We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great familiar guest house”
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy Guest House
Ranked #5 of 445 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at georges beautiful place. We enjoyed the great view and had the best food of our sri lanka trip. The family is very kind and helpful.The room was very nice and clean.George was driving us around and showed us amazing places.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent two nights at Kandy Guest house at the start of our 10 day trip to Sri Lanka and what a great start to our holiday! Lovely location, as others have said it is outside of Kandy but George, the guest house owner, can organise transport into Kandy for you and it's an interesting short journey into Kandy. The rooms were spacious and very clean, and despite being next to the river (which was lovely), we weren't troubled by mosquitoes at all. Also we had no issues with the trains, yes you can hear them but didn't disturb our sleep at all - we enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a beer watching the occasional packed train trundle past.

We hadn't really planned our trip in advance and so we used George's tour company for the rest of the trip, the drivers we had were great, friendly and very knowledgable about Sri Lankan.

I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to the Kandy area, and if you go in around Easter as we did you may end up being invited to the village's Sinhalese New Year celebrations, what a great experience! Stage set up with a local band playing, and despite our initial resistance we were up dancing with the locals by the end!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had the privledge of staying at George and a Anne's guesthouse for 4 nights andd very much enjoyed it. It was a great relaxing place for us to ease into the pace of Sri Lankan life and eat some fabulous food- so so tasty! While its tucked away from kandy town, it's easily accessible by train and tuk tuk and George is also very accommodating and helpful in pick ups from the station. He is happy to help in any way and is a great host. The rooms were comfortable with lovely balcony overlooking the small river, perfect for an afternoon beer.

We also did a day trip with George to sigiriya(recommended!) which was reasonably priced compared to other tour operators and he was a great driver - Nixon, one of his other drivers who picked us up fromthe airport in Colombo late at night was also great.

Overall we would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting a relaxing and quiet couple of days in and around kandy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse is situated away from the busy town. George, the accommodating proprietor picked us up from the nearest train station and drove us around in the evening for no extra charge. He is in the process of changing the guesthouse's layout; a development that will increase privacy for the guests without detracting from the family run feel that makes the guesthouse such a nice place to stay... and the food is awesome!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tomants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Kandy Guesthouse in January and would have loved to have stayed longer. Our room was spotless, comfortable and had a lovely balcony overlooking the river. We were served tea on the balcony by George's wife and daughter when we arrived .George and his family could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately I was unwell on the evening of our first night's stay and so missed the meal that George's wife cooked for us but I was told by my husband and our friends that it was superb Sri Lankan food. George and his wife showed great concern for me and sent some food (hoppers) up to our room for me.(Thank you again George and family for your concern).
The guesthouse is tucked away in a peaceful location a short tuk-tuk ride from Kandy itself. It is located very near to Peridineya Junction station which is fantasic if you need to catch one of the trains from there,
Our friends used George's services (Michelle tours) to arrange the whole of their trip and they were extremely pleased with how it all worked out.
All in all this guesthouse is highly recommended as a base from which to explore Kandy whilst staying in a really peaceful location away from all the hustle and bustle of the city itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We loved our stay at kandy guest house. V clean warm and friendly. Our children made themselves at home within minutes and were welcomed like family. It is a little out of the way... Along some steep narrow streets about 5-10 mins drive from kandy centre but that just made it all the more perfect for us. We spent many peaceful moments out in the veranda looking out through the trees to the river below....which says a lot when travelling with three kids under 7! The food was delicious too. Bfast a feast of fresh fruits, sweet pancakes and eggs and toast. We had dinner one night too... My husband still talks about the delicious fish curry George's wife cooked for us. Thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKLupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a little trouble finding this place cos we alighted at the wrong train station but managed to get to George's place in the end. The view of the river from our room was awesome especially after a long bus ride from Trinco. Dinner was great, sharing the table with other travellers and exhanging info and contacts. A great place to re-charge and relax.
Chanz the tuk2 guy was great too bringing us around Kandy. He sent us to the train station and waited for the train to come before leaving.
Lovely lovely people. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hafizzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
547 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
502 reviews
5.4 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
5.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £21 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing