We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Baramba House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baramba House
Ranked #15 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a beautiful modern house built with passion and love. The moment you enter the garden and you see the lovely house, you feel at ease. We had the biggest bedroom and it was clean, modern, light, bright and a very convenient bathroom was attached. Barbara makes a wonderful breakfast every morning with fresh products, home made bread and jam and it tasted all delicious. One night she made us and another couple a very nice curry and lemon pie and it tasted wonderful. The swimmingpool is inviting and nice and the views from the garden and the pool are just lovely. You have the opportunity to sit in the big downstairs living room and use the kitchen at any time and you just relax. It is not in the city centre, but with a tuktuk just 10 minutes away and they will call you a driver, so very easy. Barbara arranged a driver for us to go to Sigiriya and Dambulla and it was a very pleasant day trip. Do not hesitate to stay here. You will not be dissapointed at all!!! We stayed 4 nights and loved every minute.

Room Tip: Every room looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Barambra house is just beautiful, it is an oasis in the Kandy hills. We did not want to leave! Thankyou Barbara and Sandun for the best hospitality and breakfasts. A stylish, beautiful home. We loved the privacy, the views, the peace and quiet, the pool and gardens. We stayed in some amazing places on our 16 day Sri Lanka trip but this one is very special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had an amazing stay here
Breakfast were out of this world.
Views amazing
Owners could not be more helpful
Felt like I was staying in an amazing LA mansion but with Sri Lankan hospitality
Just book it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayrila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Baramba is run by Barbara and her husband. The house is beautiful, spotlessly clean and has a great view. Barbara is a lovely lady and is the perfect hostess. Breakfast's are superb and are enough until dinner time. Barbara does not do evening meals so expect to go to Kandy for these by tri-shaw. The property can be tricky to find so make sure your driver has good instructions or Barbara number. Overall superb

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DarrenPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

You can honestly believe every review.......beautiful house up above Kandy.....everything is PERFECT...never wanted to leave...it feels like your own house.....Thanks for a wonderful 3 days.....the homemade goodies at breakfast were delicious....Do Not Miss this beautiful experience

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place was one of the highlights of our trip. The house is simply stunning, set in gorgeous landscaped gardens (with pool) with stunning views over the Mahaweli River. It’s about a 5-10min tuktuk ride into Kandy town but nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. It’s also a short walk to the botanical gardens. Barbara and her partner are the perfect hosts. Barbara’s breakfasts are absolutely delicious and differed each day we stayed there; fresh fruit, bircher muesli, aubergine curry, tomato & coconut curry, salads as well as delicious home baked breads and cakes (the cornbread and banana bread were highlights). We also chose to eat at the guesthouse one night and it was one of the best meals we had all trip (having enjoyed dinner so much the first night, we actually asked to eat there on the second night as well but alas the kitchen was closed). Make sure you check out the tens of thousands of fruit bats which fly over the property between 6.15pm and 6.30pm each evening (migrating from the botanical gardens over the hill for the night, they come back around 5am if you are up early). This place is worth all the praise given to it on here! On top of everything, it is fantastic value. Thank you Barbara for such a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Although this is listed as a bed/breakfast accommodation or specialty housing, it really doesn't fall into that category. It was more like renting your own house up in the hills of Kandy. A definite 5 star accommodation away from the noise of Kandy, Barbara and her partner have done a magnificent job here. The owners live on the top level of a palatial home, and the 3 rooms for boarders are downstairs. There is a living room with really great music, and a kitchen for guest use. The breakfasts were the best we had in all of Sri Lanka - fresh baked bread, muffins. It was sheer delight. It has a phenomenal pool, and a gorgeous garden area. The rooms are clean, and towels are changed daily. All rooms face outward toward the hills. Make sure you pay attention to Barbara's detailed directions regarding how to get there. It's on a steep incline, and I personally would be reticent to travel up and down on it in a tuk tuk. We traveled by car. Truthfully, you will have to force yourself in the morning to leave to and go sight seeing!! Would I go back, in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We had a larger room than our friends but I can't recall the room number or even if it had a num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldtc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
3 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
599 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
3.5 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 58 in Kandy
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 470 in Kandy
320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vista House
Vista House
#20 of 470 in Kandy
65 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 470 in Kandy
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baramba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baramba House

Address: No 22 Upul Mawatha | Primrose Hill, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £61 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seductively embraced by a magic hillside setting. The charming Mahaweli view house is waiting for you to fill it with life. Baramba House is home to three double rooms with spacious en-suite bathrooms. A separate dining/living area and a quiet pool complement your visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing