We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy Guest House
Ranked #5 of 445 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a little trouble finding this place cos we alighted at the wrong train station but managed to get to George's place in the end. The view of the river from our room was awesome especially after a long bus ride from Trinco. Dinner was great, sharing the table with other travellers and exhanging info and contacts. A great place to re-charge and relax.
Chanz the tuk2 guy was great too bringing us around Kandy. He sent us to the train station and waited for the train to come before leaving.
Lovely lovely people. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hafizzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was in contact with george the owner bevor, because he had also organised the minibus and driver for us! go to : www.michelletours.com - everything he organised was perfect, a very comfortable and clean bus and a very friendly driver!!

on arrival we were greeted very friendly and were offered a nice cup of tea! the rooms are very nicely done and clean - also the bathroom! we like to spend some time in a homestay because you really feel home! everything his wife was cooking - it was sooo delicous and perfect - dinner and breakfast!! Thank you again! the house is in a local neighborhood and very safe area. sitting on the little balcony was very pleasant to have a drink and a chat.
its in a quiet area exept some trains, but life in kandy would have been much noisier!!
We would come again !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maya l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What an absolutly beautiful family that will welcome you with arms wide open. I was fortunate enough to stay at Kandy Guest House in December/January and it was a perfect start to our SrI Lanken adventures. George kindly introduced us to Kandy taking us to spice gardens, tea farms and even to a place to get a massage! The rooms have everything you need, hot water, fantastic wifi and a comfortable bed. In the evenings we would enjoy some of the most authentic Sri Lanken food I experienced on our trip by Georges beauitful wife Ann. Overall I would highly recommend Kandy Guest House to any type of traveller as George and his wonderful family will go above and beyond to make your stay in his some a very special one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank findingmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

After reading the trip advisor reviews we chose kandy guest house to start of our 3 week trip through sri-lanka, and well i have to say, it felt like coming home!

We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by George in his house and led to our pretty big room with ensuite bathroom on the first floor. We had our own private balcony with the sounds of nature and a small stream in the background, very relaxing! The next morning we would go to the temple of the tooth, but due to our travels the day before we canceled our morning trip and had some extra sleep, which was no problem and we went to the botanical gardens (tip!) for a relaxed afternoon.
The day after that we had a full day tour with george as our driver and guide, he is very helpfull and it looks like he knows just about every one in the greater kandy area. The day was a lot of fun and we saw a lot of interesting stuff.
I wasn't bothered by the trains at all (which i believe dont even come past his house in the evening), and the past 2 nights i slept like a baby.
And last but not least the food....
Well, if you want know about that, there is just one thing you can do, and that is visit kandy guest house, because you will have to taste it yourself to believe it!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After Reading the Nice reviews on tripadvisor, we thought, Kandy Guesthouse must be a perfect start of our trip. And yes it really was! We booked 3 nights for two persons in Kandy Guesthouse to start our trip through Sri Lanka. I contacted George by email and he emailed me very quick to confirm our reservation. George arranged our pick up from Colombo airport. After almost 3 hours we arrived in the evening at Kandy guesthouse were George welcomed us. We had a very nice room with a balcony and lovely view to a small river. The room was very clean and big for the two of us with a Nice bathroom. His wife Ann cooked us delicious dinners, absolutely fantastic! The next morning we had a lovely breakfast also home made by Ann. George has been a very good host and we did a tour for 1 day with him. He is always willing to help you and he is funny too! Eventhough the train comes through we never heard it in the nights. We slept very well.

I highly recommend kandy guesthouse for the everyone who would like to chill out, enjoying the nature, the brillant food of his wife, their helpfull and kind childeren and perfect services. We are very greatfull that we stayed at George's house and his family to start our trip. Thank you George and family!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I thought this would be a nice oasis after a long day of touring. I liked the balcony overlooking the river, and the family is very sweet and accommodating. But in the morning and evening the hosts light very sweet-smelling incense (perhaps to ward off mosquitos) and the smell was cloying. Especially during breakfast, it was hard to taste my food. (Breakfast was not memorable, but food was plentiful.). Between the trains roaring through and the family getting up at 4:30 a.m. to start their day, I was not able to sleep well (although the beds are comfortable). Getting to and from the guest house is a challenge because it's on a very narrow street in a village. The hosts are very nice about giving cab and tuktuk drivers directions for you. The host is friendly -- he runs a tour company -- but he will ask you at least six times to write a Trip Advisor review. It's kind of an intense experience staying there. In the end, I think a hotel would have been more relaxing.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms overlooking the river have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlehillsranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at this guest house with George and his lovely family looking after us very well. The building work which has been mentioned is now very nearly completed apart from the outside landscaping but the rooms are of a good size,spotlessly clean and with nice bathrooms.Our room had a lovely balcony ,where we sat to have tea when we arrived, & was so peaceful and relaxing It overlooks the river and the lush vegetation. The breakfasts and evening meal were cooked by George's wife and were superb. We found it a positive that we were not staying in the middle of Kandy enjoying the peace and serenity.George is a fantastic host and in fact he organised our whole stay in Sri Lanka which was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric7cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
547 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
502 reviews
5.4 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
5.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £21 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing