We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kandy Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
204
48
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
48
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge's wifemichelle tourssmall rivertrain stationgeorge's placelovely familymr georgetour companythe ownersri lankadriving servicetuk tukdelicious home cooked foodbotanical gardensbird songairport pickupan excellent cook
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

After reading the trip advisor reviews we chose kandy guest house to start of our 3 week trip through sri-lanka, and well i have to say, it felt like coming home!

We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by George in his house and led to our pretty big room with ensuite bathroom on the first floor. We had our own private balcony with the sounds of nature and a small stream in the background, very relaxing! The next morning we would go to the temple of the tooth, but due to our travels the day before we canceled our morning trip and had some extra sleep, which was no problem and we went to the botanical gardens (tip!) for a relaxed afternoon.
The day after that we had a full day tour with george as our driver and guide, he is very helpfull and it looks like he knows just about every one in the greater kandy area. The day was a lot of fun and we saw a lot of interesting stuff.
I wasn't bothered by the trains at all (which i believe dont even come past his house in the evening), and the past 2 nights i slept like a baby.
And last but not least the food....
Well, if you want know about that, there is just one thing you can do, and that is visit kandy guest house, because you will have to taste it yourself to believe it!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After Reading the Nice reviews on tripadvisor, we thought, Kandy Guesthouse must be a perfect start of our trip. And yes it really was! We booked 3 nights for two persons in Kandy Guesthouse to start our trip through Sri Lanka. I contacted George by email and he emailed me very quick to confirm our reservation. George arranged our pick up from Colombo airport. After almost 3 hours we arrived in the evening at Kandy guesthouse were George welcomed us. We had a very nice room with a balcony and lovely view to a small river. The room was very clean and big for the two of us with a Nice bathroom. His wife Ann cooked us delicious dinners, absolutely fantastic! The next morning we had a lovely breakfast also home made by Ann. George has been a very good host and we did a tour for 1 day with him. He is always willing to help you and he is funny too! Eventhough the train comes through we never heard it in the nights. We slept very well.

I highly recommend kandy guesthouse for the everyone who would like to chill out, enjoying the nature, the brillant food of his wife, their helpfull and kind childeren and perfect services. We are very greatfull that we stayed at George's house and his family to start our trip. Thank you George and family!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I thought this would be a nice oasis after a long day of touring. I liked the balcony overlooking the river, and the family is very sweet and accommodating. But in the morning and evening the hosts light very sweet-smelling incense (perhaps to ward off mosquitos) and the smell was cloying. Especially during breakfast, it was hard to taste my food. (Breakfast was not memorable, but food was plentiful.). Between the trains roaring through and the family getting up at 4:30 a.m. to start their day, I was not able to sleep well (although the beds are comfortable). Getting to and from the guest house is a challenge because it's on a very narrow street in a village. The hosts are very nice about giving cab and tuktuk drivers directions for you. The host is friendly -- he runs a tour company -- but he will ask you at least six times to write a Trip Advisor review. It's kind of an intense experience staying there. In the end, I think a hotel would have been more relaxing.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms overlooking the river have nice balconies.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlehillsranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at this guest house with George and his lovely family looking after us very well. The building work which has been mentioned is now very nearly completed apart from the outside landscaping but the rooms are of a good size,spotlessly clean and with nice bathrooms.Our room had a lovely balcony ,where we sat to have tea when we arrived, & was so peaceful and relaxing It overlooks the river and the lush vegetation. The breakfasts and evening meal were cooked by George's wife and were superb. We found it a positive that we were not staying in the middle of Kandy enjoying the peace and serenity.George is a fantastic host and in fact he organised our whole stay in Sri Lanka which was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric7cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

What can I say, this was a unique experience staying with George and his family. The guesthouse is situated outside Kandy but is do able by Tuk Tuk. George is always at hand to give directions if need be. George is dedicated to giving his guest a stay to remember. He not only collected us from the station but acted as driver and guide for 2 days. His wife Ann is a brilliant cook and catered for my gluten free diet. Her food was the best we tasted in Sri Lanka. Our bedroom was on the ground floor looking out onto the river below. On the first morning we saw an eagle in the trees and a king fisher sat on the fence while we ate breakfast. What more could you want. His family are a delight and his daughter Michelle was very helpful.
For those of you who are sensitive to noise ,I will say that trains are travelling along the other side of the river, however they are not that frequent to spoil your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews