We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hanthana house kandy”
Review of Hanthana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanthana House
Ranked #2 of 379 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hanthana house kandy”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A friendly and welcoming guest house( home stay) with superb views from the balcony.The owners wife cooks a wonderful array of authentic Sri Lankan dishes. Excellent and clean rooms and bathroom /shower. A very pleasant stay with a welcoming family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gre294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    66
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
142
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We liked a lot the Hanthana House, it was nice to spend some time in a sri lankan family house.
The room was very nice as well as the bathroom, both really new.
The house in general was nice, the food very good and it was nice to have dinner with other travellers to share expériences.
The service was perfect, the family is really welcoming. We had our owne guide, but we learned that the owner was a guide too so do not hesitate to ask him for some advices.
The only bad point is the situation, the house is difficult to find at the end of a bad road, outside Kandy.
I would recommend it, it is a nice experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daixem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

High in the hills above Kandy, Hanthana House is a private home offering an insight into family life in Sri Lanka. We spent 2 nights there. Our en-suite room was spacious, comfortable and spotless. The hosts gave us a warm welcome with afternoon tea complete with delicious cake. Their son and daughter were delightful - both musically talented, we enjoyed hearing them play. The highlight was the fantastic home-cooking, wonderfully tasty cooking, subtle spices, vegetable and meat dishes superb. Cooking lessons are offered but we were too busy sightseeing to partake.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a large (shared) balcony overlooking the wild hills - it felt a million miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Pathi and his family were a joy to stay with. The food and variety of choices were excellent quality in a family friendly atmosphere. We thought the standard of accommodation was high in comparison with others of similar price point. Pathi is a very helpful host. He arranged some lovely helpful drivers for us from Negombo and to Sigriya. These were reasonable rates compared to other places. We appreciated this lovely family and the home stay experience very much.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

After a crazy trip from Australia to Kandy via Colombo, arriving at Hanthana House was like arriving to our own little patch of paradise. Set in the hills looking down over Kandy City it's only a 10 minute drive from the hustle and bustle of the town but feels a million miles away. Pathi on arrival showed us to our beautiful, spotlessly clean &spacious rooms, while his wife made us a beautiful lunch so we could rest after our journey. The rooms have wonderfully comfortable beds and sheets and they have covered all the details right down to providing universal adapters for power points. Each night Pathis wife cooked us a wonderful dinner, with all ingredients fresh & many from their own organic garden and catered for our dietary requirements with no trouble. Pathi helped to organise day trips to Dambulla & Sigiriya and our on going transport to Ella, Nuwara Eliya and Tangalle. I highly recommend a cooking class with Pathi's wife also, her curries are AMAZING. Thank you for a wonderful stay. May & Danica

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a wonderful place! Located up in the hills above Kandy, with amazing views, fresh clean air, and very peaceful. Pathi and his wife Suba made us feel so welcome, as did their two children. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious, and the cookery lesson was great fun. Pathi was very helpful with his extensive local knowledge and useful tips and advise. We enjoyed Hanthana House so much we altered our itinerary to stay an extra night, and we still didn't want to leave!
Thank you Pathi and Suba. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude150414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The owner and his family were the loveliest people and were incredibly helpful. They helped us so much with all our arrangements for visiting the region and suggestions for things to do in Kandy. The room and bathroom were beautiful and spotlessly clean. The meals were delicious and varied. Hanthana house is the best value for money accommodation I've stayed in in Sri Lanka.

The only thing to keep in mind is that it's a little far out of the centre of Kandy, so walking is not possible. But the views on the way up the hill are great and it's not a problem to get to by tuk tuk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Property: Hanthana House
Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanthana House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanthana House is a boutique type accommodation which offers a comfortable stay in an attractive surroundings with added benefit of tasty and Srilankan Cooking which you can learn to prepare yourself!. Hanthana House consists of two en suite double bedrooms and one en suite twin bedroom and one en suite triple room, all with generous balconies overlooking the neighbouring tea estate. The bedrooms have ceiling fans, teak furniture and polished cement floors as well as a wet room with shower, basin and WC. The newly-built spacious and light dining room also has views of the tea estate and it is open to the generous new kitchen, where cookery lessons are always available! The upstairs sitting area has a comfy sofa and armchairs as well as a piano and Wi-Fi access! An organic kitchen garden is planned which will provide most of the vegetables for meals, and various walks through tea plantations and up to local viewpoints are accessed from the front door. Hanthana House is approximately 4 km from Kandy in the Hanthana hills, an area famous for cultivating some of the first tea grown on the island and the location of the Ceylon Tea Museum. Please be aware that a homestay is neither a hotel nor a guesthouse as you live and socialise with a family in their home. Think of it as an extension of your own home, with the usual creature comforts and no-one to make your bed or clean your room on a daily basis! The real experience is the interaction with a Sri Lankan family as they go about their daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing