We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kandy Guest House
Ranked #5 of 428 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at this guest house with George and his lovely family looking after us very well. The building work which has been mentioned is now very nearly completed apart from the outside landscaping but the rooms are of a good size,spotlessly clean and with nice bathrooms.Our room had a lovely balcony ,where we sat to have tea when we arrived, & was so peaceful and relaxing It overlooks the river and the lush vegetation. The breakfasts and evening meal were cooked by George's wife and were superb. We found it a positive that we were not staying in the middle of Kandy enjoying the peace and serenity.George is a fantastic host and in fact he organised our whole stay in Sri Lanka which was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric7cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
113
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

What can I say, this was a unique experience staying with George and his family. The guesthouse is situated outside Kandy but is do able by Tuk Tuk. George is always at hand to give directions if need be. George is dedicated to giving his guest a stay to remember. He not only collected us from the station but acted as driver and guide for 2 days. His wife Ann is a brilliant cook and catered for my gluten free diet. Her food was the best we tasted in Sri Lanka. Our bedroom was on the ground floor looking out onto the river below. On the first morning we saw an eagle in the trees and a king fisher sat on the fence while we ate breakfast. What more could you want. His family are a delight and his daughter Michelle was very helpful.
For those of you who are sensitive to noise ,I will say that trains are travelling along the other side of the river, however they are not that frequent to spoil your stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Kandy Guesthouse is a bit out of the way but I enjoyed staying in a home and meeting a Sri Lankan Family. The rooms were comfortable and a good value, but my favorite part of the visit was getting to talk with the kids who were doing homework after school. As young as 8 years old they already were speaking English and I was surprised that the books they were reading were the same as kids in the US! I also loved the porch that overlooked the river.

If you need quiet to sleep be aware that across the river is the train track and a train comes through once (or maybe twice) during the night. With the windows and doors closed (the air conditioning worked great!) I was not bothered.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debfromvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Great spacious rooms, very clean and everything inside seems brand new. Food was brilliant too, but the view from the room was best. You're in the middle of nature, but still only 20 mins tuktuk drive away from the busy city center.
George, the owner is really friendly and helpful.
Michelle, the oldest daughter deals with tour planning, so if you want to travel around make sure you send her an email before arrival and she will plan everything for you.

Highly recommend this place!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank magbaba82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice while getting our Indian visas in Kandy. George and his daughter Michelle both speak excellent English (not a given in SL where communication issues are almost the norm!) while Mum smiles and produces seriously good food. The breakfast always had something local and different and the 1000 rupee dinner was the best curry we had in our two weeks and deserving of it's restaurant level pricing, you need to order by 2pm as it takes that long to cook!

It is about 3 hours from Colombo airport in a minibus, we got it for 6000 after a lot of haggling but I would be tempted to let George sort for a little bit extra so the driver knows where to go. The guest house is about 20 minutes tuktuk from town but worth it for the peace and quiet, garden and sound of the stream out the back. There is also a railway station close by. The position on Google Maps is accurate if you try to navigate yourself. Mlnesa Tea Fortress is a good place nearby for lunch and the botanical gardens are close. You only really need one day in Kandy, get Chance the Tuktuk driver to take you or George may take you in his car to places further away.

Beds are comfy, lots of hot water and it's secure. WiFi is turned off at 10ish unless you ask for it to be left on. Make sure you shut the windows and doors at dusk and night to keep the mossies out then you won't be troubled.

George was a tour guide and really knows his stuff so pick his brains, he is also a great host. Yes, it is a bit more expensive than some guest houses but worth it.

They have just finished some building work adding a large lounge area for guests and the front path is still being landscaped and top finished. You don't notice once you are inside or out in the garden, really not a big deal.







Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

It was our first night in Sri Lanka, we booked the place after reading all the good reviews and I guess we were expecting a little more. First, the house is not in Kandy, as the name suggests. Second, the house is being extended so the living space looks unfinished. Yes, George is a very friendly guy but he could have told us about the renovation before on the phone. Second, the bathroom in the room that we stayed had hot water but the pressure was not strong enough and it had a tacky plastic door which looked like it could be damaged just by falling into it. Still there were a few plus points that needs to be mentioned- the sound of the river, the value, the yummy rice and curry dinner made by George's wife and George's warm family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa_Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

After a long bus ride from Polonnaruwa and a local train to Peradeniya station (one stop south from Kandy Railway Station) we checked into The Kandy Guesthouse for 2 nights. On arrival we were greeted by Michelle, George’s daughter, who happily showed us to our double room (with ensuite) and served us a delicious tea on our balcony overlooking the river. That evening we enjoyed a home-cooked feast of traditional Sri Lankan curries – we even requested the recipe for the pumpkin curry! A dinner in this guest house is highly recommended as it surpassed any food we’ve had on our trip thus far. In the morning, we had a little tea party breakfast in the backyard – once again, so much love was put into preparing our meal. They even baked a gluten free flat bread knowing I have allergies. We spent the day exploring Kandy and came home to freshly laundered clothes. A tuk tuk into the town centre is approx 600 rupees, ask them to call Chance the driver as he’s a legend! It’s sometimes tricky to find a driver who knows the way to the guest house in the dark and along the windy roads. Michelle will happily write out the address in Sinhalese to make the trip easier. George, Michelle and their family are gracious hosts, always there to answer any questions and ensure you’re comfortable. We highly recommend a stay at The Kandy Guesthouse when visiting Kandy!

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach3lHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#39 of 55 in Kandy
539 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
492 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 428 in Kandy
295 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 428 in Kandy
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Property: Kandy Guest House
Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing