We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Childhood Favo”
Review of Soya Centre

Soya Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Sells a collection of novel short-eats made with soy, such as wades, and roti rolls and sandwiches filled with soy sausage. The biggest attraction are the vegan the generous soy soft-serve ice cream cones.The open-air counter high above the street is extremely popular with locals, though service is prompt. Also sells typical vegetable buns and rolls, and bulk soy products such tofu and tempeh can be purchased there. And exciting find for the dairy-free traveller. Trucks in Kandy also sell the so called "soy ice cream", in smaller portions, though the ice cream at the Soya Centre is the tastiest and has the best quality.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Childhood Favo”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

One place I visited with my parents in my childhood and now visiting with my husband. Well if you need a clean vegetarian fill on the run this is the place to be. I am not an ice cream fan but yes I try it for the different taste. And the Roti is a meal replace for sure fill you to the max. If you tired of shopping try a soy-milk. My favorite cool and fresh ..... and wow I need another one soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanjeewaniVipulasiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Sanjeewani thank you for your lovely review! Glad you like our products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    32
    22
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
2 reviews
“ice cream.... :p :p”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

i feel i had the best kind of ice cream ever after having a soya ice cream. the best part of it is, its very cheap! the favolurs still make watering in my mouth.

Helpful?
Thank sathiskumar_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Sathish! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy ice creams”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After reading about this place on Tripadvisor, we went looking for it the evening we reached Kandy. Unfortunately it was closed. We went back the next day in the afternoon and it was open. We had both chocolate and vanilla flavour ice creams. I preferred the chocolate and my husband preferred the vanilla. They melt quickly so sit outside and scoff them - they are yummy so you might end up going back inside for another one!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiny13_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for you review and glad you liked the ice creams :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and good quality Food...”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Cheap, clean and good quality Food. This is a totally vegetarian food outlet. "Soya Beans" are used for most food products here, that why it is popular as Soya Center. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sshardha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your recommendation. Yes, we extract the soy milk from soybeans which are grown in Dambulla. Since we carry out the whole process by ourselves we could easily and quite confidently guarantee the best quality. Hope you visit us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected location, good for vegetarians.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

It is located on the second floor, so I couldn't see it right away. It looks like you are about to walk into the YMCA (!) but it is there, to the left. I think the icecreams are worth it. The chocolate flavor was the best, the strawberry tasted a little artificial. Good spot to pick up picknick foods before heading on adventures.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasmineintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soya Centre also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Soya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing