We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't go hungry here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“You won't go hungry here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

New hotel sited at the top of the Saranankara Road, a 20 minute walk along the lake from the centre, although a bit of a climb on the return. Rooms on the small side but adequately furnished with fan / ac / tv. Friendly management who seem to be still learning their roles. Good choice of hot dishes and fruits at buffet breakfast and huge portions at decent prices for evening meals from the restaurant. Room prices were fair considering it was at the time of the Perahera.

The Perahera was a magnificent night time spectacle. We purchased tickets for seats on the day. It was also worthwhile to see the afternoon processions on the last day, which was a much lower-key, less formal event, but allowed easier access to streetside locations and close encounters with elephants both in and out of dress.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    69
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
70
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed 6 nights -Checked into a small room, they didn’t apologise for this (see below) but was moved on day 3 to a far nicer room.
The first night we arrived about 7pm so eat in the hotel as the manager and staff were friendly and said they would cook us a nice Sri Lankan meal. We Went to unpack and came back later to eat. The meal was brought out and looked lovely - lots of small bowls of curries to try, put on plate and realised it was cold (very disappointed) so the took some away and warmed up. - Not a good start!!
Breakfast was lovely.
Hotel was about 20 mins walk to main street - on way home it was hard work as the last 10 mins was up a steep hill. If you don’t like walking there are lots of tuk tuks.
A good place to do lots of trips from. We went when the Perahera festival was on - this was brilliant to see.

Room Tip: Room 201 was very small; it had a double bed in with a wardrobe that you couldn’t even open so no pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We arrived from Colombo airport and received a friendly welcome.

The room was clean with a comfortable bed and an excellent view from the balcony.

We organised a tuk tuk tour to the elephant orphanage and some of the temples.
If you are planning to go to sigiriya, personally, we preferred our jungle safari there than the elephant orphanage as in the orphanage at times we felt the elephants were chained and restrained. On safari they were in their natural environment.
This aside, Amanda hills was a walking distance to kandy town centre.
We didn't eat at the hotel sadly. We went next door for curry as it was recommended in our guide (Sharon inn) thus was good but, expensive for what it was.

We highly recommend Amanda hills for their friendly staff, comfortable rooms, excellent view and great location.
Enjoy Sri lan

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great little hotel with very clean, very pretty rooms located up a very steep hill.

Manager and staff are very helpfull.

Location is close enought o the lake that a short walk down the hill brings you to it. A tuk tuk back up is recommended.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a high floor with a view and got it. Nice balcony outside shar with the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Service is fantastic. location is nice and staff are extremly helpful. Rooms are very clean with well equipped. The hotel is very small but with 5stars service. Jude who the manager of the hotel is amazingly helpful from arranging the pickup, trips and making the dinner for us even. Thanks to the whole team of Amanda hills and will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean and tidy so whatever they give, will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Amanda Hills is a nice hotel with clean rooms, close to the city center. Some rooms and restaurant on the top have a great view over Kandy.
Hotel owner/manager is a very friendly gentleman.

There is a college next to the hotel, so in the morning it could be a little loud - kids learning how to swim in the pool. Though it never bothered neither my friends, nor me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at this delightful small hotel for two nights and would highly recommend it. The hotel is clean, modern and bright with great views over Kandy. It is within walking distance of the main town but far enough away to avoid the noise and bustle. Our bedroom was small but with enough room to move and good cupboards and wardrobe space. The bathroom was again small but more than adequate. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
The manager Jude was extremely friendly, helpful, informative and couldn't do enough to help us. The other staff were also just as helpful, nothing was too much trouble. It was a joy to be in such jolly and happy surroundings.
We were told that our room would be cleaned on request and that extra towels were always available. If we ever come back to Kandy we will deifnitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A higher room will give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay-walker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#21 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#38 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#25 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#34 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#39 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Property: Hotel Amanda Hills
Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing