We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel! ”
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the evening and our arrival was lovely. Next morning we had a great breakfast and the manager of the hotel, mr Jude, is really really friendly! Also the other employees are very nice. The hotel is clean with a good bed and shower! We also did the tour into the Knuckles! That was awesome! I loved it here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M.W. V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the most expensive where i stayed in sri lanka and probably the worst quality/price ratio. The hotel was ok, but not for 47 euros per night (double room). The smell in the room was nod good, the sheets were not very clean and was the only hotel without mosquito net ( i did not see any mosquito). The hotel is not far from the centre, but a tuk tuk is needed. I would try to look for another hotel, but if not, this would be correct. The breakfast was quite good with nice views of the city.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Azahara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

For me it is incomprehensible why the hotel has many good reviews. This also makes tripadvisor unbelievable!
The rooms are very small, not well maintained and the cleaning is insufficient. The whole place has no atmosphere.
Breakfast is below average. One day there was not even eggs. On demand, it was only the statement given: No eggs!
All this for a room rate above 80 US !!!

Another things from the Goldbrick:
The plastic cups (!) for the coffee are moldy ...never mind the kettle does not fit into the socket anyway (needs an adapter) ...
ok, no problem, I can call the room service by phone ... oops, the phone is not connected, no cables ...
the average price for such a property is in Sri Lanka under 35 US

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Yoda_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and are very pleased with the stay.

Location: on the hillside with walking distance to Kandy city center.

Rooms: Average standard. Possible to get A/C.

Restaurant: at the top of the hotel with a nice view. We especially recommend the Sri lankan dishes and desserts. Excellent service.

Service/management: this was excellent and very unique. When we first arrived we asked the manager Jude if he could help us to find a Sri lankan cooking class in Kandy. He invited us personally in to the restaurant kitchen, and Jude and the chefs gave us a personal cooking class of Sri lankan dishes from scratch! We received the recipies and enjoyed the meal after the class and it tasted amazing! And the whole class was free of charge!! Later we wanted to see the temple of the sacred tooth, and since we had to hurry before the temple closed, Jude personally drove us to the temple so we would get there in time! Jude also provided other useful tips and trips to take during our stay in Kandy.

This hotel is all about giving 110% for the customers and provide the best service! We highly recommend the hotel!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Eline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times now. I travel to the City of Kandy on business once a year and I have found Mr Jude to be a very good host to his guest. He and his personel at the hotel are kind and courteous. The rooms have been clean and comfortable and the food has been wonderful. I will continue to stay at this hotel and that is a great recommendation.
JIm Conley
Carlsbad CA USA

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim_Conley_760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It was littile hard finding the hotel location as its a hilly are full pf hotels. But soon after we got it and it was perfect.
It overlooks the whole city but still you can enjoy some wildlife enviroment such as monkeys and birds.
The management is very helpful mainly Mr Joud who runs personally his business.
Breakfast is tasty and can be enjoyed in a well placed balkony
Try it, you will like it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shaltoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here and expected more for the price we paid. Jude, the manager is nice and friendly though we were misinformed about train ticket availability. The room had a decent view but that was about it; the tv and ac were old and barely worked and the bathroom was dirty. The included breakfast was good though. We thought there was wifi in the room but learned later found out that it was only in the common areas.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank travel4fun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 58 in Kandy
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 58 in Kandy
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 58 in Kandy
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 58 in Kandy
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
748 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#40 of 58 in Kandy
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £20 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing