We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and clean Kandy option”
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly and clean Kandy option”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in January 2013. I am a single female traveller and felt very safe and welcome. The manager went out of his way to look after me (especially after a fall on the steps that allow this hotel its hillside vista's) and the food was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and private and the fact that it was slightly out of town was not an issue. The helpful staff would call a tuk tuk for me at any time of day and they were extremely friendly. I recommend this place as a great option in Kandy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    69
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
70
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I really do not understand why this hotel has got so good reviews on here.
We arrived exhausted at 10 pm after eight hour train ride from Matra (sp?).
We had no booking, but got a room for 7500 rupies. The owner/manager offered us to order dinner even though the kitchen was about to close, so we chose a couple of dishes from the menu before we took our backpacks and headed for the room.
A very good start indeed!
We offloaded our luggage and went back to the restaurant.
When the food arrived, so did the owner/manager. He was trying to sell us some tours for the next morning. Very bad timing since he must have seen how exhausted we were. The dinner was nothing special either, but we didn’t expect that since we arrived late.
We went to sleep immediately after dinner, and went into a coma until next morning.
The breakfast was below average. Eggs, sausages, jam and pineapple was what was on offer.
Good view from the restaurant though.
The room (203) was small, and the bathroom was very small. I would guess that a big bloke would have difficulties maneuvering to the toilet. The electric worked, and the room had tv/fridge. The balcony in our room had no view. Lots of stairs in this hotel since it is built up a hill. You need a tuk-tuk to get to the city center.
I liked Kandy very much, but I guess you can find better options when it comes to accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sihanoukville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here as a first stop for a week long honeymoon. It could not have started off better than this. Firstly, at the cost of sounding repetitive, truly nice set of people manning this place. They are here to make a living but that does not stop them from being very warm and hospitable people. Secondly, location is average to good. It is a slight task on the return but the temple, lake and city center are all within walking distance. Thirdly, the food, oh, marvellous! True value for money.

Room Tip: I dont think any of the rooms were lacking in any manner. We checked in at an unearthly hour so we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shri_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Nice hotel in kandy near the lake, big room and separate room for kids, rooms are clean & tidy, helpful staff, good hill view from balcony, it was difficult to locate as our cab driver misunderstood as amaya hills, we reached here after few minutes of drive around Kandy, Mr jude was very helpful in getting vegetarian items (indian dosa) from another restaurant, even late at night. good place to stay recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradhumnaguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for da recommendation, please spreed ur wordddddd as Amanda Hills Kandy who ever come to Sri Lanka

All da best

Amanda team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Well the thing is that you going to stay in a basic room, 5 min. from Kandy Lake,15 min from the center of the city ,and the Tooth temple and thats what you pay for...What you dont pay is for the amazing hospitality you get and a very friendly and honest manager,,Jude... Which by the way is also ,probably the best cook ever...Next to the oldest hotel of kandy ,Sharon inn which we did read goed comments for the buffet and try,,,,but still all the other days we ate in the terrace of Amanda Hills...Amazing food , very nice breakfast,very friendly stuff...all goed..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JannikaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Thanks for da highly recommendation,

Visit us again

Best regards,

By The Amanda Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

it's a great place. Absolutly suggested. The ower is a great person, it helps for finding all the places. If you go to Kandy you can not miss Amanda Hills. Beautiful terrace and great view and stuff very very friendly. If i will go to Srilanka again i will go there for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amomangiareebere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Without pre-booking we arrived to Saranankara road in Kandy where are all the main hotels and guesthouses. Amanda Hills hotel is at the very end of the street but we chose it for it's good price and very friendly atmosphere. Since we didn't ask for A/C rooms they gave us a slight discount. The hotel is well arranged with rooms in clusters of 2 or 3 with common lounge. Rooms were not too spacious but the lounge helped. Restaurant is at the top floor with nice view across the lake on Temple of the Sacred Tooth (main Buddhist temple). Food was great with very friendly and attentive staff. Manager himself came to ask few times during our stay if everything is fine for us and was helpful to arrange transport and other things. Big bonus was laundry service. Only minus was incoherent WiFi connection.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 54 in Kandy
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#37 of 54 in Kandy
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Property: Hotel Amanda Hills
Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing