We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special, not even the view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing special, not even the view”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed in Kandyan view for two nights and were quiet dissapointed. The room didnt have promised view, and wasnt clean. The hotel in quiet away from Kandy prox. 15min fron Kandy with van. The food is ok, but nothing special. WiFi is poor. The stuff is nice but their english is not so good. The breakfast is normal for Sri Lanka. Omlet, with some jem and toast.
The shining star of the hotel is their driver Lal, who we rent for two days, his english and knowledge about Sri lanka is very good, and his kindness is unbeatable. So if you need a driver to see sights around Kandy I recomment this guy.

Room Tip: The room near reception is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjasa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Really liked this hotel, a bit away from busy Kandy, in the mountains, but still only 10 min drive. Also only 10 min from the not to mis Tea Museum.
I had he super de luxe top room with own balcony and nice view. You will be nearby some telephone towers, but it is easy to ignore those. Very friendly staff and older wise brother type of manager. I liked the guy, he was relaxed and very much a "you have a problem, I solve it" type.
Also excellent curry and juices.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more (USD 45 is still reasonable in Kandy) and go for the top room with the full view on K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

It is out of the centre and can be a bit difficult for drivers to find
The view is great and they have a nice garden
I did have to get the staff to clean the room after I arrived and again when I realised that their version of cleaned was not mine - nut it got done
The supper was relatively expensive for Sri Lanka and was poor - the onions in the deviled chicken were uncooked and the sauce evidently from a bottle
Breakfast was OK

Room Tip: It has to be a room with a view otherwise there is no advantage in being here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This small hotel has an outside of the city location. It is probably 300+ meters in elevation above Kandy. It emphasizes its' city and mountain views with several room with 180 degree+ windows. My customer service experience was good, but I would have appreciated a "hotel directory" type information packet upon registering.
If you arrive in Kandy from Colombo or Negombo by bus or train, the transportation from Kandy to the hotel will cost more than your trip to Kandy. Personally, I liked the feeling of rural ambience and thought it as being well worth the inconvenience. My biggest dislike was the barking of dogs persistantly each night.

Room Tip: My room had a communications tower very close by (like 50 meters). I'd rather have had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McArtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

If you would like amazing views. This is the place but only if you pay for best room with balcony. Top floor. Wonderful. Food just ok. Lovely garden to sit in. Tuk tuk easy into kandy. Well worthwhile to be so very far out of town. downside is huge mast to side and smelly generator which comes on once in a while. Don't see mast if in the balcony room. Lovely, very helpful manager
We loved our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank deerparklodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed one night and couldn't be more pleased about the service and overall great experience. Along with the spectacular views of the city of Kandy, the great service and cleanliness of the place gave us much to reminisce about on leaving the place. The staff was quiet, yet friendly and helpful. The place wasn't hard to find at all, as there were clear directions at every few hundred meters.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe rooms on the 3rd floor if available. The view is amazing, and those rooms happen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjk_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed two nights and couldn't be happier. Clean modern facilities with stunning views of Kandy and very nice and helpful staff. The food is also quite good. The bungalow has two cars on staff and you can hire them for the day for much cheaper than taxis in town. The man at the front desk can arrange a one day package for you that includes the botanical gardens, big buddha on the hill, a tea factory, lunch stop, temple of the tooth, and cultural show. Its worth it. The package is perfect for a nice day in Kandy. We had a wonderful time and never felt rushed. And the price can't be beat. Amazing value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PtownNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.6 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 53 in Kandy
187 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
476 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#33 of 53 in Kandy
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 53 in Kandy
532 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#45 of 53 in Kandy
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#30 of 53 in Kandy
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow

Property: Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Address: No, 17, Richmond Hills, Heerassagala | Hantana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers the visitor magnificent views of the city of Kandy and the surrounding countryside, known in days gone by as the Kanda-uda-pas-rata (the five counties on the hill). Offering the visitors every modern comfort and amenity, it also allows them to experience traditional Kandyan hospitality at its best. Ideal for short stays, extended tours or even family gatherings and parties, the Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow is the perfect venue to experience the hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing