We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house.”
Review of Kandy Holiday Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kandy Holiday Home
Ranked #37 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

The location is not the best, but everything else was great. Food is decent, rooms are nice..just the bathroom could be a bit newer. Great view in the morning from the top terrace if you wake up early. Friendly and helpful staff. Service was fast. Beer is quite expensive: 350rs.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fr34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Kandy Holiday Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in Kandy Holiday Home for 2 nights in Mar 2013. The hotel is located in a quiet area about 2 kms from Kandy lake. We got a room on the first floor which has a private balcony and good views overlooking the river. There is no lake view as mentioned in one of the earlier reviews. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. There is no phone in the room, and the bell for room service never worked. Breakfast was good with option of srilankan/continental. Staff were very courteous and helpful.They provide accommodation for drivers too.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor facing the road
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanderluzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

If you are looking for a place that is clean, great service, fantastic view and great food, this is the place to be. Rohan, the manager and staffs are lovely people and ever ready to assist in request.
Breakfast was lovely and we ate the best Sri Lanken dinnner at restaurant with a huge spread with beer and ginger ale.

Keep up the good work Rohan and team...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tze lyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed in this lovely holiday home in October 2012 and found the service to be great, lovely view from the dining area which gives a fantastic view of the area. Do make an effort to wake up early to watch the sunrise as it is a view that is magnificient.

The manager and service staff makes huge effort to help my husband and me out, they were very accommodating to pick us up from the Colombo airport which was a long ride away from the holiday home as our flight arrive almost 11pm. By the time we arrive at the Holiday Home, it was pass midnight but we were greeted with a refreshing pot of tea and cold water which was quite refreshing after a long ride from the airport.

In the morning, we were given a selection of either western or Sri Lanken breakfast. We went for the Sri Lanken breakfast which was extremely delicious and in the evening we had a fabulous spread of Sri Lanken dinner with beer and local ginger ale. It was relaxing and you can enjoy the lovely breeze from the terrace restaurant which is located at the top floor of the home.

If you are looking for a clean, good service and friendly environment, this is the place that you should stay. Keep up the good work to all the lovely staff at Kandy Holiday Home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was by far the BEST accomodation we stayed at in Sri Lanka during our 2 weeks holiday. The rooms are very nice, and most of all the view from the dining room is breathtaking, specially during breakfast. You get the full view of the lake, just outside Kandy. The place is very quiet and in a nice neighbourhood. Breakfast is very good. We also had dinner here 1 night, but this wasn't the best we had. Very hot food (but this depends on our taste). I would come here again for sure! Best quality/price ratio. I definitely recommend this B&B/hotel. For 5 breakfasts, 4 traditional dinners, 1 beer, 2 water, 3 desserts, 3 nights for 3 people we spent 13.500 rupees total, about 81 euros (27 euros each). The personnel is also very kind and they have a nice place also for the drivers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fgkfriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here the last 2 nights of our trip Kandy.It is a charming small hotel,with a great restaurant outside overlooking the beautiful Mahaweli River and nice Clean rooms, Friendly Staff,Owner Rohan Is Good & Smart Person, I Wish.This is an absolutely lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

When in Sri Lanka then Kandy is a must! When in Kandy a good and not expensive Holiday Home Hotel will be the right place. Staff: young, nice and ever smiling young people. Kitchen: reach choice of local dishes for a moderate prices. Rooms: comfortable and big. And something extra: early morning breakfast on terrace with the vew on Adam's Peak is not to be forgotten!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobertSerafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#33 of 56 in Kandy
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Holiday Home

Address: Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha | Bangawatta Road, Lewella, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £13 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kandy Holiday Home 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your Kandy Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing