We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying with the angels”
Review of Lucktissme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucktissme
Ranked #112 of 465 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Simple but very satisfying this hideway up in the hills surrounding enjoys the personal touch . Madame mine hostess Ratwatte makes every guest feel like they are the first but the sign in book quickly indicates that this is a well beaten pathway from around the globe. Breakfast simple and filling and the off pot of tea never a trouble. Recommended for young and old alike, would recommend anyone to stay there that was looking for authentic homestay experience, had the feeling that no matter when you arrived your would be genuinely welcome and stay appreciated, not many places you can say that about in this changing world. ooking forrard to staying there again next month.

Room Tip: All rooms have ambience and character ask for ones overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This really is, and feels like a home. Innocent who owns the house is a very interesting and extremely kind woman and her staff too are particularly kind and welcoming. The room was immaculate, the breakfast very good and the monkeys that played mischievously in the garden were great to watch while we sipped our tea. I've missed being offered a nice pot of hot tea in the beach places we've stayed in the Sri Lanka... They spoil you at Lucktissme. It's really really worth staying here. So much character and warmth.Recommend to all types of traveller and children especially.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurabbbbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlOceanicResort, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank You very much for your valuable reviews.
Wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Being here was excellent! we stayed at lucktissme at the perahera. The owner is very friendly and willing to help you getting in and around Kandy!
Actually it is not far from the center of kandy 10- 15 minutes by shortcut walking distance
Rooms are clean, breakfast is great. It was a pity we did not have dinner, it seems to be delicious.
We , a family of five, can recommend this homestay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fromholland4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlOceanicResort, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking your precious time review us. Hope to see you again and wish you and your family all the very Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we stayed here 2 nights with our 2 and 7 year olds and were so welcomed and well received that it made our stay in kandy. our 7 year old now has the cricket bug having played with the owners grandson who was also so charming and welcoming - delicious food was served at the very last minute without any fuss - such great value for money and really well located - they also organised a helpful driver and tuk tuk driver when needed - do stay there, you wont be disappointed and sounds like their new place at the coast is also worth a visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalaclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlOceanicResort, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much commenting on your stay with us. It was a pleasure having your family and good to hear that your son is keen to play cricket.

All the Best and do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A calm guest-house just a short tuk-tuk ride from the town centre. Clean, neat rooms.
The family who owns and runs the place is super helpful, super friendly and really easygoing, they can also tell you a lot about the city, country and themselves.
Good food - home dinner style (including mangos straight from the owners garden), really lets you see the real Sri Lankan lifestyle.
Nice rooms, clean bathrooms, beautiful garden with a great sitting place.
Perfect location if you want to visit Kandy, Nuwara Eliya or Pinnawale.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlOceanicResort, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank You Ewa, for your reviews. Wish you all the best and hope to see you again on you next visit to Sri Lanka..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in February 2013 and only finally got round to submitting a review - sorry for the delay but had a great stay at Lucktissme and wanted to let people know.

Owner Harold was so helpful, organising a driver for me at very short notice to take me to Sigariya and Dambulla, and putting up with me calling at 11.30pm to speak to my tuk tuk driver who had got lost trying to find the place. Homely and warm service. Website: http://lucktissme-holidays.com/ and +94779949909 is Harold's number.

Hope you enjoy Kandy and Lucktissme! Tristan

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlOceanicResort, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review and ratings.
Though it's been more than a year, we are so glad you remember us.
Do visit us on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Harold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a great place to stay in Kandy with a real home feel away from all of the hotels around the lake. It's only a 250-300 rupee ride and is nestled on the hill in a great neighborhood. Very stylish living space with nice seating outside. The rooms are the cleanest I've come across in Sri Lanka so that's always nice. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi Emily,Thank you for your reviews. Wish you all the best, and good luck with your photography.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 57 in Kandy
557 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
738 reviews
1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucktissme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucktissme

Address: 125, Pitakanda Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 465 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £24 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lucktissme" A Home Away From Home, An Unforgettable Rest Stop. A Guest Annex with large verandah in a Tea Planter's ancestral home with all amenities, situated on a two acre spice garden with varieties of fruit trees. A haven for birds and other creatures, within the city limits of Kandy.Child friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lucktissme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing