We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great guest house out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Woods Guest House
Ranked #107 of 433 Kandy B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great guest house out of the way”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. We had been travelling around Sri Lanka for a while and were pleased to find rooms with a good en-suite that had great amenities.
We also learnt to cook 5 beautiful curries (the mighty dhal included) and received an amazing welcome.

We hope we can return to Sri Lanka soon and if we do, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexTheys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    42
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
8
56
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

only 10 minutes by tuk tuk from kandy city center .we are enjoyed our life with friendly staff in kandy . actually 2 days . very beautiful location with woods . some time we can see monkeys and birds . how there enjoy there's life ..
very simple room with small bathroom.
if u going to kandy dont miss this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this friendly guesthouse with beautiful view to the woods and monkeys at the balcony. The owners and the manager were very helpful and made us feel welcome during our short stay. They also organise daytrips for fair prices, and you can get tickets to the famous kandy dance performance, which is definetly worth to visit. Ask for the sri lankan breakfast, it tastes fantastic! They also made us delicious pancakes with coconut filling.
gareth & marina

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Our room was cozy with a small bathroom attached and everything was clean. The guest house has a beautiful view and there are many balconies where you can sit, relax and watch the birds and monkeys. It's about 20 min walking from the entrance of the temple of the tooth. Breakfast was delicious and you can always ask Cusum to cook lunch or dinner for you. Prices will be a bit higher in comparison with restaurants in the centre but she cooks delicious and the food is always fresh! You can ask Upali if you need some help as he will do anything for you. He can also takes you for a daytour which is absolutely not expensive! We saw the botanic garden, a spice garden, tea factory, millenium elephants and many other stuff!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankygoestoholywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Though only 10 min by tuk tuk from the city centre of Kandy the Green Woods fulfills the imagination which comes with its name: from the balcony you look across to a giant wall of green forest. As I understand the guesthouse is a Mecca for birdies, but even we, without any special interest in birds, enjoyed our stay and the meals at the Green Woods.
The gracious lady owner has held the guesthouse in operation for 30 yrs or so, also during the not-so-good times, and they know their business well.
The manager Mr Opali is very helpful and also provides tuk tuk rides, if you ask him.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The guesthouse is in a very nice location between trees, a short walk from the town center (it's nicely quiet there). The common area is very nice, room was pretty basic with a bathroom begging for a facelift. Hot water in the rooms and free wifi included. Cooking is only breakfast, for dinner we were referred to the Bamboo Garden / Slightly Chilled restaurant nearby. The only downside was that the owner seemed very preoccupied with some additional construction of the building and didn't have any help, so it happened many times that we had go looking for him or wait to arrange simple things.
Also don't trust him with arranging trip to Knuckles range - we were given a 40$ price per person, which he and the guide claimed contained the entrance fee. We realized during the trip that there is no fee at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

If I were just rating the rooms then I would probably have given it an average rating. It is fair to say that they are basic, but clean. Sunil and the location make this in my opinion a very good place to stay. Sunil gives you such a lovely warm welcome and is always on hand if you need him. My partner also claims that he makes a 'mean cup of tea'. The lounge area is lovely to relax in and watch the monkeys that can often be found trying to get in the guest house given half a chance.we had an enjoyable evening meal here one night and breakfast was always plentiful. We would definitely return to Green Woods when we next visit Kandy.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle Hill
Castle Hill
#51 of 55 in Kandy
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 55 in Kandy
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Green Villa Kandy
Green Villa Kandy
#69 of 433 in Kandy
85 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 433 in Kandy
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Bungalow
Lake Bungalow
#19 of 352 in Kandy
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Guest House

Property: Green Woods Guest House
Address: 34/A Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Woods Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Guest House Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing