We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central - clean - caring”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Ranked #12 of 456 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed four nights in December 2011 and enjoyed our stay in this very friendly environment.
The Guesthouse is only a short foot-walk from the tooth temple. Rooms are very clean, with speed adjustable and "quiet" fans, mosquito net and hot showers! The home made rice and curry was delicious, served in the beautiful living room with nice table ware. Mrs. Madugalle and her team supported us excellently with our travel planning: e.g. making phone calls and suggesting places to go in Kandy.
This location was our best Guesthouse experience on our two week trip through Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

Friendly Family GH was the best place we stayed during our visit to Sri Lanka. The owner Kumari & her staff made us excellent breakfasts and evening meals. The best authentic Sri Lankan food I had during our stay in Sri Lanka. The rooms were very clean with clean attached toilets. The owner is very helpful and honest. We got a lot of advice from her in regards to traveling in Sri Lanka.
Very convenient location. 10min walk to the town, Kandy lake & the temple.
We did not feel we were in a guest house at all. It was like staying with family.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

A charming GH. Very friendly and welcoming owners. Good location in the center of Kandy no more than ten minutes from the lake. Sri Lankan food can be served which was very good with good size portions.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. They are not your basic cheap room/hut. This GH is a touch of quality for a very reasonable price. I'm of the type to always take the cheapest option when traveling, but when circumstances took me to this place I could not refuse to stay a couple of nights. Its just such good value. The owner is the kindest, most helpful Lady I have possibly met in three years of backpacking. It was a pleasure to stay here and a good place to recharge.
The family have quiet an interesting history too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ricardolovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

In octobre 2011 my boyfriend and I rented a room in this friendly guesthouse for about one week. We enjoyed our stay very much. Travelling though Asia, this is one of the best guesthouses where we have stayed so far.
The guesthouse is situated nicely: just a 10 minute walk to the Kandy Lake/city centre, and a supermarket opposite the road.
The rooms have attached modern hot water-bathrooms, both are tidy and clean. Breakfast was prepared and served to our liking by the kind staff.
English is very well spoken by the friendly, helpfull, and genuinly interested owners. They are able to help out with whatever questions about Kandy or Sri Lankan culture. Their friendliness well compensates the traffic noise which could be sometimes heard. When opening the door Mrs. Madugalle would say "Welcome home", and that's exactly what it feels like staying at their guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Liya26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I were in Colombo for work in November 2011. On 12 Nov 2011, we decided to visit Kandy and stay the night. We decided to go at noon to arrive by 5PM. In our haste,
we came across this family guesthouse inthe heart of Kandy, owned by the Mudagalle Family.
Before we left Colombo for Kandy, we called the guesthouse to make sure there were
rooms available. To my surprise, the person who answered the phone was more like a mother talking to a daughter rather than a front desk staff. Which made it even a more
pleasant for our arrival.

The rooms and bathroom were spotless and very clean. Although this place is
in the center of town, it felt like an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the town.
We arrived in Kandy towards dinner and decided to eat in for the night. While waiting
for dinner, we went to visit the Buddha's Tooth Temple which is 10 minutes walk away
from the guesthouse. When we returned, our food was ready on the table. It was really
a spread! It was really a great dinner as we savoured Sri Lankan authentic home cooked
food while accompanied by our host, Mrs. Kumari Mudagalle, the owner of this lovely home.

The next day, Mrs. Mudagalle, during breakfast, Mrs Mudagalle was kind enough to guide us through Kandy and told us where we should go and visit. She gave direct and specific instructions. In between our journey she would call to check if we were safe. :)

We traveled to Kandy by hired car at Rp 9500 (round trip + driver accommodation), pushed off at 1.30PM arrived at 6PM. You can take a direct train from Colombo to Kandy which will take about the same time to arrive.

I would recommend this place anytime. This guesthouse, is really a home away from home.
It was our gateway to Kandy and hope that it will be for many other visitors too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ErnaDyanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

It was a pleasure to stay with the Madugalles in Kandy. The B&B was comfortable with all modern amenities. Accessible and very convenient for walking and seeing places of interest in Kandy. Hosts were caring and provided authentic Sri Lankan food with a Kandyan touch and were knowledgable about the history of the country. Privacy is respected.

Room Tip: Request what you need and the hosts will provide guidance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jana9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were lucky enough to find one of the most beautiful and original guesthouses since we travel the world. It is not yet recommended in Lonely Planet because is newly opened, but in their next book I hope it will be. This place is simply amazing, as you enter into the family atmosphere and the guests are taking care of all your needs.
It is owned by very welcoming and very friendly family and they do magic in the kitchen.
The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms the same. You have an open terrace in front of the rooms and a spacious and traditional living room.
I totally recommend this guest house- it was a real surprise for us after checking other rooms in town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Valentin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.3 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#22 of 57 in Kandy
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 456 in Kandy
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Vista House
Vista House
#20 of 456 in Kandy
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 456 in Kandy
353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Holiday Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House

Address: 291A D. S. Senanayake Street, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 456 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Guesthouse in the heart of the city with-in walking distance from the Temple of the tooth, Kandy Lake, shops,restaurants and supermarkets. Bus stop opposite Guest House. All rooms have an ensuite and hot water. Free WiFi. Recently renovated bathrooms with brand new fittings. Warm friendly environment. Meals can be ordered (Home style Sri Lankan cuisine). An oasis in the middle of the city. Tours can be organised on request. (Day tours around Kandy as well as tours to other cities around the country). Airport pickup or drop off can be organised on request as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing