We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming family.”
Review of Hanthana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanthana House
Ranked #1 of 465 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at Hanthana House. The family made us feel very welcome. Our en-suite room on the first floor was comfortable, and we benefited from having access to the verandah, where we enjoyed watching the wild boar feed.
The home cooked food was delicious, and we appreciated the effort that went into preparing it.
Tranquil setting about 20 minutes drive into the hills, from Kandy - don't be put off by the unfinished look of the exterior of the house on arrival.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank peshma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Hanthana House best wisher

Thank you very much for your valuable review about Hanthana House and very happy to say that your comments are very important for future attachment of Hanthana house, as you mention in your review, we continuously maintain and develop our values as much as possible in near future. We wish you will visit again to Hanthana house as a reason of staying Kandy in the next tour in Sri Lanka. , where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Hanthana House.

Thanks again to your review
Mr. Pathirana - Hanthana House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hanthana House is set in the hills above Kandy on a narrow, steep road. The house is built on the side of a small valley overlooking and surrounded by trees and small hills. From the balcony there are wild plants to see and lots of birds. In the evenings there are wild boar and porcupines close by.
The house has most of its accommodation on the upper floor off a hall by the entrance. You need to be able to use steps to get down into the house. The room was a good size with a four poster bed complete with mosquito net. There is good storage in the room, it has wi-fi. The bathroom is good with a decent shower and water heater so hot water was always available. Outside the room is a big, shared balcony.
The real secret of Hanthana House though is the family who own and run it. Pathy, his family and helpers are extremely friendly and welcoming. Meals are in their kitchen/ dining room and it is home cooking. Sri Lankan curries are a varied delight of different vegetable dishes with either a chicken or fish curry. Try the buffalo milk curd with treacle from the fish- tail palm or honey.
Early mornings give an opportunity for a walk - apathy will gladly take you. There is a very picturesque walk around some old tea plantations.
This is so different from a hotel and possibly as near as most of us will get to sampling ordinary life on the island. Top marks for hospitality; very much recommended.

Room Tip: I think the upstairs rooms are probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you very much for your valuable review about Hanthana House and very happy to say that your comments are very important for future achievement of Hanthana house, as you mention in your review, we continuously maintain and develop our values as much as possible in near future. We wish you will Suggest Hanthana house as a reason of staying Kandy in the next tour in Sri Lanka.

Thanks
Pathirana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel then this isn't the place for you. The accommodation is a short distance from Kandy (you will need transport) set on a hillside on the edge of open countryside, the wildlife is all around you in a nice way. Rooms are comfortable although our en suite bathroom felt unfinished and lacked ventilation. Food is served in the hosts kitchen - traditional Sri Lankan dishes, plenty to eat and well prepared. If you have one of the upper rooms the balcony is a real bonus. Good value.

Room Tip: The upper level (two double rooms) has the best balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andersons103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot !
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Found the home stay very well maintained with all basic amenities. The family was very hospitable and welcoming. Though we found the food a little expensive, the variety offered was very good, and suited our individual palate. Very picturesque location.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank agnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot !
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

the rooms are really good and clean, only the rainshower could have more power. the owner and his family is very nice and always here to help you out, although it was sometimes a little bit to much of trip recommending. however on one day we wanted to go hiking, but the best path he recommended and accompanied us as our professional tour guide was a little bit expensive (10$ per person) for a 2,5 hour walk on easy trails to the top of a hill. even though it was a nice trip, seeing tea plants. the guesthouse is situated on the hills of kandy, but the way to the city centre is not a big deal, there are always tuk tuks taking you up and down for 500 rupies.
if you stay in kandy go to hanthana house, it is worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flomagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very nice rooms, quiet part of Kandy as this is about 10 mins tuktuk ride from city centre. Super friendly and helpful host who provides dinner if you'd like @ AU$10 per person. Overall great guest house!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linbaba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us alot !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hanthana House is a nice guest house, away from the city centre. Its not a Hotel its a guest house so do not expect all luxuries of a hotel. But Mr. Pathi and his wife are very welcoming. Food served is delicious and you can tell your preference to get the desired food. But food is very pricey as each meal was charged at USD 8 / person, which I think is alot for one or two main courses. Four of us had to pay USD 32 for a meal which is indeed alot to ask for. Breakfast is complimentary, so do no not worry about breakfast. Rooms and guest house is tidy and clean, with not so spacious rooms. Rooms are listed as Air conditioned with tiles, though they are not Air conditioned. There is a mosquito net on beds but on the top side its covered with thick white cloth which makes it difficult for one to get direct air from fan. I had to remove it as I was sweating otherwise. Double bed was not very wide, It was a 5 feet wide double bed considering the limitation of space in the room.

Location is ideal for somone who is looking to stay somewhere away from City Centre or hustle bustle of the city. Its a nice but very far from the main road, with scenic mountain views. One has to have personal hired vehicle to get around the city. Lake is a bit far from the Guest House.

Over all its a nice play to stay at, yes there are some adv and disadvantages, which one must weigh out before you check in. If you intend to stay at a place where you can go out at any time of the day to look around the city or just wander, then its a no no, if you are looking for a place where you want to relax and want to have a home like feeling where food is served in traditional way then yes its a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first fllor have a spacious terrace with easy access for insects, so keep the windows s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farrukh_N_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We cant sell our dinner less than U$ 8, because its a Srilankan big dinner which includes many choices with fish or chicken. and fruits and tea or coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
738 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#15 of 57 in Kandy
396 reviews
2.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 465 in Kandy
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 465 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £26 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanthana House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanthana House is a boutique type accommodation which offers a comfortable stay in an attractive surroundings with added benefit of tasty and Srilankan Cooking which you can learn to prepare yourself!. Hanthana House consists of two en suite double bedrooms and one en suite twin bedroom and one en suite triple room, all with generous balconies overlooking the neighbouring tea estate. The bedrooms have ceiling fans, teak furniture and polished cement floors as well as a wet room with shower, basin and WC. The newly-built spacious and light dining room also has views of the tea estate and it is open to the generous new kitchen, where cookery lessons are always available! The upstairs sitting area has a comfy sofa and armchairs as well as a piano and Wi-Fi access! An organic kitchen garden is planned which will provide most of the vegetables for meals, and various walks through tea plantations and up to local viewpoints are accessed from the front door. Hanthana House is approximately 4 km from Kandy in the Hanthana hills, an area famous for cultivating some of the first tea grown on the island and the location of the Ceylon Tea Museum. Please be aware that a homestay is neither a hotel nor a guesthouse as you live and socialise with a family in their home. Think of it as an extension of your own home, with the usual creature comforts and no-one to make your bed or clean your room on a daily basis! The real experience is the interaction with a Sri Lankan family as they go about their daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing