We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarind Tree Guest House
Ranked #210 of 388 Kandy B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly place”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

its a very reasonable place. I just went there with my friends from different countries. we all came from singapore. the owner was very reasonable. we stayed only one night. we took the upstairs of the house which had a different door etc. living room was nice and spacious. could sit with my friends and could do our personnel talks there. its near to the town as well. very easy to find .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank su w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
12
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Friendly owner. Initially the room we were in were a bit dirty and not up to scratch. But the owner quickly rectify the situation to move us to room upstairs (which were more expensive) but they gave us discounts. Happy with the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

another value for money inn in sri lanka, well situated, with very accomodating and friendly staff.spent 2 nights here in march 3013, as not into a lot of chillies food also catered for , overlooks the town.

Room Tip: again book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Bed sheets and towels were dirty, we were trying to change them but the service staff was no longer available in the evening. The kitchen is open but the guests could not use it for some reason - we took 1 glass hot water for a tea and the manager added it as 10% service charge to our room's bill. We had a weird room with an additional door to the laundry room - which was locked in not a very secured way. The room itself was dirty and not pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My family and me visited Kandy on the 31st of December and stayed at the inn for two days. Although presented as an an established hotel online, Tamarind tree proved to be a couple of rooms that were part of the owner's house and managed by the owner's family. Although the rooms appeared to be clean but because of the location and it actually being a home, we experienced some discomfort during the night because of the disturbances outside due to the personal guests being entertained and the passing-by vehicles. Service was another issue as the family itself was responsible for it and to procure anything and everything took up a lot of our time and energy.
Some points of advice that I would like to give from my experience for people seeking accommodation would be:
- The only plus point is the location, so make sure that you take the road facing room preferably on the first floor to avoid any disturbances during the night.
-Be wary of additional charges that may be imposed during the time of checkout when it comes to ordering of food and beverages.
-Lastly, go with minimum expectations and be prepared for slow service since it isn't a professional establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Hi, we are from Germany. Find this place with our famous taxi driver from Negombo. Very beautiful place and we enjoy it. People are very friendly and the rice+curry were excellent. After dinner we are sitting with the owner on the balcony in a familar atmosphere. We will come back again ! Frank+Silvia from Duesseldorf, Germany. (You can get many information by the owner to go to Kandy or to travel further on the island)

Room Tip: Travel House, Sigiriya White Sand Beach Hotel, Nilaveli
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kleinmachnow, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I am sitting here on the balcony and I see the beautiful kandy city from hanthane to hotel thilank, I think one of the best view that I can enjoy in a such friendly hospitality.rooms are king size and barth rooms are very clean.

This place is good value for money and they got there own took took.
Sri lankan food is very good and really like home cooking atmosphere.

It is not far from kandy city like 20 min by walk can reach here..I enjoy this placeright now

Room Tip: People say this place is away from kandy city, but that is wrong, it very close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kishen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Victory Hotel Kandy
Victory Hotel Kandy
#165 of 388 in Kandy
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kevins Lake View
Kevins Lake View
#209 of 388 in Kandy
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaara Residence
Amaara Residence
#260 of 388 in Kandy
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa 107
Villa 107
#84 of 388 in Kandy
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kandy Supreme Hotel
Kandy Supreme Hotel
#98 of 388 in Kandy
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#107 of 388 in Kandy
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Guest House

Property: Tamarind Tree Guest House
Address: 54/2 George E de Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 388 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarind Tree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tamarind Tree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing