We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent base for Kandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kandy Holiday Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kandy Holiday Home
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An excellent base for Kandy”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the beginning of a round trip of South Sri Lanka and we had a really good time here.
The rooms are admittedly basic, but homely with one of the two rooms booked leading out to the first floor balcony (the other one had its own, yet small balcony).
A great feature is the roof terrace on the second floor, allowing a great view to the river valley and to the mountains (a slight stain of the view is the unfinished building next door).
All the staff members were very polite at all times and especially Roshan (helped by his excellent English) looked after all our needs.

We had once during our stay dinner at the hotel, which was ok.
The breakfast too is fairly basic, but met our requirements.

The hotel is located somewhat outside of Kandy in a suburbian, but very safe neighbourhood and a Tuktuk can get you into Kandy in no time.

We considered staying here a good choice and we would be happy to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller300163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed in Kandy Holiday Home for 3 nights. The welcome was great, Rojan is really welcoming and very nice to talk to. He helps you with everything! Truely an awesome guy. The rest of the staff is nice as well. The room itself was OK, but nothing more. It was nice and clean, which was a great plus, and it had a private balcony as well, but there were ants everywhere, which wasn't too nice. They came crawling through the gap beneath the door and that, of course, is nobody's fault really, but it was a flaw on our stay. The bathroom, however, is good (clean and provided hot water), as was the food in the restaurant. Was located a little outside of Kandy though!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyMWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Kandy is a breathtaking place and Kandy Holiday Home ensured that we will have the rest needed to fully enjoy this. I especially enjoyed the service as people were VERY friendly and reacted to each need we had. Highly recommended for people who enjoy good service, good prices and fantastic views from their hotel windows.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a really charming guest house located in a beautiful, tranquil spot by the lake. The staff were absolutely delightful; so courteous and helpful. The rooms are quiet, spacious and comfortable with lovely views and a balcony for private dining if desired. The food was fabulous and very reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionaduthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

clean and good room found by our tour agency. good food on a kind of terrace, nice service, friendly. everything ok including location, but nothing very special. some noisy by other guests in the early morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in a triple room (one single and one double bed) for one night in October 2013. The accommodation has breath taking views and is very reasonably priced. The staff are excellent, very helpful. The food was also lovely and again very reasonably priced. I would recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmjames07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

The location is not the best, but everything else was great. Food is decent, rooms are nice..just the bathroom could be a bit newer. Great view in the morning from the top terrace if you wake up early. Friendly and helpful staff. Service was fast. Beer is quite expensive: 350rs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fr34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#30 of 53 in Kandy
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 53 in Kandy
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 53 in Kandy
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
476 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#45 of 53 in Kandy
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Holiday Home

Property: Kandy Holiday Home
Address: Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha | Bangawatta Road, Lewella, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kandy Holiday Home 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Kandy Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing