We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Change

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Change
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights at this delightful guest house. It is amazing value for money and the staff were very helpful. It is fairly basic but the view from our little balcony was beautiful and the food was very tasty. I will be booking myself in for a another visit

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    128
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
76
177
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Kind of diffucult to find would be the only draw back to otherwise extremely pleasant stay. The room was simple, very clean and of tasteful interior. The bathroom was clean even by western standards and the view of the palm trees and surrounding hills in the background was just as pleasing. The staff was extremely friendly, considerate and helpful. To sum it up, it is a very reasonable price for the whole package, but the friendliness of the staff and especially it's owner adds the extra value.
Highly recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatjaNadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were lucky to find this place. It is very good B&B with great service and food. The rooms a good, very clean. We could find no fault at all - well done!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

One of the best places I have been in Sri Lanka!

Well, it is difficult to believe, but there is not really one negative thing I could say about this BB...it is much better than some hotels I have been in SL...
The food was delicious, the room with nice details, balcony and perfect view. Unfortunately we just stayed there for one night...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonPedro1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We checked in her late after a long drive from Dambulla, Our hosts were very welcoming even though it was past 11pm! Our room and bathroom was spotlessly clean, we enjoyed a simple breakfast but chose not to have an evening meal as we were too tired to eat.
It's very tucked away and therefore lovely and quiet for a good night's sleep, but tricky to find - even for the local taxis we used. You turn right after the temple at Heerasagala then right again down a rough road - a sign for the hotel is on a large tree a couple of meters down this road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel!
The room we stayed in was versy spacious, very nice bathroom and a terrace with an impressive view!
The owners are super friendly, alsways trying to make the most of your stay.
Breakfast is good (try the omlette! :-)) and dinner was also great! You just tell them before you leave for the day what you'd like to have and they'll make something out of it!
The only negative point of this hotel is the distance to the city center of Kandy!
A Tuktuk will be able to bring you back in the evening, but it takes about 20min especially to get up the hill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edithBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croix
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

It is a bit difficult to find but it worth it :)

We spent one night there, had a nice dinner with lovely hosts! We had a very good value room (hot water, balcony, A/C) well decorated, nothing to say about it!

You should call them nevertheless because it is quite hard to find (-----)!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#21 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.5 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Change? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Change

Property: The Change
Address: Green Hill, Block 56, Heeressagala, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Change 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Change reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing