We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel
Ranked #88 of 380 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at hotel with my friends during my visit to Sri Lanka. Its a very simple hotel in a very quiet location. We had a small stream flowing behind the hotel and waking up listening to the sound of flowing water is a beautiful experience. The owner is an Indian and on our request prepared Indian Breakfast for us -- poori sabji, Idli - sambhar. The taste of both the dishes was really good. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a nice stay with awesome hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back side where you can hear water flowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VikrantChaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

I cannot recommend Oak Wood Inn highly enough! Our hosts Mohan and Lakshmi made our stay in Kandy very easy and enjoyable. Mohan made sure we were able to get train tickets for our onward journey, arranged transport to Sigiriya at short notice. The family shared their New Years celebrations with us, fed us cake and the traditional New Years breakfast. The impression I am left with is of a lovely family who go out of their way to help their guests enjoy Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Pink room is quiet and overlooks a waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Here is the good news and bad news of this review. First the good news... there isn't any so that doesn't take long.

The bad news....

It's in a charmless area where dogs bark all night long making attempt at sleep completely futile, no one knows where it is also making it even more frustrating.

The rooms are where the 'fun' really begins. We were in the 'Maroon Room' if you see the website you will see a lot's of all the in room services listed, such as TV, hairdryer, safe, coffee and tea making. What we really had was like an episode of 'when builders go bad' bathroom falling apart (have some great pics) shower hanging off the wall plugs hanging off the wall.Also it was filthy. the owner, although apologetic, accomadating as he could be and a very nice man, really needs to step up his game if he wants to be successful as it's like Sri Lankan Faulty Towers.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here recommended by Nilendra (Monks & Monkeys); The owner Mohan and his wife are a very nice couple. Sri Lanka known for the "island of smiling people"...Mohan and Lakshmi are exactly like that. Last evening, their daughter Tharani was kind to make us (my 12 yr old daughter and I) some henna on our hands:) And I wanted to find a reasonable shop of panjabis (Senani is so expensive!), Lakshami is the right person to guide you to the right place. Plus, she cooks so well: the Biryani and spaguetti were so delicious!! Thanks. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms upstairs. Very comfortable. View on the little river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our desire this month is to see Sri Lanka as the people see it. We want to eat and drink and experience Sri Lanka in its natural form. The family at Oak Wood went out of their way to enable us to enjoy their homely hotel, and worked from early morning to end of day to attend to every wish we voiced. We asked what a fruit was on a tree across the waterfall (jackfruit) we had not tasted it, by the morning it was on our breakfast table for us to try. No request was too much to provide. Let no man say these lovely people are not committed to the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Being coming from the hospitality industry , I along with my family decided to stay in this property after one of our friend recommended.
The ambience is nice and the look of the hotel from out side is very accommodating.
The rooms are ample accommodating but the linens are terrible, its white in color but it seems that it has been never changed. we need to tell twice to get the linen changed.
The bathrooms are spacious but awful and was stinking. It seems that they never cleaned it since the last guest checked out from that room.
TV never worked till we were staying.
Wi-Fi which is very important - not working.
Food- though its seems to be family owned business- you wont be surprised to hear that they don't have things you order
Food is OK sought but the charges are sky rocketing. The same price we payed in Cinnamon grand Colombo for four people. It was entire disaster paying such a hefty bill for not worth.
Overall it was an experience and we will recommend others not to stay in this property. After reading this still they would like to stay than we wish them a good luck.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The service in the hotel was very good, people do their very best to make you as much as comfortable! clean rooms and I never had such a good curry! The hotel is near a couple of interesting things in Kandy town like the dancing show, temple of tooth.

Room Tip: Upstairs less noicy from the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 57 in Kandy
1,355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel

Address: No 321 George E.de. Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 380 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £23 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing