We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oak wood inn ,owner Mr.Mohan and My tour operator Deva( contact number: 776779916)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel
Ranked #76 of 352 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Oak wood inn ,owner Mr.Mohan and My tour operator Deva( contact number: 776779916)”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Oak wood inn is one of the good hotels in Kandy.It gives a homely atmosphere.It also gives us homely food.The hotel is situated in a natural scenic background with waterfalls at the back.My tour operator was Deva.Excellent person,very helpful,guided me to all places in Kandy and Colombo in my trip to Sri Lanka.Sri Lanka ...,, super place to tour.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Brahadeesh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
20
23
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munka Ljungby, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We can really recommend Oakwoodinn Hotel. A very calm place near the city of Kandy. Nice room with air-cond, clean and confortable. The food was exellent and the service were perfect.
The family were kindly and helpfully.

Anita and Kaj from Sweden

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaj E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starse, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were very satisfied with this hotel. Family room is very nice and clean with hot water and european electricity plug. The family that runs the hotel is really kind and helpful. The owner even ,took us in the town for free. Ali that is described about the hotel is true. We recomende it very much.

Room Tip: We recomende family room for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank premzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at hotel with my friends during my visit to Sri Lanka. Its a very simple hotel in a very quiet location. We had a small stream flowing behind the hotel and waking up listening to the sound of flowing water is a beautiful experience. The owner is an Indian and on our request prepared Indian Breakfast for us -- poori sabji, Idli - sambhar. The taste of both the dishes was really good. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a nice stay with awesome hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back side where you can hear water flowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VikrantChaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I cannot recommend Oak Wood Inn highly enough! Our hosts Mohan and Lakshmi made our stay in Kandy very easy and enjoyable. Mohan made sure we were able to get train tickets for our onward journey, arranged transport to Sigiriya at short notice. The family shared their New Years celebrations with us, fed us cake and the traditional New Years breakfast. The impression I am left with is of a lovely family who go out of their way to help their guests enjoy Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Pink room is quiet and overlooks a waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Here is the good news and bad news of this review. First the good news... there isn't any so that doesn't take long.

The bad news....

It's in a charmless area where dogs bark all night long making attempt at sleep completely futile, no one knows where it is also making it even more frustrating.

The rooms are where the 'fun' really begins. We were in the 'Maroon Room' if you see the website you will see a lot's of all the in room services listed, such as TV, hairdryer, safe, coffee and tea making. What we really had was like an episode of 'when builders go bad' bathroom falling apart (have some great pics) shower hanging off the wall plugs hanging off the wall.Also it was filthy. the owner, although apologetic, accomadating as he could be and a very nice man, really needs to step up his game if he wants to be successful as it's like Sri Lankan Faulty Towers.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here recommended by Nilendra (Monks & Monkeys); The owner Mohan and his wife are a very nice couple. Sri Lanka known for the "island of smiling people"...Mohan and Lakshmi are exactly like that. Last evening, their daughter Tharani was kind to make us (my 12 yr old daughter and I) some henna on our hands:) And I wanted to find a reasonable shop of panjabis (Senani is so expensive!), Lakshami is the right person to guide you to the right place. Plus, she cooks so well: the Biryani and spaguetti were so delicious!! Thanks. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms upstairs. Very comfortable. View on the little river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
2.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#40 of 55 in Kandy
539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.6 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 55 in Kandy
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel

Property: Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel
Address: No 321 George E.de. Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 352 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing