We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful”
Review of Hotel Sunrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sunrich
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Toronto
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Be Careful”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had booked a room via e-mail. They assured us of air conditioning. When we arrived, we tested the a/c and it was not working in the room they showed us, so it was on to approx. 5 other rooms and of course, no a/c. Additionally, the hallways did not appear to be clean. They were horrible to us when we said we could not take the room. Also: beware. There is an outside dining room and television on the upper floor and I can only imagine that it gets noisy in the evenings. We did not stay here. They were not upfront with us. Had a bad feeling about the place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary_TO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Manager at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly appreciate your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    8
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel is located about10-12 km drive from the main Kandy city. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and took personal care of each need however small. I went on my honeymoon and they decorated the room with flowers and arranged for dinner just outside my room on the third floor - really appreciated the gesture. The swimming pool was alright though it needed some cleaning. Breakfast was served promptly on time and the taste was delicious. On the flip side, there is a public bar (owned by the hotel) at the entrance. I didn't face any issues though it could be a spot of bother for some.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aswin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly appreciate your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here during our visit to Kandy area. This hotel is 10-12 Kms from the center of the Kandy. We had a Cab with a driver all-through our visit to Sri Lanka so the distance from the center was not an issue for us. The hotel has friendly and helpful staff that gave us a list of most visit spots in Kandy. The room sizes were good with air conditioning and hot water. Breakfast in the morning was great. One night we ordered room-service from the Chinese restaurant on the property and the egg noodles and chicken friend rice were good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaTacMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

hotel sunrich was an excellent place which i have ever seen in the hill country of Sri Lanka....the place was very nice and calm,the food was very good and we really enjoyed staying there......

Room Tip: ask for Luxury room..........!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My stay in hotel sunrich was just beyond good, its excellent. I loved to stay there because it was very convenient to visit many important places like, pinnawala elephant orphange, temple of tooth relic. The staff was very friendly too.

Room Tip: second floor, rooms near the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Comparing with my previous experiences this place was really good! It had a pleasant environment, and the services provided was really good.
The rooms were clean and lovely!

I highly recommend this place and thanks again for providing me a good service

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isabel10t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I do not recommend this hotel. It is in a bad location and is impossible to find.
The hotel itself is very run-down.
The decor is terrible and so is the food. The pool area looks dreadful.
It has received a lot of 5 star reviews but if you look at them closely you will see that they are not credible.

Room Tip: avoid - do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MaryDunlaoghaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSunrich, Owner at Hotel Sunrich, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Sir,
We highly apreciated your reviews and comments, in order to go forward without mistakes and with a good service. Your comments are very important for our future success.

Thank you,
Hotel Sunrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Delma Mount View Hotel
Delma Mount View Hotel
#48 of 54 in Kandy
13 reviews
7.0 mi away
Melheim Kandy Hotel
Melheim Kandy Hotel
#39 of 54 in Kandy
33 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
6.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#45 of 54 in Kandy
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunrich

Property: Hotel Sunrich
Address: 260 / 4 Hedeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunrich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 minutes drive away from Kandy City. Hotel Sunrich offers double, triple and family rooms with A/C rooms with Satellite TV, free WIFI, mini bar, hot water, balcony, etc. Hotel features an outdoor pool, banquet halls, restaurant & bar. Excursions around: Temple of the Tooth Relic, Botanical Gardens, Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage, Riverston Mounts, historical city of Dambulla and Sigiriya. Hotel restaurant serves a variety of local and foreign dishes. Transportation facilities: airport pick ups, tour guiding, sightseeing tours, etc. are served upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing