We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Ranked #12 of 384 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A lovely experience!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I visited with my parents and grandparents during my summer. The simple entrance does not reveal the great interiors of the house, so don't judge the house by its exterior. It was a great stay in the heart of Kandy. The family and hospitality was wonderful. Ms. Kumari was extremely sweet and social. She helped us understand the Srilankan culture, also explaining her family background. She along with her team very great. Especially the cook who made excellent Srilankan food. The room were clean with mosquito nets (even if there weren't any mosquitos) and there was WiFi available as well.
all in all great experience. Out of the whole trip in Srilanka we always remember this one as a great memory and experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iliketravelling636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    88
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
115
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The service is great, home made curry lovely and you feel very welcome here. Rooms are basic but perfectly functionality and very good for the price. Kandy is very noisy and this guesthouse is not quiet but it is away from the main central streets and noise. It's easy to walk to the lake and temple and trips to sigiriya arranged through the owners. I'd recommend this place to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbelles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We are a young couple travelling around Sri Lanka and for the price we paid, we could not have asked for more! In a central location within 5 minutes walk of the temple and the lake but also a very quiet house away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy! Our room was very clean with a good mosquito net and a clean bathroom! Kumari (the lady owner) was one of the best and friendliest hosts we met on our entire trip! Was happy to help us arrange anything, cook anything, give us useful information on the locals and local places and barter down prices for us to make sure we didn't get ripped off! The train noise was not a problem at all as they came Very rarely!! Couldn't have wished for a better stay! Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable and are reached from an internal courtyard which is wonderfully calm and cool away from the hubbub of central Kandy. The house is beautiful and full of Mr and Mrs Madugalle's family history.

We have eaten here every night of our 6-night stay and the home cooked Sri Lankan food has been exceptional. We have had a variety of delicious curries, hoppers, roti, rice/noodles and fresh fruit. We are vegetarian and this has been no problem.

The location is very convenient for central Kandy and is about 10mins walk from the lake. You will probably need a tuk tuk on arrival at Kandy railway station which is the other side of the town centre. Kumari was happy to organise this for us.

The above are all good reasons to stay here but the real magic of this place, though, is Kumari and her family. We were made to feel so welcome and she provided us with so much help and kindness. We really felt that we had found a calm haven in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in Madugalle Guesthouse during our stay in Kandy. It was a pleasant stay, although we expected a little bit more after reading all the positive reviews. At the end it was an okay and average experience.

Madugalle is about 15-20 minutes walk away from the city centre with the Temple of Tooth and the lake. The outside area of the guesthouse is beautifully decorated with plants and is very cosy. The room was very basic containing a bed and a bedside table. There was no A/C but a fan with multiple levels. The mosquito net above the bed was not placed in the centre so it hang in my face all night which I found very unpleasant. The bath was basic as well, the water was not always warm. From time to time it was extremely noisy due to the railway track leading right next to the guesthouse. Internet was available also in the room.

I think the price of Rs 3.500 per room per night incl breakfast was very fair. It isn't a bad guesthouse at all, we just found it quite average due to the room, the distance and the noise.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I came to Mrs. Madugalle's Guest House during my trip to Sri Lanka in July 2012. Altogether, we were a group of six and had a very pleasant time here. The hostel is extremely central, about ten minutes from the city centre of Kandy and the Temple of the Tooth. This means that you can do everything within the city on foot, which is very convenient. After all, you can only experience the real atmosphere of the city when you walk about.
Mrs. Madugalle was very courteous and helpful. Although she did not have driver's quarters for our bus driver, she offered too keep him in the house opposite. During our stay we actually felt like staying at somebody's home rather than in a guest house. Mrs. Madugalle and her helper cooked wonderful food for us, we really enjoyed the dinner and the fantastic breakfast.
The place is a bit difficult to find, it is directly on D.S. Senanayake Veediya, but it is embedded in the row of houses lining the street and there is no sign. So make sure you get a good description of the way, or even better, get guidance via phone as you approach the location. Although the hostel is directy next to the road, it is unbelievably serene and quiet in there. The moment you pass through the door you have the feeling of entering an entirely different world. Real luxury! The only source of noise is the adjacent train line and it felt as if the morning train was passing through your room. We didn't mind, but be aware of that if you are easily disturbed in your sleep. I can totally recommend this place, we felt very comfortable and would definitely come again and enjoy some days here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarrahapinni, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Arriving in Kandy hot and tired, then having to deal with buying train tickets while being hassled by tuktuk drivers...........it was so nice to just phone Kumari and she sent a tuktuk to pick us up and take us to her home. As soon as you walk through the door the hustle and bustle of the city disapears and there is Kumari to greet you and help you to sort out all your travel worries.
The rooms are nice and clean, there is also a verandah where you can sit and if you dont want to eat out or are too tired Kumari will also provide dinner for you, which was an assortment of sri lankan curries followed by dessert.
The guesthouse is only a 10 minute stroll from the lake and we were able to visit the temple etc without having to go by tuktuk all the time so thats a saving and after travelling all day its really nice to be able to walk around.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suenrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#6 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.9 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 384 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#15 of 384 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House

Property: Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Address: 291A D. S. Senanayake Street, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 384 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Guesthouse in the heart of the city with-in walking distance from the Temple of the tooth, Kandy Lake, shops,restaurants and supermarkets. Bus stop opposite Guest House. All rooms have an ensuite and hot water. Free WiFi. Recently renovated bathrooms with brand new fittings. Warm friendly environment. Meals can be ordered (Home style Sri Lankan cuisine). An oasis in the middle of the city. Tours can be organised on request. (Day tours around Kandy as well as tours to other cities around the country). Airport pickup or drop off can be organised on request as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing