We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sweet hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

i stayed here one night with my girlfriend. although it is all the way on the hill (take a taxi or tuk tuk!), it has a gorgeous view over the temple of the tooth and perfect roof terrace. the rooms are clean, with a/c and balcony. they are pretty small, but large enough for two adults. the personel is very friendly and great breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
69
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I think everything was great . It was hard to find it in the beginning as it is hidden in between the curvy lanes up the hill, but we had a great time there. The rooms are new and clean, nice wooden furniture. The roof top restaurant had a beautiful lookout and the food was very good - from Sri Lankan food to pastas! We had some great conversations with the staff members who were very helpful. Great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vilgail_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Location is good, by the lake and slightly away from the congested town. Hotel was nice, breakfast good etc. only one negative, the staff didn't think twice about arranging tuk tuks for obscene prices, and I would avoid paying for any additional excursions or transport through the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simchig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

we had a locker , hairdryer and kettle in the room ! didnt expect that considering in sigiriya village we paid double for a night and got none of the above .

decent size rooms , a common balcony with a goo view of the mountain , nice quite and peaceful , sharon inn is right next door , ( am told it serves good food - did not visit it though ) . Not far from town .

Staff is nice and courteous , we were helped out foc with a printout , local phone call and transferring of our pics to a usb with a smile .The breakfast was good for us , eggs and pancakes , avoid the coffee try tea instead though .

Bathrooms are a tad bit small , but then one doesn't need it for long either , so guess its k . :) . wifi in the lobby , we had room 303 , so we got the signal even in the room at times :) which was good :)

Call RAVI 0770344875 ( he drives an auto ) for the most wonderful experience to travel in and around kandy, the most genuine guy I have ever met . He can be termed as a highlight of our Kandy travel

Room Tip: 303 for wifi :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is literally up in the hills, which provides great views. A little bit of a pain to get to but at the same time very quiet away from the hussle of Kandy.
Very clean room with everything that you need. A nice "living room area" before entering the room that is communal for 3 rooms of guests. Happy staff. Good breakfast with a lot of food for 1 person.
I felt very safe here and I stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

There were five people in our group and we all enjoyed our stay here thoroughly. Jude and the rest of the staff are simply amazing. Very attentive and professional. The rooms were clean, very affordable and comfortable. All the rooms are grouped in three with a common sitting area. Since we rented all three room it felt like we had our own apartment here. AC was extra but there was no need for it. The evenings were quite cool. We hung out a lot at the roof-top restaurant terrace because of the amazing views. The temple of the tooth can also be seen from the terrace and you can walk there as well in 20 minutes. It is a nice walk around the lake especially after eating too much of the great food at Amanda restaurant. Jude was also a chef so we let him decide our meals. The food was amazing. Great breakfast with very generous portions.
Overall the restaurant was great, the rooms comfortable and the view amazing. However the best part of our stay was Jude and the staff, they made this stay amazing.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GAJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The view from hotel restaurant is amazing. The restaurant was good and cheap compared to many other hotel restaurants in sri lanka. The breakfast was also the best we had in hotels in this price range and included fruits, pancakes, rice, curry, sauages, egg, toast, orange juice and tea and coffee. The rooms were fairly clean, though quite old. Also towels were old. There are also rooms with great view, though we didn't have one. We chose a room without aircon which was ok at least for one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank synyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#23 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 65 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#29 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#35 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#42 of 65 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#55 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Property: Hotel Amanda Hills
Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing