We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kandy Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$79
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$59
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
204
48
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
48
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge's wifemichelle tourssmall rivertrain stationgeorge's placelovely familymr georgetour companythe ownersri lankadriving servicetuk tukdelicious home cooked foodbotanical gardensbird songairport pickupan excellent cook
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It's true, George's wife is one of the best cooks in Sri Lanka but that wasn't enough to make us fall in love with the place. It is good value for the breakfast and the room but it is in a very remote location so you need to rely on George or a driver to take you places, all of which cost $$. The roads in Sri Lanka are bad so it takes ages to get only a few km's. It's not somewhere you can easily get a tuk-tuk too. If you are happy to laze around on a balcony looking at a river than this is the place for you, but it's hard to just head out somewhere for dinner or for a couple of hours without having to arrange transport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kurst22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

As a family of 5 we stayed at the Kandy guest house. The hosts were very welcoming and we had a lovely evening sitting out on the balcony. Breakfast was amazing and it was so nice to meet a Sri Lankan family. It was peaceful and beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3girlsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Had a wonderful time with George and his family. Very clean and comfortable stay. Food was good but a bit pricey. The guesthouse is not situated near the city center and transport can be quite a problem if you're travelling with young children and the elderly. Overall, an enjoyable stay at Kandy Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auntiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very nice place,just outside Kandy,very quiet and great settings with your own little terrace.
The place is close to a little river and you can enjoy a book while seating outside and listen to the birds and the water...
I must say that the food was oustanding,i think this is the best food we had in Sri Lanka,congrats to the cook.
George is a great host and will help you with everything,I actually did forget some clothes at a lodge in Sigirya and he arranged my clothes to be at the aiport the day of my departure...what a service.
Thanks again
Marc

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elijules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed with George and his family for one night and had a wonderful time. As other guests' comment this is more of a homestay than a guest house, which gives you a wonderful chance to spend quality time with a Sri Lankan family and learn more about the country and culture.
The guest house is located 20 minutes away from the hectic centre of Kandy, with views over the river. It is nice to be close enough to Kandy for a pleasant day trip but away from the hustle and bustle; which we found really refreshing. We loved relaxing on the balcony with our books, enjoying the peace and tranquility.
The food is some of the best we have had in Sri Lanka and a different range from the curries we've had in other hotels and restaurants.
Definitely recommend this place for anyone heading to Kandy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raaongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews