We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly owner and his team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarind Tree Guest House
Ranked #210 of 388 Kandy B&B and Inns
Kleinmachnow, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly owner and his team”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I am sitting here on the balcony and I see the beautiful kandy city from hanthane to hotel thilank, I think one of the best view that I can enjoy in a such friendly hospitality.rooms are king size and barth rooms are very clean.

This place is good value for money and they got there own took took.
Sri lankan food is very good and really like home cooking atmosphere.

It is not far from kandy city like 20 min by walk can reach here..I enjoy this placeright now

Room Tip: People say this place is away from kandy city, but that is wrong, it very close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kishen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
12
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northleach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed in this guest house in March for 5 nights and found it very clean and comfortable. Its location has the advantage of being quiet although this also means it is a 30 minute walk into the centre. The food was very good, both at breakfast and in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed two nights here. There were nice people and good food(included).
They speak nice English.
We stayed in non-A/C room, but it was OK. They have hot water, towels, and Wi-Fi(not free, 100Rps for half day, 200Rps for all day). You can decide the menu of dinner.
It is a little far away from the center of the city(about 10-15min by threewheeler), but quiet and good atmosphere.
There are Ayuruveda place near from here and also super market.
If you are backpackers, it may be a bit expensive but if you looking for a friendly family running guest house, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed with and were driven around by Sanaka the owner of Tamarind Guest House and found him to be a knowledgeable gentleman and genuinely lovely guy!! We were totally shocked by the previous review as we found him to be totally honest and trust worthy. He goes out of his way to please his guests, and not in that "fake over nice "way either. He has a guest book full of great reviews.
We find it hard to believe he would jeopardise his business and reputation by stealing a cheap phone. Kinds makes no sense at all ! I ask you to think about that one before making your own mind up about the previous review.
We had a great time with him and his family and you have to meet his fabulous dog Rex ! Sanaka will drive you to any destination in his comfy van and his prices are very reasonable. He knows all the places to stay and eat and will find you good guides at the main tourist attractions if you need them.
If you need a hotel and transport in Kandy you have found it bat the Tamarind tree Guest house!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haßloch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

As backpackers we've visited lot's of countries all over the world, but our most favorite is Sri Lanka and we've been here for five times now. The first trip was in 1994 and we decided to show our son the beauties of Sri Lanka when he had turned to eight years in 2004.
At this time we stayed at Seneka's small guesthouse "Walkers Inn Forest Lodge" and in the years 2006, 2008 and 2011 we returned to Sri Lanka and spent some days in Kandy, always in Seneka's guesthouse, even that he moved from "Walker's Inn" over "Planters Hotel" to "Tamarind Tree Guest House". We made several friends all around the island and Seneka and his lovely family are one of those who make us feeling home far way from Germany, I guess coming back four times speaks for itself. If you ask for the menue at time of breakfast, Seneka always offers to buy eg. fresh fish etc. from the market and prepares a perfect dinner at the time you've arranged with him. They also offer washing your clothes for a reasonable price and pick-up service from all around the island (eg. he picked us up from the Rainforest due to difficult bus connections to Kandy). Of course he's a business man, but we've always felt treated perfect and we appreciated his reliability. Be sure we'll come back !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jochen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Unless you want to be robbed and cheated, its probably best not to stay here. I had my doubts about the owner from the start but unfortunately against my better judgement ignored myself and we stayed. He had kindly invited us to see his son's rugby match and we were delighted to go. We however made the mistake of leaving our phone in the car presuming it would be okay. After the match we decided to go our own way without retrieving the phone (which was stupidity on our part but genuinely thought it would be safe, especially seen as its not worth much). When we came home that night there was no sign of the phone, we presumed when we got up the next day the matter would be sorted but it wasn't. He was not surprised nor very helpful. Annoyed and feeling unhappy we decided to leave. It was 2pm and he charged us for an extra night stay. We have traveled extensively and never in my life have I met such an ignorant and horrible man. He was clearly very annoyed with us because we didn't eat in his restaurant (which was very overpriced in comparison to other eateries) and it did really seem as if he stole our worthless phone out of spite. It is the principle not the price that matters to us and we had wanted to leave without any confrontation or arguement but were incensed by his audacity to charge us an extra night! Without doubt, the worse place I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank aoibhkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thushari, Manager at Tamarind Tree Guest House, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Dear customer,

as the manager of 'Tamarind Tree Inn' I feel very sorry about the events and misunderstandings that led to this bad review.
This can not be the place to clarify the issues against both my person and my business, however I would like to remark that I tried to resolve the problems and even offered going to the local police station.
My business ideal is to be at service for my customers at all times and to help them spend a perfect holiday in my beloved country.
A review like this one - whose contents were not 'objectively' resolved - is threatening both my reputation and the existence of my business.
I have a record of satisfied customers that revisited my guesthouse in the past years so I feel very sad about this particular review.

Kind regards,
Mr. Senaka & Ms. Sagasekara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Victory Hotel Kandy
Victory Hotel Kandy
#165 of 388 in Kandy
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kevins Lake View
Kevins Lake View
#209 of 388 in Kandy
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaara Residence
Amaara Residence
#260 of 388 in Kandy
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa 107
Villa 107
#93 of 388 in Kandy
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kandy Supreme Hotel
Kandy Supreme Hotel
#97 of 388 in Kandy
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#108 of 388 in Kandy
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Guest House

Property: Tamarind Tree Guest House
Address: 54/2 George E de Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 388 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarind Tree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tamarind Tree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing