We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look elsewhere.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hantane Shadow Resort
Ranked #248 of 384 Kandy B&B and Inns
Utah
Level Contributor
280 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

With so many hotels in Kandy, there is no reason to stay here. As mentioned by Phil T, it is down a long, winding road and is not close to anything - shopping, restaurants or tourist attractions. This hotel was selected for our birding group, and we took eight rooms. On entering the reception area, the first thing I noticed were dried flowers{?} hanging from ceiling garlands that were once decorations. Now they were covered in cobwebs and insect frass. The rooms are in outlying buildings and the walkways were treacherous. Instead of cleaning them, the hotel put up cones advising of slippery conditions. My room was spacious and swept, but the curtains were dirty and patched. In the bathroom, I had a new sink and toilet, but the shower shunt did not work so water only came out of the faucet. In at least three rooms, the toilets did not work. The food was OK, but was not served at requested times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    1
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Accessed via a steep, narrow and twisty road from the centre of Kandy this hotel is theoretically in a lovely setting in the forest, but it is let down by poor maintenance and service. The steps and paths down to the rooms were very slippery due to a thin layer of mould and were actually quite dangerous. One had to walk very carefully to avoid slipping over.
The toilet in our room once flushed continued to flush and the cistern would not fill until I took the lid off--so I left it like this for the duration of our stay. The beds were clean but the sheets felt slightly damp. The door to our room required brute force to open and close since it did not fit properly. Two chairs on the porch looked dirty and mouldy and did not encourage one to sit on them. On a positive note, unlike so many hotel rooms, our room was very well lit. I counted nine light fittings in total and all of them working!
At breakfast they brought "toast" which was almost indistinguishable from bread, so little had it been toasted.
I'm afraid I cannot find any reason to recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Good place to be relax peace of mind people ho loves the nature will love the place its out of the kandy City The staff and the manage very helpful Guests can enjoy Ayurvedic body treatments at the spa, or plan day trips at the tour desk. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with guests’ requests.
Nice rooms with feature wooden furnishing, Air conditions and large windows. Included in all units is a private bathroom with shower facilities.

Room Tip: You can ask the room witch was near the restaurant upper stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushaan-Cassiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Me and my wife stayed here as part of our travels in Sri Lanka in Feb 2103. it was by far the lowlight of our travel. horrible and damp, the room absolutely stunk and the manager who claimed to have lived in britain did not have a clue. Though beautiful surroundings the place was horrible, luckily we wre only staying one night but it was one to forget. To compound the stay, the showers did not work so could not rid ourselves of that horrible stale odour. A point to management there, if it rains do not leave the windows open or else you will get damp in the room!!!

Room Tip: Argue with the manager for fresh bedding if it is damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Let me start by saying that the manager and staff are very friendly and try to do everything the can for you but they are fighting a losing battle.

The hotel s really in the middle of the Forrest and as such is dark and damp.

We were supposed to stay for three nights but sated one. The room smelt damp as we entered and we found that the furniture was wet to the touch. The sheets were dirty beyond belief and damp as was the mattress. The room was very dirty. The curtains and sheets were stained with something nasty and the bathroom was too dirty to use.

My wife slept fully clothed and with rain kit on. I took the plunge and slept on top of the sheets in my clothes, in he morning my clothes were wet and I am sure I had been bitten all over.

The food was below standard.

When we spoke with the manager and told him we were leaving after only one night he seemed to have expected it.

This hotel needs cleaning, refurbishing and a make over before it is fit for people to go there

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Located in the hills of kandy, marvelous view.surrounded with trees, calm and quiet so there is plenty of fresh air, which is veryyy relaxing. Both families loved the hotel.
The manager and the staff were very friendly, the manager was willing to give a extra bed free of charge.
If you want to get out of you daily tiring routine and spend some time relaxing yourself, Hantane shadow resort will be the best place to visit.
Very decent rooms, nothing to complain.
Please feel free to contact Mr.Sunil, the owner and book yourself a room.
Great Experience, will go there again with our relations very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ushani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The adam's family as a hotel but then without the humor ! All had been written before and it's trough, your worst nightmare is about to start as soon you checked in.
ESCAPE or stay away.the manager could even charge us 200roupees extra for a tuktuk, after we agreed on the price with the driver himself ! We got fried rice for 5000 roupees for 3 persons. The real pool has the size of a big bathtub and with brooken tiles on he side. Because we didn't wanted extra drinks or food ,they went to sleep and put out all electricity.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartpurfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantane Shadow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantane Shadow Resort

Property: Hantane Shadow Resort
Address: Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 384 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Hotel Class:3 star — Hantane Shadow Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing