We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a nice place to stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sunrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sunrich
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not a nice place to stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I do not recommend this hotel. It is in a bad location and is impossible to find.
The hotel itself is very run-down.
The decor is terrible and so is the food. The pool area looks dreadful.
It has received a lot of 5 star reviews but if you look at them closely you will see that they are not credible.

Room Tip: avoid - do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MaryDunlaoghaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

everythin was excellent over that hotel. Even the have got Family Rooms.
Good food.
Comfortable rooms.
Good location.
the hotel was very near to the Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage.
Next time who every visit kandy, i will recommend hotel sunrich for sure.

Room Tip: Deluxe Family Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Manager at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

we stayed there for a week. we had a good service. the staff was friendly. the food was really nice. specially the chinese dishes.

Room Tip: ask for Luxury Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddiks d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were disappointed with with the location, the view, the prices, the cleanliness and most of all the hotel operated rip-off taxis!

This hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere 12.5 meters from Kandy, in the least scenic part of the city.
The view from every part of this hotel is an eye-sore, we were told our room would have a nice view onto the pool and the hotel garden. The pool was surrounded by a large wall of mismatched iron and there really was no garden. Please take a look at pictures.  The prices are too high with service charges and taxes added at check out.

The bed canopy and mosquito nets were filthy.

We were reliant on the hotel for transport and got ripped-off several times.
The cars were dirty and had no seat belts. The drivers could not speak english and often got lost. 

My boyfriend made the mistake of selecting this hotel based on its trip advisor status. If you look closely at the previous comments, you will see that most are new members with just one review and some have bad english....

Room Tip: You can find better quality cheaper hotels closer to Kandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear SIr,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. And i am sorry for the mistakes we had made regarding the transportation. As you said our hotel is situated 10 km away from kandy, and we have clearly mentioned it in our websites and even in the google map. Your comments are very important for our future
success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

the service was really good.me and my family enjoyed a lot.the best place for a family to spend the holiday.affordable price for all facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasunil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel located to a nice place in kandy, easy access to everything, view is brilliant , i went with my kids and my mum, and it was a fantactic place for a family holiday, they also have a great wedding hall and a swimming pool. Their food was one of the best i have ever tasted in Srilanka, specilly the Chinese food, you will never get such a tasty food. They have multi cuisine restaurants, they have all Srilankan, Chines, English and Italian food which is great, they have also have the Bar and satallite TV This hotel is closer to all the attaractions in Kandy. The staff was really friendly and always have a lovely smile in their faces, they are very helpfull, The owner of the hotel , Mr. Upali he is a very helpful gentlymen, and he will go out of the way to look after his guests , thank you Mr. upali. I will defenetely go back when i go to Srilanka and its really good for the money that we spent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10DASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Sir,
Your reviews and comments are very important for our success inoder to go forward without making maistakes. And also thank you for appreciating our hotel. Visit hotel Sunrich once again.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferney, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The rooms were very clean with clean attached toilets with AC, mosquito net, hot showers! The Sri Lankan meals were absolutely authentic and superb. Our children and our invited friends enjoyed the swimming pool, food and music. We did not feel we were in a hotel. The beautiful decorations and friendly hospitality of the staff reminds you feels like at home.Highly recommended. Ranajeewa family from Switzerland

Room Tip: The rooms were very clean with clean attached toilets with AC, mosquito net, hot showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
6.7 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#30 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
8.6 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delma Mount View Hotel
Delma Mount View Hotel
#47 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunrich

Property: Hotel Sunrich
Address: 260/4 Hedeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunrich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 minutes drive away from Kandy City. Hotel Sunrich offers Double, Triple and Family Rooms with A/C Rooms with Satellite TV, Free WIFI, Mini Bar, Hot Water, Balcony, etc. Hotel features an outdoor Pool, Banquet Halls, Restaurant & Bar. Excruisions around: Temple of the Tooth Relic, Botanical Gardens, Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage, Riverston Mounts, Historical city of Dambulla and Sigiriya. Hotel Restaurant serves a variety of Local and Foreign dishes. Transportation facilities ; Airport Pick ups, Tour Guiding, Sightseeing Tours etc. Are served upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing