We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to stay in kandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 288 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good place to stay in kandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed two nights in Kandy
The room was comfortably and clean, the a/c worked well
It is close to the city so we were able come and rest and go out again
From train station u has to take a ‘toktok’
The owner was very friendly and helpful
We booked a show in city and enjoyed it
WI fi worked well only in the dining room

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yossi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    98
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
210
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Let me start by saying that I have been to over 70 countries, so I am a bit critical of places.
Arriving at this place I was a bit worried - there's no signage and you have to ring a bell at the front gate to get let in. I was led into what looked like the family kitchen. After writing down my details I was taken to my room, which was at the top of 4 flights of stairs. But then I opened the door to the room and 'wow'! The room was clean, well decorated and massive. The bathroom was spotless. And there was a huge balcony which meant it was the only room up there.
After collecting my boyfriend from the train station (I had been volunteering in Kandy for 3 weeks), I learnt there was a side entrance which made it easier to come and go. The location was perfect, just off the main road near the lake which meant it was quite, but easy to get places.
The next morning we were served breakfast very promptly. The coffee left a little to be desired, but I dont think you'll find good coffee anywhere in Kandy. The owner was very friendly and helpful. She makes her own jams, one being from sour-sop (which I had heard of, but wasnt game to try until now),
If I ever go back to Kandy, this is the place I'll be staying

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingirl153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed there only for one night but is was one of the best places in Sri Lanka. The atmosphere was welcoming and rooms comfortable and homely. The décor of the room and other areas were warm, stylish and with nice and tasteful furniture, decorations and photos. The hot water and AC were in the room, the room was very clean.
We ate there the best breakfast in Sri Lanka, real Sri Lankan breakfast, but also eggs, toasts, and delicious home-made confiture. The host and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
A vey positive experience. We wish we could stayed longer in Villa 49.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Confess that I felt like home, when I arrived Hotel 49, Kandy Sri Lanka. With warm hospitality, we enjoy the sincerity service from staffs. Don't forget to try vegetarian Sri Lanka dinner. It is romantics under the candle. I learn how to have dinner here. Sri Lanka food is served with varieties of small dishes like Korean food. Before having, you must take a little bit of foods surround your rice like planet around the Sun. Then you take a littler and mixed with rice and take it. Your dish becomes harmonious and healthy. if you take separately, the taste may extreme.

Don't expect TV, we come here to enjoy peaceful atmosphere. But the wifi signal is powerful.

I love to be here.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Settawat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Reservation: made my reservation through booking.com price is similar if email guesthouse directly. Usd50 + 10% service charge.
Reception: room wasnt ready as I arrived before noon. Host served tea and suggest leaving my luaggage and explore the city which I did.
Room: I was put at the room on the 2nd floor on the main building. New block with balcony looks very nice but I did not have a chance to see the inside. My room is very clean, with aircon and provided towels. Window with a view but no balcony nor TV( if you expect them) Owner stays next to my room and she makes sure I was attend to whenever I open my door. Very attentive! Free Wifi is strong throughout my stay
Location : abt 20-30mins walk to kandy railway station but suggest you to take 3 wheeler if taking train. Else you can leisurely stroll by the lake to tooth relic temple or catch a cultural dance show where both are abt 15-20mins mins walk from guesthouse.
Meals : asked for a Sri lankan breakfast prior night. Was just ok compared to those I had. Did not have dinner here.
Overall : comfortable stay here although I think price is slightly expensive

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank radical_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa 49 based on the wonderful reviews and we were very happy with the stay. The rooms are huge and clean and the decor was welcoming and tasteful designs. We loved the Sri Lankan dinner our host Shenani prepared and you can tell she takes really good care of her guests. She was helpful in giving tips on where to go around Kandy. She also helped us arrange a driver to go to the tea plantations. Villa 49 is a must stay if visiting kandy. You'll get fantastic meals and very nice rooms to stay in. All the staff were very friendly. Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Villa 49 can take a bit of finding but is well worth the effort. The rooms are large and comfortable with the most quiet AC, I have ever come across. The en suite bath room, though rather small had everything that one requires with an efficient shower & abundant hot water.The dining area was comfortable and homely and the home cooked meals offered a wide range of excellent Sri Lankan dishes as well as some western food. The fresh fruit supplied with the breakfast was much appreciated. The owner was charming & friendly and was never short of time to give advice about Kandy or to share her recipes with the curious. A very relaxing stay of 2 nights for my wife & I.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_davies583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Property: Villa 49
Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 288 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing