We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed this place”
Review of Green Villa Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Villa Kandy
Ranked #71 of 428 Kandy B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyed this place”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Really liked this place up in the hills. Only a short walk into town (just ask the owner and they will explain the fastest way to get into town. We ate breakfast and dinner there which was really nice, they even explained which each dish was and we got to watch them cook one of the nights. Only thing is ask them how much the food it first before u agree to eat. We were a bit surprised how much our bill came to at the end. But all in all a great home stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank By051290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    24
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
12
37
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

At first we thought it had a nice family vibe to the place. over our stay they tried to push things on us for example trips etc and gave us incorrect information regarding trains. When we booked breakfast it was stated free but they charged us 400 r per person each morning! They also tried to get us to go to the dancing which we said no and they kept pushing. The last night we clearly stated we did not want dinner but they made it anyway and tried to make us feel bad as we did not want it as the cost was very high! We will not be going back!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cassiejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

If you are a Bird-Photographer or doing Ayurvedic Theraphy with them , then this the place for you . If you are a tourist , avoid it at any cost . Don't get fooled by what they say .

This place is far from the city centre and the Kandy lake . To get in and get out you have to use a tuk-tuk, and one round trip can cost between 600 - 1000 Rupees depending on how long the Tuk-tuk 'waits' for you . As a tourist one will be going in and out 3 or 4 times a day . So be prepared to shell out 3000 Rupees extra everyday .

We were picked up from the station for which we were told, initially,that the cost will be 1250 Rupees .When we confirmed the transfer we were told cost is 1500 Rupees . When we reached the hotel , we were charged 1800 Rupees as "the train was 45 minutes late , and waiting charges apply " . We had to take a steep climb from the main road to reach this place . Then the luggage had to be carried down five flights of steps , to reach the middle floor of this 3 storey place . We were led to the rooms which were the most shabby I had seen in a long time . I was not expecting this after reading previous reviews .

It was 7 PM and we asked if Dinner could be made . We were promptly told that one had to order well in advance . We immediately called for a Tuk Tuk , and leaving our wives behind , went in search of a new place and dinner . The Tuk Tuk Driver helped us in locating 3 place just off the side of the lake in the lane going past the Suisse Hotel . We finalised one which was free for the next two nights , paid an advance and left to search for Dinner . We went to a local takeaway food joint close to this new place , packed our dinner and went back to our hotel . we informed the owner that we were moving the next morning , and to cancel the remaining 2
nights .

Next morning while leaving , they demanded for 2 more night's charges , and finally settled for 1 more night .

What a correct decision we made to move from here ! Our new B&B pad was so much superior , and so well located, and charged us 4250 Rupees per night .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdas54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjula K, Owner at Green Villa Kandy, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
It gives us great pleasure to see that our tourist guest house is an ideal place for bird photographers and for Ayurveda treatments.
Actually Kandy Lake and the main city with Temple of the Tooth Relic are only 1km away from our guest house. We are puzzled how this guest mentioned that our guest house is very far from the City Centre, as it is walking distance from the guest house.
We wonder that the guest has paid Rs.600-1000 for a tuk-tuk for a trip to the city while normal rate is Rs.200-300. We are not in a position to understand why does a tourist go out 3 or 4 times a day spending his valuable time that he has to spend for tourist attractions.
Kandy railway station is only 4.3km away from our guest house when we are coming by a vehicle as we have to go around the lake. But when walking it is only 2.5km along the main road passing tooth relic temple. For security measures government of Sri Lanka obstructed plying up and down through Maligawa (Temple of the Tooth) for vehicles. But people are allowed to walk along this road spending 2.5km to our guest house.
Our guest house located in a 5 storied building and there are various types of spacious and comfortable rooms for various rates. There are rooms even on the road level.
We always insist on epicure's appetite in preparation of our exquisite meals and on tabling at the correct agreed time, having excellent experience and ability of preparing Sri Lankan and western cuisine.
Normally every guest house has a system and policy for cancellations and the duration in connection with the bookings.
Over the above review anyone can understand that this is a splendid and marvelous guest house with birds watching, having “Udawatte Kale" sanctuary right behind for all nature lovers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den haag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a great place to stay ! VERY friendly and helpful family, who make you feel at home immediately. They really make the difference ! Our children (13 and 11) were also very fond of them and impressed by the kindness and attention. Wonderful meals. Quiet surrouding. For us, this was one of the best experiences we had in Sri Lanka !!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mieke o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely homely-feel to this guesthouse, thanks largely due to the wonderful couple who run it, and of course to Manjula's amazing home cooking! We loved having breakfast and dinner in their delightful dining room whilst listening to stories of their amazing lives. They also have a fantastic terrace where you can look into the jungle and spot monkeys, parrots and glowbugs! We were very sad to leave this place, which although feels very peaceful and secluded, is actually only 10 minutes walk from Kandy town centre! Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had the opportunity to fully enjoy this lovely guesthouse.
Even if the room was not the nicest we had in Sri Lanka, it was clean and with access to a large terrace. The location of the place (hidden in the forest but very close to the city centre) and the special kindness of the family made our stay extremely pleasant.
The prices are very convenient, both for the room and the food, which was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiamazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay here. We enjoyed talking with the owner (he really enjoyes talking to his guests) and the homecooked food. It really is a homestay. Our room was okay, but unfortunately smelled and felt quite damp. However, we had a nice stay for only 2000 rp per night. Kandy itself was a bit disappointing and very polluted, although the temple of the sacred tooth was beautiful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#28 of 428 in Kandy
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lady Gordons Homestay
Lady Gordons Homestay
#18 of 428 in Kandy
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bethel Rest
Bethel Rest
#23 of 428 in Kandy
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Woods Guest House
Green Woods Guest House
#111 of 428 in Kandy
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunny Hill Residence
Sunny Hill Residence
#72 of 428 in Kandy
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Villa Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Villa Kandy

Property: Green Villa Kandy
Address: 26/3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned guest house is located in Kandy city at the edge of beautiful rain forest "Udawatta Kele" surrounded by stunning green. It’s 5 minutes walk to the Temple of the Tooth Relic and the Kandy Lake. The guest house consist of 5 beautiful rooms with attached bathrooms and toilets, hot water, Wi-Fi, etc. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner are provided for your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Villa Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing