We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our trip! Stay here if you can!”
Review of Hanthana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanthana House
Ranked #1 of 432 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best hotel of our trip! Stay here if you can!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was by far the best of our trip around the country. Pathi and his family go out of their way to make your stay memorable and you feel like part of their family. They helped arrange a car to Sigiriya, things to see in Kandy, as well as our next destination. We stayed upstairs and the room was beautifully furnished and well taken care of. The food was also delicious and very authentic. We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    67
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
147
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was a great stay with a very homely and personal touch.
Pathirana was very helpful right throughout from the reservation to the directions to the actual stay. We were treated as family and we were very much living and interacating with the family area of the house. The bedding and rooms, toilets were very clean and comfertable.
The food was Super. I don't have words to describe the taste cooked in the typical Sri Lankan way and it felt just like home.
Surely you will enjoy if you pick this place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhanishka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Staying at Hanthana House made our stay in Kandy. Pathi and his entire family go out of their way to ensure that all of your needs are satisfied. As a special note, the home cooked Sri Lankan meals are the best we have had in country, and are very authentic. The drivers hired through Pathi are very knowledgeable, and the price is fair. Pathi will take you on a beautiful hike in the tea country for a reasonable price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mayazran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent three nights in Hanthana House and really enjoyed our stay a lot! The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Mr. Pathirana goes out of his way to make his guests feel comfortable and he and his children speak excellent English.
The guesthouse itself is well and newly built with nice furniture, smooth concrete floors, spacious bathrooms and comfortable beds. Everything is spotlessly clean and the overall impression was excellent, especially compared to all other places we stayed at in a similar or even higher price range.
Mrs. Pathirana cooks the best and most amazing Sri Lankan food for breakfast and dinner we had on our entire journey. Make sure you don't miss out on this experience!
Mr. Pathirana (Pathi) is more than happy to help and advise with travel planning if you want him to. In our case he organised an excellent tuk-tuk driver to take us on a day trip around Kandy, Peradeniya and Pinnawela (ask for the "Elephant freedom project"...).
The guesthouse is located in the hillside about 15 min from the city centre by tuk-tuk. Make sure you know your way or ask Mr. Pathirana to organise pick up from the centre.
If you're lucky you might get to see wild boar next to the garden and even be taught how to properly wear a saree...

If you plan to visit Kandy, Hanthana House is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are nice, but go for the top floor rooms if available. They are more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Pathi, Subha and their children are delightful people, making my stay very comfortable and treating me like a part of their family. Pathi arranged all my travels (Sigiriya, Dambulla, Nuwara Eliya) without any hassles at a reasonable price, taking my budget and time constraints into account. The driver was also helpful, courteous and sincere. Subha's cooking is incredible, using fresh ingredients from their own garden and servings are generous. Subha even thoughtfully organised for me to have my favourite foods and invited me to join in for family dinners. A personalised, lovely experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Make sure you get the right Hantana and make sure you write down the phone number before you set foot in a tuk-tuk. This guest house is really difficult to find. But my goodness, what a find. The rooms are amazing. The addition of the sun terrace overlooking the mountain vista and Kandy is a real bonus. The home cooked food is top notch and the family are so friendly and welcoming, it's hard to actually leave. Plus, if you need anything, they will sort it out for you. Need a tuk-tuk driver with good English to drive you around all day? They'll sort it out. Need laundry picking up? They'll sort it out. Need a really trustworthy driver to take you to your next stop in Sri Lanka? They will sort it. Celebrating an important birthday and want it to be a special occasion? Yep, they'll sort it out. We did all of the above and we were only there one day. We loved it so much, we left a gift for them. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The room on the right as you walk in has a slightly bigger terrace space (although it is all shared)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadsCanHaveFunToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed just one night in Hanthana House, but we loved it! The hospitality was enormous, the food was great, the walk in morning was good, and the honeymoon-surprise was really nice! It's a much better place than the standard hotels in Kandy. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.7 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 55 in Kandy
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Property: Hanthana House
Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanthana House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanthana House is a boutique type accommodation which offers a comfortable stay in an attractive surroundings with added benefit of tasty and Srilankan Cooking which you can learn to prepare yourself!. Hanthana House consists of two en suite double bedrooms and one en suite twin bedroom and one en suite triple room, all with generous balconies overlooking the neighbouring tea estate. The bedrooms have ceiling fans, teak furniture and polished cement floors as well as a wet room with shower, basin and WC. The newly-built spacious and light dining room also has views of the tea estate and it is open to the generous new kitchen, where cookery lessons are always available! The upstairs sitting area has a comfy sofa and armchairs as well as a piano and Wi-Fi access! An organic kitchen garden is planned which will provide most of the vegetables for meals, and various walks through tea plantations and up to local viewpoints are accessed from the front door. Hanthana House is approximately 4 km from Kandy in the Hanthana hills, an area famous for cultivating some of the first tea grown on the island and the location of the Ceylon Tea Museum. Please be aware that a homestay is neither a hotel nor a guesthouse as you live and socialise with a family in their home. Think of it as an extension of your own home, with the usual creature comforts and no-one to make your bed or clean your room on a daily basis! The real experience is the interaction with a Sri Lankan family as they go about their daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing