We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality and decent room with a good view”
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 24 February 2013

When we walked in at 10:00 pm we weren't expecting much. The hotels around the area were asking for too much for too little. The hotel owner really made us a deal we couldn't resist. He gave us almost whatever we asked for. The rooftop was simply amazing, especially with a glorious view of Kandy. The triple-bed was cozy enough to rest our sore backs after all the walking around Kandy. The place is moderately accessible. The breakfast was also great. We had a mixture of traditional and continental food. Overall, really amazing quality served by an honest owner.

Room Tip: If you go in the colder seasons, you wouldn't want to spend so much on A/Conditioning, so you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed one night at AH in february 2013 and were awestruck by the chefs abilities and passion in cooking traditional Sri Lankan food. It cought us by surprise, since the surroundings and atmosphere of the place did not imply that great food was being served here. The hotel rooftop was very cozy and the view great, but having eaten many meals in similar hotels with identical menus we did not expect the cook to serve such high quality food.
If not for the roof top terrace, then come for the food - we had to return to the rooftop restaurant although we were staying at a different hotel in a different part of the town, just to get another meal from the kithcen wizard. Top tip: try the vegetarian rice and curry... if the chef is still working there, you will not regret it!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The reviews are accurate. Good value for money in Kandy. A bit of a walk from town but we had a driver so no issues. Jude was a great host, he and his staff loved our kids and were very helpful. Rooms basic but clean and well appointed. We had a triple which was perfect as we put out kids in the small bedroom/annex in the single and a cot. Good view and tasty dinner and breakfast. Thanks Jude.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbo0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

It's located at the top of the hill with a rooftop dining room with exquisite views, near Kandy Lake.
We stayed at a lower level room and it was a bit damp, but it was secure and clean. If we stayed again, we would ask for a room not on the ground level though. Bathroom was small with no mats, so it got a bit wet, but it too was clean. The owner was really nice and helpful and clearly took pride in his hotel --the prize being his great dinner buffet for 5 USD. The rooms were a bit more expensive for our budget level at 5500 LKR in high season.

Watch out for a man named Mr Bandara who patrols Kandy Lake, convincing tourists to come see his orphanage and then sells you overpriced merchandise and tickets for the notoriously terrible Kandy Dance Show. Run from him!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taraandspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

because of a mistake of an employee we got a cheaper rate than we were supposed to. the boss was really fair about it, just telling us that it was a mistake and that we shouldn't tell the other guests (which i guess seems like he's really trying to be fair to all the guests). the room was clean, there was enough space to spread our stuff and a fridge. the breakfast was a real highlight. depending on how many guests there are you get a buffet or table service, both is really good. one day it was raining really bad so we decided to eat dinner at the hotel which we usually never do. we weren't disappointed, the food was good.
the only thing they have to work on i guess is to make the place a bit more "cozy". at the restaurant there was always music playing or the tv on, or sometimes both together, which we found a bit annoying.
in general we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Our room was booked online by someone so we were forced to move after only one night (presumably because the Internet booker was staying considerably longer than we were). We were offered a different room but without wifi, which I needed to do some work. Most rooms do not have wifi access (although rooms near the restaurant may have).

The room was clean but very small and the bathroom was tiny, with barely enough space to open the door. The view from the room was of a unkempt garden and a crumbling brick wall.

The buffet dinner was nice and reasonable value for money although the staff tried their best to serve it to us, meaning you couldn't really get as much as you wanted. The breakfast was decent - again a buffet (but with less interest from staff).

The location is okay but up a fairly steep hill, which is nice enough when looking at the view from the restaurant but not so nice when walking up after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The owner and staff are all very friendly and helpful. We travelled with a young child and he was often entertained and looked after by the staff so we could enjoy our dinner! They were also helpful in organizing a day out visiting nearby attractions. The location is great with stunning views from the terrace, however it is a steep walk up the hill coming back from the centre of town. Rooms are on the small side but clean, with a good hot shower. Food also very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnKa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 56 in Kandy
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 56 in Kandy
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £20 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing