well.We stayed @ a deluxe room no 04,With some memorable stunning views.And we had some tours with them and and the arrangements are processional.The room was big and the room services are worth.It is about 04 km from the Kandy city centre and to the Royal botanical gardens-Just one hour away from the Pinnawala elephant orphanage-@ pinnawala-
One way-Many thanks for the management and the staff-for our valuable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank william F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

After a whole day trip we arrived in Kandy. It's all about surprise! This is a very beautiful hotel in the mountain and has a very good view over Kandy. The service is very excellent and the people here are very nice, too. The room is clean and so big. It's a pleasant moment when we get up and stand in the balcony, enjoying the beautiful view of Kandy city. We'll still choose this lovely hotel next time we go to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HelenTang2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We travelled sri lanka for few days and booked richmond house for our last 2 nights before head back to Bangkok.We booked the car from richmond house to the air port and the price was reasonable . well compare to other taxies we paid in other place.The suite was perfectly cleaned and well decorated with antique furnitures.Service ,staff,manager all made our last nights a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Richmond House is very beautiful hotel, breath taking view from hill top. all rooms have small sitting area outside the room like balcony. staff are very active, always smiling and helpful. when i arrived at the hotel, they welcomed me with their nice smiles. it was awesome experience. the food is very nice and so the breakfast. i recommend this hotel for couples and honeymooners.This hotel was about 15 mins out of the main town by tuk tuk but that meant it had an absolutely stunning view across the mountains and really felt like you were away from things. The room was quiet, comfortable bed, well stocked bathroom and beautiful view. What more could you want?! absolutely gorgeous. Well worth staying at. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Deluxe or Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jegan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

As we are newly wedded sri lankan couple we selected richmond house for our best day.we bookd a deluxe room (no 5)after reading good reviws on tripadvisor web site.as it has mentined the pathway to the hotel was very steepy.but once you enter it is a totally different world as it looks from out side.the view was one of the best we have seen in sri lanka.the service and the privacy was well kept and had no trouble.the candle light dinne at the top balcony was the best part at this hotel for us.one of the best place for a honeymoones in kandy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank k4527abeysinhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

After a busy day touring this hotel was just perfect. We were welcomed in to this beautiful hotel and shown to our room with a view over Kandy. We had a standard room and it was spotless and very comfortable with plenty of room.

Dinner was excellent and we arranged to have an earlier breakfast than normal due to our plans for the following day, the team accommodated our request without any fuss.

Service was excellent and we would not hesitate visiting this family run hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view over Kandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank walts82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Property: The Richmond House Kandy
Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing