We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
176
93
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
93
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily photographsfamily dining roomthe ownergreen oasistuk tukfamous templedelicious sri lankan foodstreet noiseminute walktooth templerotibusy kandystayed for nightskandy lakedouble bedguesthousepoliticians
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This guest house was one of the most expensive accommodation in our trip around Sri Lanka. We were during Perahera 2013 but in our opinion the accommodation is overrated and overpriced even it was Perahera's time.

Rooms are small and more than basic, just 2 mattress and sheets, no AC, no wardrobe and just one small table were you could leave one baggage. Toilet was really small, around 2 square meters, it was difficult to get a shower avoiding the curtain, and it was also an elevated window with the toilet's next room, sharing smells and sounds.

Cleanliness is not their strength and a door, which not fits well to the floor, grants cockroaches easily get into your room, we kill a couple. A window to the corridor gives light to the room and removes privacy.

Maybe it will be perfect for really small budget travellers, but not during Perahera.

Staff are friendly and helpful but not really much if you like to move by your own (i.e. using public transport).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toniton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Family_GH, Owner at Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very disappointed to see your review. It is understandable that we cannot please everyone however we try to do our best to make our guest happy as much as possible. I cannot personally remember you staying with us but your comments totally out of context and very damaging to our reputation. It is also out of context to all the other reviews on us.
You have stated that we are expensive. I can assure you if you take the top 20 B&B in Kandy we would be one of the cheapest and would be providing value for money. If you need cheaper than that the only other option is backpackers. Please do your research prior to making such incorrect comments.
Our rooms are very clean standard size rooms and our toilets are very clean compared to most in the market. For a twin room yes we do provide two beds and two very comfortable mattresses plus linen. Extra linen is always provide free of charge on request. I have never had a complaint in regards to the cleanliness of our guest house and I personally inspect every room prior to letting. This could be verified by all other reviews. All rooms are insect proofed and we provide a mosquito net as an extra precaution. I hope you understand that Sri Lanka is a tropical country.
I have always helped my guest in every other means to make their stay not only at our guest house but in Sri Lanka pleasant. (Please read all other revives which will prove this). What you have written is called character assassination and should be regarded as a crime.
Please be aware that what you have done is very damaging to us and we are extremely taken back by this. Please do your research prior to making such comments and try to be fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Kumari was a kind lady who went out of her way to accommodate my friend and I. She always cooked a lovely meal. Breakfast consisted of coconut roti and homemade pineapple jam & plenty of fresh fruit. The papaya was the tastiest I have had to date.The rooms and amenities were clean and adequate. Through the Guest House we could arrange a driver to take us onto our next destinations. In all a pleasant stay a short walk from town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuginperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This place is situated just opposite Trinity college on D S Senanayake road. Kumari ma`am responded promptly to all our e-mails and gave a LOT of information about Kandy. Practical tips given by her helped us to plan our travel in a systematic manner- if something is not feasible, she`ll say so. We had dinner and breakfast at their place. Both were good, especially the breakfast- Kumari ma`am`s home-made pine apple jam is very tasty!
Very conveniently located- about 15 minutes walk from the Tooth temple.
Rooms are good, just that they don't provide blankets/ bed sheets; but if you request her, she can arrange for it. Even though it is located on the main road, you aren't disturbed by the traffic at all- its pretty quiet inside.
Ma`am sends you a took took to pick you up from the station, so that you don't spend time hunting for one! All in all, a good place :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevdattaRanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We arrived in Kandy and headed to Madugalle guesthouse, only to find out that the place was fully booked. But she arranged for us a place to stay at the other side of the road. Still she was treating us as if we were here guests, we had amazing breakfast and dinner at her house and she took time to tell us about the family history and the history of the house. Additionally the work she is doing in the community impressed us. We wish we could have stayed there - and next we come to Kandy we will book in advance!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kugelblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Clean basic rooms in a good location with super friendly staff, what else could a traveller in Kandy want for a couple of days stay. My wife and I stayed here for two nights in Jan and really enjoyed our stay the hospitality made it for us. The owner went over and above to help us book our onward journey and gave us a fantastic recommendation for a place to stay in Nuriya Elia too "Sriya Paya" pjmarapan@hotmail.com . I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Tip when looking for the place it doesn't have a big sign just number 291a on the front, it is opposite Trinity College. Also recommendation from the owner were really made in the best interest of the customer which was refreshing.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews