We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, nice staff, perfect sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views, nice staff, perfect sleeping”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were there for 2 nights and we like so much the place that we took one more day.
The views are astonishing, a 360º view was able to get from the hotel, net rooms and toilent, with super helpful staff serving breakfast for us even at crazy late hours.
Also the price was a great point to stay there longer, although we needed a tuk tuk and around 300 rupias to get the city from hotel, so useful get phone numer from any nice tuk tuk driver, we got a very nice one.
If I go to Kandy for sure in the same hotel.

Room Tip: Views to Kandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for a day here on nov 2013. Well managed and clean rooms. The view is good. It's quite far from town and we struggled to reach the place. Our caravan struggled a lot to reach there. Please note that it's difficult for a 13 seater and above to reach here. Staff was helpful and they served dinner in the garden.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissamudeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Based on the high TripAdvisor score, we decided to book this hotel for 3 nights in a row. Of the reviews there only three are negative, stating things like “only the view was good”. Well… although there is a nice view from the common rooms of the hotel, the view from the normal- and deluxe rooms is that of a radio tower! Only the $90 super-deluxe room offers an actual view on Kandy. After we complained about the view, the manager offered to put us in a smaller room for one night, and then a free upgrade to the super deluxe room for 2 nights. But alas, that room also had its problems: The bed was so squeaky we had to put the mattress on the floor to be able to sleep. But then the badly fixed windows also croak because of the wind. And there is a lot of wind on that hill!
There are no shops nearby, so the only source of drinking water is the bottles from the restaurant, which are sold of a whopping 120 LKR per liter... in town you get 5 liters for 170 LKR. The restaurant itself was just as poor: the menu offers what you get at every tourist place. My vegetarian girlfriend had almost nothing to choose from. So we ordered a steak and some French fries. We were the only guests, and it took them 45 minutes to prepare this! The French fries were extremely salty and the steak did not turn out to be steak at all, but was stew meat (rib area) which they had fried: it was tough as chewing gum. Later we were joined by other guests: 2 Russians and 2 Sri Lankans, who started to do a jewel-deal in the restaurant:they were smoking and drinking, and it was a bit creepy. We mentioned the disappointment in the food to the manager. As a compensation, he offered a free papaya juice (otherwise 400 rupees each). However, maybe we should have refused those, as next they both of us had stomach problems: Often kitchens mix tap water in the 'fresh' juices... we just spend 5 months in India and never had problems by sticking to the rule: cook it or peel it. The breakfast is western style: omelet, toast, butter jam, fruit, coffee/tea. It is ok, but the same every day.
The hotel is built very awkwardly, with weird unusable spaces, stairs blocking windows, etc. The decoration is poor, with mostly white walls. These walls bounce off sound, so in the rooms you can hear the noises from everything that happens in the hallways. On the upside the mattresses are comfortable and the bathroom is complete (with boiler, so warm water). The hotel is in a quiet location, although you constantly hear the hum of the Air Cons cooling the radio-tower electronics in the building next to the hotel. WiFi is there, although the reach is poor: you only get good connection from the common rooms.

Room Tip: Only the $90 super deluxe room has a good view. All others show you a radio tower or worse. Bring pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHBonarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This place is far away from Kandy city centre, and the road to get up there is in very bad conditions.
The room we had looked fine, it had a nice view on Kandy. BUT, we found four (4!) cockroaches in the bathroom. When we complained, they came and killed them with a spray (very bad smell) but told us they were full and couldn't change us the room until the following day. However, they did not offer us a new room the following day. There were also many small ants on the floor. Our room was not cleaned daily.
Also, when we asked for information about the Perhera and other events, they gave us wrong information.
Breakfast service was very slow and dinner was poor. The only positive thing is that our driver was very satisfied about his accommodation.
Good price, but definitely not good quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0b75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights, Nice view,very calm and quiet place. You will love this place if you like silence.We loved it. The Bungalow manger is very friendly. It on the top of the hill on off hantana road near a tower which can be easily identified. Though it is little far from the city the hotel can arrange a Tuk tuk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The bungalow is perched on top of a hill, so you can't actually hail down a tuk-tuk. But the hotel can arrange it for you. However it's a lil pricey cos it's quite far away. However, the hotel is very clean and has a great view of Kandy. The staff are helpful. The food is pretty good. Wifi in the room isn't that strong but fast enough in the lobby/restaurant area. The room is spacious and beds are comfy. It's peaceful as it's on the hill and cut away from the chaos of Kandy city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I checked in to this hotel on last Friday with my family and parents to spend the week end... hotel provided a triple room and a delux room for 5 of us~ The rooms were very clean and linen were in good quality.. The towels and wash rooms were very clean. We ordered traditional breakfast which was very tasty.. they also had western dishes too in the menu~
The staff was helpful.. They provided bed tea and hot water to make milk for my baby..
The garden was nicely kept.. and very nice view of the Kandy city... I even took a walk at dawn to enjoy the nature~ it was very nice calming surrounding...The birds and wild flowers to see..
The only negative point I saw was the bad road condition.

Room Tip: Check for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropical15041982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#39 of 54 in Kandy
535 reviews
1.6 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 54 in Kandy
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow

Property: Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Address: No 17 Richmond Hills, Heerassagala | Hantana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers the visitor magnificent views of the city of Kandy and the surrounding countryside, known in days gone by as the Kanda-uda-pas-rata (the five counties on the hill). Offering the visitors every modern comfort and amenity, it also allows them to experience traditional Kandyan hospitality at its best. Ideal for short stays, extended tours or even family gatherings and parties, the Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow is the perfect venue to experience the hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing