We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Polwaththa Eco Lodges
Ranked #4 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

It was really beautyful to have an oppotunity to live in the middle of forest in awesome house and toilet! And the warming up water by wood was like putting the clocs back! And also it was amazing opportunity to plant a tree and spend one of the nights with civit :D Amazing food and trip to village through the forest and hills and swimming in the river! Wish You best!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dominika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    43
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
100
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights as our first accommodation in Sri Lanka. The whole experience was amazing and a fantastic way to start our trip.

Polwathatha arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport, and greeted us after our long drive with fresh fruit juices - perfect!

We stayed in the cheaper accommodation - mud huts. It was some of the best accommodation we had during our time in Sri Lanka! Despite being basic accommodation in the jungle, the rooms were spotless, no bugs! The beds were big and comfortable and the shower was powerful and hot once the water was heated (only takes 30 mins)

The staff at Polwathatha were so helpful and lovely, they cooked amazing Sri Lanka breakfasts and dinners for us at times we requested, and were on call 24 hours a day - nothing was too much bother for them.

We went for a short hike with one of their guides, including a river swim and a trip to the tea factory. The views on this hike was jaw dropping and the river swim was bliss. One of the best things I've ever done!

Don't hesitate to stay here. It may be a bit daunting being in the jungle however it is absolutely worth it - you will feel well looked after!

Thanks Nipuna and everyone for making our stay so special! :)

Room Tip: If you're on a budget the mud huts are wonderful and still have a great view of the wildlife in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyHesilrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

wonderful food, great activities (the long hike was a high light), and a gentle hint of wood smoke permeating our shower water - a real treat. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the owner organised our transport there and away so it was super easy. I got a little chilly at night, but then again I didn't ask for extra blankets, which I am sure would have been provided had I asked. And it might have been nice to have a plumper pillow, but that really is the (very limited) extent of anything negative I have to say. A great place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hsbk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here in November last year for a couple of nights and had a great time! It was brilliant to be able to stay outside of Kandy up in the forest but still within an hour by bus, as it gave us the chance to relax outside of the bustle of the city. The village tour is highly recommended and Nimal was a really gracious host, as were all of the other guys working there. Stay here if you're looking for a hide-out just outside of Kandy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Eco Lodge for 5 nights and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay and who loves nature. It is located quite far from Kandy (ca 45 min by tuktuk) in the middle of the mountains, but that guarantees you that you will only be woken by bird or gecko noises. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we especially enjoyed our two walks with Nipuna, who showed us numerous birds and fruits along the way. The food was also outstanding, so it's worth to at lease book half-board (as well because it's quite a ride until you get to another place wehre you can eat).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Traveller_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London ,UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

2 night in this fantastic eco lodge... tucked away in the jungle hills above Kandy you are certainly away from it all, surrounded by tropical fruit trees, wild spices, stunning birds, vocal wildlife,wonderful tales and incredibly hospitable knowledgeable hosts ,everything feels right!! Great informative walks through the jungle, paddys, villages, you learn something new every few hundred metres. Great for kids, highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jowwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Recently I traveled with my family and we all enjoyed the time we were there. It's located inside of a small jungle so you get the feel of a jungle while stay safe. They offer tasty sri lankan food cooked using wood and clay pots. The hot water they provide for bath is heated by using wood so you get a very pleasant charcoal smell while you take your bath.

Place is rich with a variety of birds which you wouldn't wanna miss in the morning. The staff is really friendly and helpful. It's really value for money

Room Tip: Room on the stilts is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milinda1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
4.7 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
6.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
7.1 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.9 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polwaththa Eco Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polwaththa Eco Lodges

Property: Polwaththa Eco Lodges
Address: 69/1 Wepathana, Kandy | via Digana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polwaththa Eco Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polwaththa offers a tropical island holiday experience in the relaxed, natural setting of a Kandyan jungle while giving you the personal attention you deserve, served in a traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polwaththa Eco Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing