We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amanda Hills
Nearby Hotels
US$175
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
US$234
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
57
70
37
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
70
37
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restauranttuk tukbeautiful view of the cityhotel location ismini fridgeliving areano lifttooth templetea coffeeclean roomstop floorhilllakebalconymonkeyssri
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We had a wonderful time in Kandy and one of the main reasons was this hotel. The manager (Jude), the chef and all the staff were very friendly and nice with us. They introduced to us a very nice and honest driver (Persana) and a knowledgable nature trip guide (Gamini or G.B.). Both of them showed us a different and authentic side of Sri Lanka. We will recommend this hotel and these two guides to all our friends. Thank you all for a very enjoyable stay....

Room Tip: Ask before booking for a room with a view and no AC.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2chestnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The room we were assigned to was different from the pictures shown on booking.com. We found the room very small so we ask for a bigger room or an additional room. They refused such an arrangement unless we paid double.

When we returned to the hotel late at night, we realized that there was no blanket in the room. We told the manager about it the next day and he said no hotels in Sri Lanka provided blankets. What a big lie! The two other hotels we stayed in Sri Lanka both provided blankets! We had no choice but to switch off the air conditioning to stay warm, and we were sweating in the mid-night.

There were mosquitoes inside the room. No mosquitoes net or spray was provided for us. We got several bites that night. The curtain in the room could not cover all windows. Everyone walked up and down the stairs of the hotel could see what we were doing inside the room. We had no privacy at all!

We had closed all the windows but we could still hear the cicadas' singing noises the whole night. Neither the windows nor the walls were sound-proof and we couldn't sleep well at all.
The bathroom was worn out and the shower facility was weak.

We could not stand it so we had decided to end our stay after one night. We had already paid two nights in advance so we thought it should be fine, but the manager asked us to pay for three nights as we used two rooms in the first night. It was ridiculous. Besides, on our first day, its staff told us that we could pay at any exchange rate between USD and Sri Lankan rupee we could find on the internet at the time we checked out so we planned to use the exchange we were given at various local exchange shops. The manger however insisted that we had to settle the bill at a bad rate he proposed. He said “I AM THE MANAGER” so he overrode what his staff had promised. We were furious and were about to call the police. I also showed him the two receipts I had at the local exchange shops when he said he would not be able to exchange money at USD 1 : LKR 125. The fight didn’t stop until our driver intervened. The manager realized that if the police had come, he would be in trouble so he changed his mind instantly and let us go with just a two night cost paid for a one night stay with two rooms and at the fair exchange rate.

I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone who expect a pleasant stay. You can find a much better hotel at a much cheaper rate nearby! (which was what we eventually did!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank scsc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Your intention from your check in was to move to a another hotel with your drive were he get his commission, and you two lady's crate trouble and how ever you agreed to buy a another room as you wanted your privacy to stay with your drive in the night were I did not allow you to take him to your room in that night. Please note that Amanda Hills is flowing strong ethic and the cultural habit of Sri lanks that you pay money and stay how you want to stay. I would have chase you out on that night if i was so rued.

I wanted to get the police and if the police came you 2 and your driver would be in trouble not me.

I agree that our room are on a stranded size you can comfortably spend the night.

Money exchange you can go to a shop that exchange money that you will get the amount that they will pay you but as a hotel we take 1 rupee lass as for the fluctuation of the dollar in Sri lanka.

You don't know to live with the environmental surrounding as u live in concrete villagers, were I can't stop the cicadas' singing noises the whole night and do a sound proofing to the room as other guest like to stay with natural environment.

I'm so sad that I paid the balance of Rs 900.00 for your US$ 7 its more than 126 per droller and u beggar took that put in you pocket and telling that i have paid you by Rs125

Dogs can Bark but the Mount-en will not come down

Thnx

Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Amanda Hills and had a great stay. The rooms were clean (not huge) and it is located a short tuk tuk journey into the centre of Kandy,

We had organised an airport pickup with Amanda Hills hotel @ 4 in the morning and when we arrived in Kandy, the staff had breakfast ready for us-magic! We also organised a trip to Dambulla and Sigiriya with them while we there and they also looked after us with a lift to the train station when we were leaving.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_anne_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our stay at Amanda Hills was not great, not bad. The rooms are very small but clean and A/C was adequate. Food was ok. Location is good - not far from the Tooth Temple up a very steep and windy hill. View from the terrace was nice. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonofmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on arrival in Sri Lanka. Overall, we were very well looked after - the staff were helpful and attentive, the rooms (while not massive) are comfortable, and there is a hearty breakfast on offer, and good food in the evening also if you are staying in. The hotel is located on a hill a short walk from Kandy's lake and Temple of the Tooth, so is a very good location. We were also able to organise a trip to Sigiriya and Dambulla through the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitrionaonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews