We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly Welcome & Comfortable Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Welcome & Comfortable Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The rooms were comfortable and clean but not air conditioned. In saying this, it wasn't required because Kandy can get quite cool at night. At Jude's (Manager/Owner) insistence, we stayed in for dinner and we were not disappointed. Breakfast was the same with course after course of Sri Lankan and western dishes. Filling up on this breakfast meant we never had to eat lunch. Their food really is top notch! The hotel is located at the top of the hill but with the price of a Tuk Tuk, it is cheap and easy to reach. Jude's offsider was polite and obliging. Overall I could thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's great value for the price.

Room Tip: "Have a rice and curry for dinner, you won't be disappointed,"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Valve Guest,

Thank you very much for the review I highly appreciate.

With kind regards

Jude Fernando
Manager
Amanda Hills Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
69
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at the Amanda Hills Hotel in Kandy on 17th Oct and indeed the hotel is on hill top with cascading greenery. The rooms are well equipped with a nice balcony over looking the lake. The breakfast was awesome so much so that we dont have to take lunch as it was plentiful.

The staffs were very caring and the Manager Mr Jude ensured that we had a pleasant stay attended to all our needs.

John Bosco Lukose
Singapore

Room Tip: Value for money and excellent service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Bosco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Valve Guest,

Thank you very much for the review I highly appreciate

With kind regards

Jude Fernando
Manager
Amanda Hills Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We arrived off a nightmare bus trip from Colombo, 2 breakdowns en route, to a deserted hotel. Our tuk-tuk driver shouted and rang the bell and eventually found someone who told us to sit down and ignored us for nearly 20 mins before checking us in. Then he brought us a nice cup of tea to the room! Anyway, next day we met the boss Mr Jude Fernando who was great, friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet. Theres lots of hostels up that road but this is clearly the best (and most expensive I think). We were on honeymoon so weren't following our usual next-cheapest-to-the-cheapest in town rules! If I went back I'd go up the hill and haggle with all the places for a good rate. Mr Fernando booked us a taxi to Habarana via Sigiriya and Dambulla for a good rate, stopping at the expected overpriced spice garden and tourist restaurant of course! Breakfast was good. Views were amazing. Nice walk to town either straight down the hill or along the top and down.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wateladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Valve Guest,

Thank you very much for the review that you have given to Triadvisor,

1. I applogise for the in-convenience that you face in front of my gate for 20 minits. If I'm correct it was not a booking were Agoda or Booking.com or from my web site, in that night you came directly finding My hotel and I appreciate that you found my contact number on the name board and call me on that night and I who told my worker to open the gate. Normal we close our main gate At 10pm for the safety of our in house guest and don't open for any outsides especially for Tuk Tuk drivers for the bell.

Any lat check in If it is a prior booking they have my contact number and use to inform me that they will be getting late to check in and I keep a person to welcome them at any time in the midnight,

I sincerely thank for the comment and take necessary action to avoid this circumstances in the future.

Best regards,

Jude Fernado
Manager
Amanda Hills Kandy
13.09.12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We're sorry we planned only one night at the Amanda Hills. After spending most of the trip in the less developed Trincomalee area, it was a relief to stay in a new, pleasant, well-run hotel. Don't be put off by the entrance, where you must either go down or up to get to reception due to its location. The rooms were modern and comfortable. The deck, available for dining or just drinks, offers a great view of Khandy, and most of the sites are easily reachable. The manager was simply outstanding, offering real advice without ulterior commission-based motives, which is all too common in Sri Lanka. We were so comfortable there, we returned for dinner on the way to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

New hotel sited at the top of the Saranankara Road, a 20 minute walk along the lake from the centre, although a bit of a climb on the return. Rooms on the small side but adequately furnished with fan / ac / tv. Friendly management who seem to be still learning their roles. Good choice of hot dishes and fruits at buffet breakfast and huge portions at decent prices for evening meals from the restaurant. Room prices were fair considering it was at the time of the Perahera.

The Perahera was a magnificent night time spectacle. We purchased tickets for seats on the day. It was also worthwhile to see the afternoon processions on the last day, which was a much lower-key, less formal event, but allowed easier access to streetside locations and close encounters with elephants both in and out of dress.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed 6 nights -Checked into a small room, they didn’t apologise for this (see below) but was moved on day 3 to a far nicer room.
The first night we arrived about 7pm so eat in the hotel as the manager and staff were friendly and said they would cook us a nice Sri Lankan meal. We Went to unpack and came back later to eat. The meal was brought out and looked lovely - lots of small bowls of curries to try, put on plate and realised it was cold (very disappointed) so the took some away and warmed up. - Not a good start!!
Breakfast was lovely.
Hotel was about 20 mins walk to main street - on way home it was hard work as the last 10 mins was up a steep hill. If you don’t like walking there are lots of tuk tuks.
A good place to do lots of trips from. We went when the Perahera festival was on - this was brilliant to see.

Room Tip: Room 201 was very small; it had a double bed in with a wardrobe that you couldn’t even open so no pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We arrived from Colombo airport and received a friendly welcome.

The room was clean with a comfortable bed and an excellent view from the balcony.

We organised a tuk tuk tour to the elephant orphanage and some of the temples.
If you are planning to go to sigiriya, personally, we preferred our jungle safari there than the elephant orphanage as in the orphanage at times we felt the elephants were chained and restrained. On safari they were in their natural environment.
This aside, Amanda hills was a walking distance to kandy town centre.
We didn't eat at the hotel sadly. We went next door for curry as it was recommended in our guide (Sharon inn) thus was good but, expensive for what it was.

We highly recommend Amanda hills for their friendly staff, comfortable rooms, excellent view and great location.
Enjoy Sri lan

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#23 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 65 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#29 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#43 of 65 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#36 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#55 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Property: Hotel Amanda Hills
Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing