We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nature a friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clove Garden Kandy City
Ranked #41 of 321 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Herne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In the middle of nature a friendly place”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is not so easy to find and not in a central location. But once you have arrived you will love the beautiful garden and the very friendly stuff. They really do all what they can the the guests have a good time. Breakfest and lunch are excellent. The price was very low for Kandy. Rooms are small for Europeans, nothing in the room to store something, just hot or cold water, dangerous electric. Perhaps they should give visitors a feedback paper because I am convinced that the stuff really wants to make all fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    35
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel when we first arrived to Sri Lanka and absolutely loved everything about the place. The only con is that it is a bit of a walk from down town Kandy. But that is the case for almost all guesthouses in Kandy. However a tuk tuk to the lake will only set you back about 2 dollars so it is not reply a problem. The staff was wonderful and tried to help us in all possible ways. The breakfast was a fried egg with lots of pepper, Belgian waffles or French toast and fresh fruit. Lovely. Eat dinner at the guesthouse twice and loved the curries they serve here. Fresh, homemade and scrumptious. Would I stay here again. Certainly! And I recommend that you do the same. Nice and clean and with hot water in the shower. The WiFi is a bit slow but the staff makes it worth every dollar you spend here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnKirstineKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Nestled among lush green trees and hills down a winding road lies Chalini and Priyan's Clove Garden. Close enough to Kandy but still away from the hustle and bustle, this is a place that will make you extend your stay by another night for sure.
The beautiful well kept property has 2 sections with 5 rooms each. We stayed in the outer section that has its own dining and living area with complete privacy.
We arrived in the afternoon and were welcomed by Chalini & Jana with warm cinnamon cakes and tea.
Lunch served is traditional Sri Lankan cuisine and was the most memorable Sri Lankan food we had during our stay in SL.

Priyan is very helpful and will arrange for local transport ( including bicycles which we rented for a day), help with sightseeing, SL itinerary or even with tickets for onward journey. Taking his inputs we modified our itinerary and had an excellent, unforgettable stay in SL.
The hosts and their staff went out of their way to make our stay a beautiful fabulous one.
All in all, our Kandy stay became a memorable one and Clove Garden played a large part.
Sthuthi Chalani & Priya.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My stay at Kandy was very good. Thanks to Hotel Clove! When we checked in we were welcomed with Tea and a carrot cake. Though we didnt like the tea but the cake was very good.
Location of the hotel is bit off from the main city but you can enjoy the real nature here. Staff is very very courteous and loves serving you. Property is well maintained and run by a srilankan couple Mr. and Mrs. Priyan. Priyan, I personally found as a very helpful person to make us familiar with the city.
Only suggestion to Priyan is to include indian food (especially indian tea at least) also if possible in the menu. It will be a great plus for the visiting Indians.
I will highly recommend the hotel if you are with family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankur007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We arrived at the Clove Garden after spending two hours negotiating Kandy's congested traffic. Needless to say we were hot and frustrated and it was wonderful to be greeted with tea and homemade carrot cake on arrival. As mentioned in earlier reviews the Clove Garden is nestled in a secluded valley in the middle of Kandy. The upside of this seclusion are the quiet and tranquil surroundings. The downside is that it is a bit hard to find.

My son joined us at the last minute and the owner, Priyan, went out of his way to accommodate this change making sure that we were all able to be together before my son set off for India.

The rooms and bathrooms are simply appointed and very clean. We decided to eat in one night and the food was plentiful and delicious. We asked for Sri Lankan cuisine and were well rewarded with a number of tasty curries. It was very good value for money.

Getting around is easy as the staff will phone for a tuk tuk anytime you need one. Take a card from the hotel with the address for your return journey.

If you are wanting a peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Kandy (thus ensuring a good nights sleep) then we highly recommend that you stay at the Clove Garden.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Recommended at the budget end of the scale with the following comments:
Clean but basic room.
Pleasant communal room with access to wifi.
Lovely breakfast and gardens.
Friendly and helpful staff.
A fair distance from town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pros - Calm and quite and scenic location, good breakfast.
Cons - Far from city, only one plug point in room,No AC, No blankets only bed sheet provided that too was small, I am 5foot 7 inch and even I was unable to cover my self in the sheet. We stayed in double bed room with attached bathroom. Better to find place near city at same budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_shrotri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.7 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sweet Cinnamon
Sweet Cinnamon
#15 of 321 in Kandy
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yalegoda Walauwa
Yalegoda Walauwa
#6 of 15 in Peradeniya
4 reviews
4.1 mi away
Serendip Stone Bungalow & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Garden Kandy City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Garden Kandy City

Property: Clove Garden Kandy City
Address: 198/11 George E De Silva Mwt, Kandy 01, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 321 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clove Garden Kandy City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located within Kandy city limits just 2.5km from the center of the city and 2km from the Railway station.We strive to offer clean comfortable rooms. Our garden is possibly the largest privately held property within the City limits. Theres plenty of bird to greet you in the morning and beautiful tropical trees to keep you cool throught the day. The silence only a private estate can offer will assure you a good nights rest so you can continue to visit what Kandy has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clove Garden Kandy City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing