We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

The winding road to the hotel is a tad tricky to navigate. There're no lifts, but the staff members are cordial and helpful. Wi-Fi works in the open and in the rooftop restaurant. The rooms aren't the biggest but sufficient enough to spend the night. If you're looking for a clean place to rest after a day of exploring a wonderful part of the world, this hotel would do the job.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Valved Guest,

This is what my Vision to give my guest thee best out of all in all to keep you feel as Home away Home.

I highly appreciate your recommendation.

Thank you very much and visit us again on your next trip to the Peal of Indian Ocean.

Wish you and your loved once all the very best.

With Kind Regards,

Jude
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    69
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
70
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the wonderful Amanda Hills during our recent Kandy stay. The welcome and service from the staff team was warm, friendly and incredibly helpful, and the manager was happy to organise one day trip and a driver for our onward transport for us.

Our twin room was clean and well furnished, and opened onto a small living area, shared with one other room - this must be a bonus if you're travelling with a group of others or as a family. The buffet breakfast and Sri Lankan buffet dinner were very tasty and the views from the roof top restaurant and terrace a wonderful way to start and end the day.

Location wise, the hotel is indeed sited at the top of a steep, windy road, but there were plenty of tuk tuks around for easy access to the main bit of Kandy town in the evenings, and during the daytime it was simply a 10-15 min walk around the lake, so great positioning.

All in all we were delighted that we'd chosen to stay at the the Amanda Hills.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SEA2OZ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Valved Guest,

This is what my Vision to give my guest thee best out of all in all to keep you feel as Home away Home.

I highly appreciate your recommendation.

Thank you very much and visit us again on your next trip to the Peal of Indian Ocean.

Wish you and your loved once all the very best.

With Kind Regards,

Jude
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at Amanda Hills in Kandy during our recent visit to Sril Lanka.

After our driver had to ask where the hotel was, and driving up a very narrow street with only enough room for one car we arrived at the hotel.

It was a multi story hotel with a good view. The room was quite nice and had just recently been renovated with renovations still happening with the other rooms. Each room had a varandah but be careful not to leave the door open if you dont want a visit from the monkeys around the area.

The owner was quite nice and provided information on places to eat.

Although we had a driver, taking a tuk tuk to the city centre would have been cheap as it is not far away.

If your looking for somewhere close to the city then this place is reasonabley priced. The only problem we had was on departure day when the power to the area was cut off which meant paying by cash was the only option.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul24101964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Valve Guset,

I Highly appreciate your recommendation

Wish you all the very best.

With Kind regards

Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas period, from the 23rd till the 27th of Decemeber and we were not disappointed! Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable with a wonderful view of the surrounding hills. Jude and his team were EXTREMELY hospitable!!! Jude always went above and beyond expectations for his guests. One time, I heard a guest ask for some wine, and because it was Christmas, Jude had run out so he asked the guest what kind of wine they would like and he would personally go and find some for the guest! I was in awe. I thought that was such great service. Jude also organised a fabulous tour for us with an excellent driver. For Christmas, we had a live band who sang calypso songs. Jude also picked up a lovely cake with Merry Christmas inscribed on it - a lovely touch!

The food was GREAT!! I recommend you rise early so breakfast doesn't get cold. The evening buffet at $5 a head was a bargain and was the best value for food we found in Sri Lanka. We never had to leave the guest house for dinner because it was right there, very tasty!!!!

I would recommend this place to anyone! The sheer hospitality of Jude and his staff are worth it!

Next time we come to Kandy, we'll be staying here :-)

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best and probably only view. The back and side rooms looked a bit dark, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Valved Guest,

This is what my Vision to give my guest thee best out of all in all to keep you feel as Home away Home.

I highly appreciate your recommendation.

Thank you very much and visit us again on your next trip to the Peal of Indian Ocean.

Wish you and your loved once all the very best.

With Kind Regards,

Jude
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Stayed 1night sat 24th nov 2012, when doing a tour, my room was comfortable with a/c and brilliant view, also added fun of watching the monkeys around and about. I wasn,t sure what time i.d return from the Kandyan dancing show and temple of the tooth but the chef said it wasn,t a problem and he asked what i,d like to eat and i told him vegetarian he asked how i liked my food hot or medium and said he would prepare something special, and it was i had a large platter of rice surrounded by 4 different types of curry and some popadoms and chutney it was beautiful i realy enjoyed it. Both he and the other guys that worked there ( sorry cant remember names) were so helpful and friendly the chef previously worked in the maldives and found time to have a chat. I had a good nights sleep had breakfast and as another reviewer mentioned there was so much i didnt need lunch that day. omlette and a tasty smoothie, fresh fruit followed by pancakes then toast which i just could not fit in and coffee. I deffinatley reccomend this hotel you wont be dissapointed .

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with shared balconey but brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmeerkat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Valve Guest,

Thank you very much for your recommendation on Trip adviser.

Best wishes,

Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Everything we wanted and more! Very warm welcome by Jude (Mgr) and his great team of staff, rooms clean, comfortable and with very quite ceiling fans. (You don't need aircon here!) the real bonus was a standard of food that outperformed everywhere else. The Sharon Hotel next door is rated as the best food in Kandy in The Rough Guide book but Amanda Hills is better! Better quality, better taste and great table service. You can even get a bottle of good quality Sicilian wine cheaper than in just about any UK restaurants. Nothing is too much trouble for Jude; he can arrange transport, days out and tickets to local attractions (eg cultural dancing) His staff are obviously well trained by him and highly motivated to please guests. We really enjoyed our 3 nights here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Amanda Hills to anyone searching for a comfortable, clean, helpful, relaxing and value for money hotel overlooking Kandy Lake.

Room Tip: Rely on Jude to allocate the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Valve Guest,

Thank you very much for your High Recommendation on your visit to Amanda Hills Kandy, Its my ( Vision ) responsibility to welcome, treat, look after for the best of your satisfaction and keep them on a home away home.

Wish you all the very best,

With my warm regards,

Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The rooms were comfortable and clean but not air conditioned. In saying this, it wasn't required because Kandy can get quite cool at night. At Jude's (Manager/Owner) insistence, we stayed in for dinner and we were not disappointed. Breakfast was the same with course after course of Sri Lankan and western dishes. Filling up on this breakfast meant we never had to eat lunch. Their food really is top notch! The hotel is located at the top of the hill but with the price of a Tuk Tuk, it is cheap and easy to reach. Jude's offsider was polite and obliging. Overall I could thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's great value for the price.

Room Tip: "Have a rice and curry for dinner, you won't be disappointed,"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Valve Guest,

Thank you very much for the review I highly appreciate.

With kind regards

Jude Fernando
Manager
Amanda Hills Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#40 of 55 in Kandy
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 55 in Kandy
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 55 in Kandy
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Property: Hotel Amanda Hills
Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing