We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent home cooked meals and wonderful and thoughtful host.”
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent home cooked meals and wonderful and thoughtful host.”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa 49 based on the wonderful reviews and we were very happy with the stay. The rooms are huge and clean and the decor was welcoming and tasteful designs. We loved the Sri Lankan dinner our host Shenani prepared and you can tell she takes really good care of her guests. She was helpful in giving tips on where to go around Kandy. She also helped us arrange a driver to go to the tea plantations. Villa 49 is a must stay if visiting kandy. You'll get fantastic meals and very nice rooms to stay in. All the staff were very friendly. Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    99
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
52
210
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Villa 49 can take a bit of finding but is well worth the effort. The rooms are large and comfortable with the most quiet AC, I have ever come across. The en suite bath room, though rather small had everything that one requires with an efficient shower & abundant hot water.The dining area was comfortable and homely and the home cooked meals offered a wide range of excellent Sri Lankan dishes as well as some western food. The fresh fruit supplied with the breakfast was much appreciated. The owner was charming & friendly and was never short of time to give advice about Kandy or to share her recipes with the curious. A very relaxing stay of 2 nights for my wife & I.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_davies583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was not quite as stylised as the pictures on TA suggest [maybe slightly tired?] but it was comfortable and the dining area was tastefully decorated and homely. We had dinner at Villa 49 on our first night which was very tasty. The owner, Shanani takes great care with the cooking and was really welcoming [she makes best coconut brownies!]. The location is very good, we could walk to the lake in under 5 mins which was really great as it means you can explore Kandy under your own steam … walk up to the huge white Buddha on the hill overlooking the lake for amazing views and go to Helga’s Folly for dinner if you can as it is magical!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJFF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Villa 49 is a wonderful place to to stay in Kandy. It was an insight into a beautiful Sri Lankan home run by its very gracious owner. The level of detail in the room and the exceptional quality of the vegetarian cuisine was really appreciated by my husband and I. The location is close to the Tooth Temple site.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

As a family of four, Villa 49 was ideal; close to all the places we wanted to visit in Kandy as well as clean, spacious, peaceful and really great value. Shenani couldn't have been helpful and kind. Not only did she find us a fantastic driver to take us out of the city for a day, she helped us obtain tickets to the fantastic dance show by the lake and also suggested some fantastic places to eat. And her breakfasts were delicious - lovely homemade jams, eggs and traditional Sri Lankan dishes to try. All in all, a really perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRMSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Where to start!! Everything was fabulous.
Perfectly clean rooms, spacious, balconies overlooking lush green mountains. The beds were soo comfy and there were mosquito nets just in case.
The location is the best it could be! 15 minutes walk to town and about 5 minutes to the lake. But at night the rooms are dead silent.
You wouldn't want to stay in the middle of kandy town as there is nothing there. This place is 10-15 minutes walk to the best restaurants (slightly chilled).
Ohh and the breakfast was delicious!! Different every day!! Shenani the hostess serves her homemade jams!!! And wow they are amazing... Passion fruit and banana, soursop!! Different varieties of eggs, homemade rotti (like a bagel), toast, fruits and fresh brewed tea and coffe sourced locally!!
The perfect hostess, she genuinely loves what she does even bringing my boyfriend and I brownies and ice cream to our room after dinner :):):)
Could not fault this place if I tried!! Absolutely fabulous!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 018Simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Our stay at Villa 49 was one of the highlights of our month-long trip in Sri Lanka. Convenient location, quiet, charming,comfortable and clean. Shanani is a warm hostess,with attention to detail and commitment to comfort of her guests. Her staff is the same way. The guest rooms are located in a wing of her family home. We had the newest room on the top floor, which opened to a large roof top deck with beautiful views. The food is excellent. After the first night, we ate all of our breakfasts and dinners at the Villa. Shanani has taught her cook her family rice and curry recipes. They were the best meals we had on our trip. The jams are all homemade. The staff let me hang out in the kitchen one evening so I could watch the food prep. My mouth is watering thinking about the food! We extended our stay for an additional day. There is a new room for drivers which looks nicer than others we had seen. We had wonderful conversations with Shanani, and if we were to go back, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We left Kandy feeling like we had made new friends with both Shanani and the staff. A real gem, and we feel so fortunate to have found it.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be nice and spacious. We liked the top floor with easy deck access and great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXchickgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 54 in Kandy
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Property: Villa 49
Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing