We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed”
Review of Hanthana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanthana House
Ranked #1 of 433 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

i did give Hanthana House a very good rating.. Somethings were good and some were not.. I constantly had a feeling that the owner wanted to maximise revenue out of every occupant. it led us to buy in a tour package. the review is based on two nights the owner said i had booked only for one person and charged for the second person a 10 USD. I paid 7 USd per night meal.
Cheaper compared to the ones i had in Nuwara Eliya and Bentota. I was in the basement with a nice bed and a mosquito net. The owner talked to us most of the time it was not on bad intention, i did enjoy the conversation many times but i felt a bit of lack of privacy.. maybe its just me.. i wanted to be left alone when i had my food. they did have Wifi but i did not get wifi in my room. even though he advised me on another wifi in the basement which i did not get.

it takes about 10 minutes from the Kandy city if you are coming by a car a bit longer if by an tuk tuk. steeper roads to reach this place.. it was not easy going by tuk tuk. since i had stayed in many places in mountains earlier i did not find this an hindrance..

I understand this place got 2014 best service award.. a bit of glitches here and there. would recommend people to try this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveLler3294229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your negative and positive review of Hanthana House.
I didn’t want to sell a profitable tour package for you as you mentioned! I always try to give the best information from me to the guests such as Tourism Attraction places, Transport by trains, buses and comfortable vans or cars depend on their request.
As you said about your booking through Agoda, You have booked and paid for single person for a double room. As soon as you arrived to Hanthana House, I showed you the booking details and you agreed to pay extra U$.10 for your partner for the bed including breakfast.
As you mentioned about the Wi-Fi, because of server errors the internet speed can be slow or fast place to place. But you can find in the Lobby area. It is working 24 hours. (Free of Charge)
Hope you would visit Sri Lanka again and also visit Hanthana House Kandy.
Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    67
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
147
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Rating is based on a 2 night stay. The House is run by a welcoming Sri lankan Family and is located around 8-10 minutes from Kandy on Hanthana Hill.

Our stay at Hanthana House had some ups and downs to be honest.

I will start with the positive : Family waited for us despite our late arrival (communicated to them) welcoming us with a fruit plater (charged after).
The rooms on the top floor are spacious, hot water (not always available in Sri Lanka), bed with mosquito net and big balcony.

The below however led me to give the House an average review to be fair to other places:
- First night we were taken to a room on last bottom floor, not the room we had booked. The room was extremely small with no view at all. The owner explained that he put us there because arrived late during night... Not convincing..
- We kept having the feeling that the Owner wanted to maximize/make more profitable our stay by insisting on cooking for us diner. 8$ per person, a bit high for the food offered. Our driver was also told by owner in morning to bring us back before diner time before we even agreed on having diner at the place. That wasn't a nice move...
- We felt a bit uncomfortable when having breakfast or dinner as the owner kept seated and talked all the time to us (even though I think it's not with bad intentions), it was a bit "too much", you need sometimes to let your guests be...
- As for the room view it was disappointing since you only can see a small hill in front, nothing more. Lots of other places offer much better views.

On a more general note the House is far from the main road and you need a t least 8-10 to get there through a steep and narrow road.

While being a fierce supporter of this kind of family business, I believe that one should be realistic in his reviews and share the picture as it is, allowing the reviewed Hotel to improve.

I wouldn't discourage people from trying the place.

Room Tip: If you choose this place always take the Top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hich_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for your positive and negative reviews about Hanthana House. Because After the late midnight arrived to the Hanthana house. Frist we asked about dinner you said you don’t wont dinner if possible to make fruit plate. Then we served fruits plates as a dinner and we charge reasonable price. You have mention about our dinner price U$8 is expansive but we can’t provide meals too cheap prices like streets food. If anyone need stranded Sri Lankan dinner at the Hanthana house such as 06 vegetable curries, chicken, Fish with basmati rice in addition after main meal curd with honey, and fruits plats, tea coffee, bottle water U$8 is most reasonable price we can offer. If someone need cheap simple dinner. There are so many choose at the Hanthana house menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Hanthana House is the best place in the world, I got a bedroom of 2 beds fot 4 divided, I saw many Srilankan foods, and drinks, and snacks. Also, it's the best place where a van, and a driver named Manju, his van picks up many people to hanthana house.I stayed there for many days, then we had a nice trip ever.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bhishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Hanthana House best wisher

Thank you very much for your valuable review about Hanthana House and very happy to say that your comments are very important for future attachment of Hanthana house, as you mention in your review, we continuously maintain and develop our values as much as possible in near future. We wish you will visit again to Hanthana house as a reason of staying Kandy in the next tour in Sri Lanka. , where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Hanthana House.

Thanks again to your review
Mr. Pathirana - Hanthana House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manilva, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Hanthana House. The family made us feel very welcome. Our en-suite room on the first floor was comfortable, and we benefited from having access to the verandah, where we enjoyed watching the wild boar feed.
The home cooked food was delicious, and we appreciated the effort that went into preparing it.
Tranquil setting about 20 minutes drive into the hills, from Kandy - don't be put off by the unfinished look of the exterior of the house on arrival.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peshma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Hanthana House best wisher

Thank you very much for your valuable review about Hanthana House and very happy to say that your comments are very important for future attachment of Hanthana house, as you mention in your review, we continuously maintain and develop our values as much as possible in near future. We wish you will visit again to Hanthana house as a reason of staying Kandy in the next tour in Sri Lanka. , where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Hanthana House.

Thanks again to your review
Mr. Pathirana - Hanthana House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hanthana House is set in the hills above Kandy on a narrow, steep road. The house is built on the side of a small valley overlooking and surrounded by trees and small hills. From the balcony there are wild plants to see and lots of birds. In the evenings there are wild boar and porcupines close by.
The house has most of its accommodation on the upper floor off a hall by the entrance. You need to be able to use steps to get down into the house. The room was a good size with a four poster bed complete with mosquito net. There is good storage in the room, it has wi-fi. The bathroom is good with a decent shower and water heater so hot water was always available. Outside the room is a big, shared balcony.
The real secret of Hanthana House though is the family who own and run it. Pathy, his family and helpers are extremely friendly and welcoming. Meals are in their kitchen/ dining room and it is home cooking. Sri Lankan curries are a varied delight of different vegetable dishes with either a chicken or fish curry. Try the buffalo milk curd with treacle from the fish- tail palm or honey.
Early mornings give an opportunity for a walk - apathy will gladly take you. There is a very picturesque walk around some old tea plantations.
This is so different from a hotel and possibly as near as most of us will get to sampling ordinary life on the island. Top marks for hospitality; very much recommended.

Room Tip: I think the upstairs rooms are probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you very much for your valuable review about Hanthana House and very happy to say that your comments are very important for future achievement of Hanthana house, as you mention in your review, we continuously maintain and develop our values as much as possible in near future. We wish you will Suggest Hanthana house as a reason of staying Kandy in the next tour in Sri Lanka.

Thanks
Pathirana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinver, West Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel then this isn't the place for you. The accommodation is a short distance from Kandy (you will need transport) set on a hillside on the edge of open countryside, the wildlife is all around you in a nice way. Rooms are comfortable although our en suite bathroom felt unfinished and lacked ventilation. Food is served in the hosts kitchen - traditional Sri Lankan dishes, plenty to eat and well prepared. If you have one of the upper rooms the balcony is a real bonus. Good value.

Room Tip: The upper level (two double rooms) has the best balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersons103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot !
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Found the home stay very well maintained with all basic amenities. The family was very hospitable and welcoming. Though we found the food a little expensive, the variety offered was very good, and suited our individual palate. Very picturesque location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank agnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot !
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.7 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 55 in Kandy
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Property: Hanthana House
Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanthana House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanthana House is a boutique type accommodation which offers a comfortable stay in an attractive surroundings with added benefit of tasty and Srilankan Cooking which you can learn to prepare yourself!. Hanthana House consists of two en suite double bedrooms and one en suite twin bedroom and one en suite triple room, all with generous balconies overlooking the neighbouring tea estate. The bedrooms have ceiling fans, teak furniture and polished cement floors as well as a wet room with shower, basin and WC. The newly-built spacious and light dining room also has views of the tea estate and it is open to the generous new kitchen, where cookery lessons are always available! The upstairs sitting area has a comfy sofa and armchairs as well as a piano and Wi-Fi access! An organic kitchen garden is planned which will provide most of the vegetables for meals, and various walks through tea plantations and up to local viewpoints are accessed from the front door. Hanthana House is approximately 4 km from Kandy in the Hanthana hills, an area famous for cultivating some of the first tea grown on the island and the location of the Ceylon Tea Museum. Please be aware that a homestay is neither a hotel nor a guesthouse as you live and socialise with a family in their home. Think of it as an extension of your own home, with the usual creature comforts and no-one to make your bed or clean your room on a daily basis! The real experience is the interaction with a Sri Lankan family as they go about their daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing