We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice-cream plus”
Review of Soya Centre

Soya Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Sells a collection of novel short-eats made with soy, such as wades, and roti rolls and sandwiches filled with soy sausage. The biggest attraction are the vegan the generous soy soft-serve ice cream cones.The open-air counter high above the street is extremely popular with locals, though service is prompt. Also sells typical vegetable buns and rolls, and bulk soy products such tofu and tempeh can be purchased there. And exciting find for the dairy-free traveller. Trucks in Kandy also sell the so called "soy ice cream", in smaller portions, though the ice cream at the Soya Centre is the tastiest and has the best quality.
Reviewed 20 July 2013

As others have said , the ice cream is wonderful, and then they have a limited range of quite spicy local snack type food. Made an interesting contrast. Quick, matter of fact service, cheap prices and all is vegetarian. Only open for breakfast and lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Been going to this place for the last 20 plus years its a taste acquired and a childhood memory that makes me go there. Still I find staff who were there twenty years back and the the best is the soya ice cream... its slightly a different type an ice cream but the best Soya ice cream indeed. Also the food is quite nice and big portions and value for money. A visit to kandy this is must.. every time I go to kandy i sure visit this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kanishka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Glad that we've been able to provide your with quality, tasty food for all the past years!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Lovely Soya Ice Cream, Soya rolls and Wadey are the best snacks to have from this place. Even the Soya milk is good, if you like the taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NavoTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you. Hope you would visit us again,soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

After going to the Soya Centre once for some soya cream, my wife and I returned a couple more times during our stay in Kandy and also got a couple other people to visit and rave about their soya cream. I still think about this place and it's refreshing soya cream and regret trying the other short eats available at the place (heard their savory food was nice and spicy). The soya cream is not overly sweet and has a unique texture that is more "chalky" (in a good way) giving a nicer mouth feel (in my opinion) that normal soft serve ice cream. It may not be for everyone but it was a nice refreshing treat in the hot Sri Lanka weather.

As an FYI, the first time we visited, we walked right by the Soya Center since it's actually up the stairs on a patio right in front of the YMCA. Try it out!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review! and glad you enjoyed our food. Next time do try our savory items, would recommend the hot seller, "Soy Rotti" to be a perfect treat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The soya centre is one of the top stops for short eats in Kandy. The food is alright and is the only option for vegans in Kandy. However there is much to be improved in terms of cleanliness and atmosphere. It is high time for refurbishment.

Thank UdSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We are a 100% soy based food company and thereby all our items including the ice cream,milk and short eats are made of naturally grown soy.
We appreciate all comments and suggestions put forward by our customer and try to make as much development as possible. In terms of cleanliness, we follow a set of guidelines for personal,operational hygiene since we deal with food and its of utmost importance. Do come and visit us again and let us know if we've improved. Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soya Centre also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Soya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing