We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with very helpful staff!”
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay with very helpful staff!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Amanda Hills and had a great stay. The rooms were clean (not huge) and it is located a short tuk tuk journey into the centre of Kandy,

We had organised an airport pickup with Amanda Hills hotel @ 4 in the morning and when we arrived in Kandy, the staff had breakfast ready for us-magic! We also organised a trip to Dambulla and Sigiriya with them while we there and they also looked after us with a lift to the train station when we were leaving.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_anne_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    69
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
70
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our stay at Amanda Hills was not great, not bad. The rooms are very small but clean and A/C was adequate. Food was ok. Location is good - not far from the Tooth Temple up a very steep and windy hill. View from the terrace was nice. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonofmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baile Átha Cliath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on arrival in Sri Lanka. Overall, we were very well looked after - the staff were helpful and attentive, the rooms (while not massive) are comfortable, and there is a hearty breakfast on offer, and good food in the evening also if you are staying in. The hotel is located on a hill a short walk from Kandy's lake and Temple of the Tooth, so is a very good location. We were also able to organise a trip to Sigiriya and Dambulla through the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitrionaonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The hague
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

After a long journey this was the only hotel with an available room. Quite expensive for sri lanka. Rooms are very nice. Manager too. But... this could have been an Ibis anywhere in Europe. Nothing special. Nothing intimate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThehagueLieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Overall, I would not stay here again. If you want to see the sights of Kandy, stay even closer to the temple for 2 days while seeing Kandy, then go out of town to see the hill country and other related sights.

Pros:
1. Location
Kandy itself has a surprising lack of nice hotels to stay at within walking distance of the main attractions (lake, Temple of the Tooth, etc), though several newer options are springing up. The hotel is within walking distance of the lake and city center, which is nice. Cost to the train station is about 200 rupees and ~5 minutes driving from the lower entrance.
2. Price
We paid $70USD including taxes for the room and breakfast, which was a good deal and appropriate for the room + breakfast. The room was small but adequate, the bathroom was very cramped due to how the door was positioned. Some of the other rooms with a balcony/view may have a different layout.
3. Friendly Service
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and arranged well priced day trips for us.

Cons:
1. Meals (particularly dinner)
There are no restaurants very close by the hotel (you have to walk into the city center, ~10-15 minutes), and most tourists tend to eat at their hotel/guest house when they travel to Kandy. The food here was edible, but not comparable to other hotels/guest houses we have visited in Sri Lanka. If you stay here, we recommend going out for dinner in town instead of eating in.
2. Certain rooms are not well located
Our room was along a stairwell, which could be noisy at night, had no balcony and no view. If you stay, request a room facing the lake.
3. Cleanliness
The sheets and towels were clean and the towels replaced daily. However, the bathroom was not: the shower was covered in mildew and there were moldy/dusty areas in the corners.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and facing the lake. Rooms by the stairs are noisy and have no view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I hardly ever give bad reviews in Sri Lanka but Amanda Hills was astonishingly bad.

After a mix-up with our rooms, the bully manager kept us in rooms that weren't meant for us. Next day my bags were removed from the room without my prior knowledge. They had to apologize.

They wouldn't clean the room until told. There was foul behaviour by one of the staff throughout the stay.

We had booked a fan room but kept in AC rooms for which we were charged. It was never a problem to pay but there were no prior notices again.

The day I left, the staff began asking if I had paid for the water. I had done so the previous day. Worse was to follow... after I had left they held my colleagues to ransom for a Rs 300 laundry bill I had paid myself. I got the manager on the phone. Told him I paid. He just said OK. Didn't quite understand how that can ever happen.

Amanda hills is just a money swindling because I saw at least two boarders having a serious fight over rooms with the manager.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BanglaTraveler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the afternoon and upon check in we notified the staff and reception that there were ants in our bathroom and to clean it before we returned. When we got back we came back to a floor covered in dead ants, dirty towel and our room smelled horrible. We were completely turned off and asked for a refund since we had originally booked two nights. The owner became aggressive and refused to refund out money. I would NEVER stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowenista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Owner at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I agree that there was ants in the room but your intention was to go to a another hotel were your friends were staying when i offed you a double bed room, when you arrived the hotel was full and after booking a non AC room with a free dinner for one person u wanted for two were I do a bushiness not a charity.

You and your boy friend use the wash room when u arrived and perpusly put all towels trample them and took the photos.

I know how I maintain the rooms and some time you can't stop natural disasters.

Regards

Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 54 in Kandy
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#37 of 54 in Kandy
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Property: Hotel Amanda Hills
Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing