We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to spend the vacation........!!!”
Review of Hotel Sunrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sunrich
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice place to spend the vacation........!!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

hotel sunrich was an excellent place which i have ever seen in the hill country of Sri Lanka....the place was very nice and calm,the food was very good and we really enjoyed staying there......

Room Tip: ask for Luxury room..........!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    8
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My stay in hotel sunrich was just beyond good, its excellent. I loved to stay there because it was very convenient to visit many important places like, pinnawala elephant orphange, temple of tooth relic. The staff was very friendly too.

Room Tip: second floor, rooms near the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Comparing with my previous experiences this place was really good! It had a pleasant environment, and the services provided was really good.
The rooms were clean and lovely!

I highly recommend this place and thanks again for providing me a good service

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isabel10t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I do not recommend this hotel. It is in a bad location and is impossible to find.
The hotel itself is very run-down.
The decor is terrible and so is the food. The pool area looks dreadful.
It has received a lot of 5 star reviews but if you look at them closely you will see that they are not credible.

Room Tip: avoid - do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MaryDunlaoghaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

everythin was excellent over that hotel. Even the have got Family Rooms.
Good food.
Comfortable rooms.
Good location.
the hotel was very near to the Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage.
Next time who every visit kandy, i will recommend hotel sunrich for sure.

Room Tip: Deluxe Family Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Manager at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

we stayed there for a week. we had a good service. the staff was friendly. the food was really nice. specially the chinese dishes.

Room Tip: ask for Luxury Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddiks d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were disappointed with with the location, the view, the prices, the cleanliness and most of all the hotel operated rip-off taxis!

This hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere 12.5 meters from Kandy, in the least scenic part of the city.
The view from every part of this hotel is an eye-sore, we were told our room would have a nice view onto the pool and the hotel garden. The pool was surrounded by a large wall of mismatched iron and there really was no garden. Please take a look at pictures.  The prices are too high with service charges and taxes added at check out.

The bed canopy and mosquito nets were filthy.

We were reliant on the hotel for transport and got ripped-off several times.
The cars were dirty and had no seat belts. The drivers could not speak english and often got lost. 

My boyfriend made the mistake of selecting this hotel based on its trip advisor status. If you look closely at the previous comments, you will see that most are new members with just one review and some have bad english....

Room Tip: You can find better quality cheaper hotels closer to Kandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear SIr,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. And i am sorry for the mistakes we had made regarding the transportation. As you said our hotel is situated 10 km away from kandy, and we have clearly mentioned it in our websites and even in the google map. Your comments are very important for our future
success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Delma Mount View Hotel
Delma Mount View Hotel
#48 of 54 in Kandy
13 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
7.0 mi away
Melheim Kandy Hotel
Melheim Kandy Hotel
#39 of 54 in Kandy
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
299 reviews
6.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#38 of 54 in Kandy
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunrich

Property: Hotel Sunrich
Address: 260 / 4 Hedeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunrich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 minutes drive away from Kandy City. Hotel Sunrich offers double, triple and family rooms with A/C rooms with Satellite TV, free WIFI, mini bar, hot water, balcony, etc. Hotel features an outdoor pool, banquet halls, restaurant & bar. Excursions around: Temple of the Tooth Relic, Botanical Gardens, Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage, Riverston Mounts, historical city of Dambulla and Sigiriya. Hotel restaurant serves a variety of local and foreign dishes. Transportation facilities: airport pick ups, tour guiding, sightseeing tours, etc. are served upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing