We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and the best food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Tourist Lodge
Ranked #29 of 369 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights with Razik and his charming family. The guesthouse is a tranquil haven surrounded by a lovely garden above the bustle of Kandy town. The food was the best we had in Sri Lanka. Razik's wife is a most accomplished director of operations and runs a slick but chilled operation. We ate in a number of expensive restaurants and none compqred with the Royal. Razik also sourced us a sensible and safe driver to replace our own crazy one. We highly reccomend the Royal Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed with Mr and Mrs Razik last january.
The lodge itself is a little gem, a tranquil haven in busy Kandy, tastefully decorated, quiet location, nice views and worth every extra Dollar you might pay compared to other places. The spacious rooms are very clean and with a beautiful terrace. Only a few rooms in the big house are for rent, so you won't be disturbed by other guests. My husband had a very bad injury on his leg and Mr Razik helped us a lot organizing the daily transport to the hospital, which was quite a task sometimes, especially on holidays! We would have been lost without him and his dear wife Nasil who is an amazing cook. We miss your food!!
We wish the very best for this dear family and would be happy to meet up again in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PorcupineTravelFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Royal Tourist lodge for 2 nights on our 'flash packing' tour of Sri Lanka. We couldn't have wished for a better host in Razik - who helped us sort out Tuk Tuks to explore the surrounding area and was so helpful in his tips - definitely visit the temple in the evening if you can! Sitting out on the private verandah overlooking the hills of Kandy eating beautiful Sri Lankan curries is a memory we won't forget.

Our only bug bear, in retrospect, was the room, although big was a little dated/rustic given the price we were paying. Having stayed in a lot more luxury in other places for quite a bit less, it seemed quite pricey. If you want a genuine Sri Lankan experience look no further though, and we were more than happy with our stay there.

Special mention must go to the driver Razik organised to take us into the hill country - Fazeel - so friendly and eager to chat to us about the culture and economic status of Sri Lanka. Ask for him if you can!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SKbristol24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for one night as we travelled around Sri Lanka. We were welcomed with a friendly reception. The room was great, large with a modern bathroom, a door leading out to the verandah and garden. The room had A/C, a fridge with bottles of coke/sprite you could have for a small price, wifi in the room. It is located about a 15-20 min walk around the lake to the temple/city centre, as the walk is so picturesque it felt like less. We had the 3 course rice and curry dinner at the lodge which was probably the best meal we had in Sri Lanka, we ate on our own rooms verandah and had multiple amazing dishes. The next day the owners organised a tuk tuk at a cheap rate to take us to our train station. Overall great service, great food, great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiwikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razik, Owner at Royal Tourist Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks for your lovely review.It is a pity your stay was veru short and we could not make you two happier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My sister and I spent two nights here in March 2014. We enjoyed a warm welcome from Razik and his wife Nasil who were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable (crisp white sheets) and a great shower.The location is excellent with a panoramic view from the veranda and pretty birdsong in the mornings. The food was excellent and we enjoyed interesting conversations with our hosts.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a balcony but we had full use of the veranda so not really needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razik, Owner at Royal Tourist Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks for the lovely review.We were happy in hosting the 2 sisters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our stay in Royal Tourist Lodge was excellent. Friendly, caring hosts who were attentive to our needs and assisted with all aspects of our stay. The rooms are well laid out with a comfy bed and great patio/garden area. The food was tremendous and we couldn't have asked for a nicer stay.

Highly recommended!

Duane and Sarah

Room Tip: Had ground floor room which was garden adjacent which was lovely for relaxing in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A friendly homestay with caring hosts: Situated just a 10-15 minutes walk from the lake you will find this perfectly clean and nicely designed lodge. We had a big room with a beautiful terrace, and enjoyed the quiet of the location and the attention of the family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razik, Owner at Royal Tourist Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thanks for the lovely & encouraging review.My wife Nasli & I are happy to note you enjoyed your stay at our place.
Razik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 56 in Kandy
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anna Shanthi Villa
Anna Shanthi Villa
#13 of 445 in Kandy
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vino Villa
Vino Villa
#53 of 369 in Kandy
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Round Residence
Lake Round Residence
#41 of 445 in Kandy
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tourist Lodge

Address: No.201 | Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 369 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £34 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Tourist Lodge is meant for a quiet escape from the hustle and noise of the ever changing city life. From the picturesque and attractive environment to the variety of ranging cuisine, Royal Tourist Lodge brings you ever closer to a peaceful relaxed Sri Lankan lifestyle. ROYAL TOURIST LODGE is situated about 1 kilometer away and 15 minutes walk round the lake to the city. The guest house is completely away from all sound and air pollution. There are large modern comfortable rooms (Newly Refurbished with Air Conditioning, TV and Mini Bar) with attached toilets, hot water and sit out facing lush lawn ( smoking permitted in this area ), beautiful garden and greenery. Excellent environment for relaxation. Besides the guests will enjoy Sri Lankan family hospitality. Guests are advised not to come with drivers as we do not provide drivers accommodation. However cheap accommodation for drivers could be arranged.Good vehicles and tuk tuks could be arranged for city tours.Arrangements could be made for airport transfer or pick up from the railway station. Shortest approach is from Rajapihilla Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Tourist Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing