We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
272
115
25
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
115
25
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams top floor the owner sri lanka minute walk tuk tuk lady who runs roof terrace vegetable curries amazing home kandy lake walking distance dhal train station breakfast was delicious the sacred tooth relic guest house
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse in Kandy for two nights and we have enjoyed very much our stay there. The rooms are clean and spacious, with A/C and fan. The guesthouse is quite close to the lake and the Temple of the Tooth Relic. The owner of the guesthouse is very friendly, cares a lot about the guests' comfort and helpful, giving tips for visiting Kandy. The breakfast is delicious, and we enjoyed a lot the homemade jam!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chentou93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We booked last minute and chose it because of the location, near town and short-walk to the Tooth Temple. Wonderful staff, very helpful. We had dinner there too and the Sri Lankan food is fabulous - try the spicy breakfast!

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a relatively new property very close to the Lake and a moderate walk to the Temple of the Tooth. It also offers driver accommodation but our driver said he was not offered any food. We were on the second floor of the house and had a very large room with a triple aspect - looking out to the next street and over the backs of other houses. There are a lot of monkeys in the area so we didn't venture out onto our balcony which was a pity. We had tea and coffee making facilties in the room and a small fridge. The lady who runs the bookings is very friendly and helpful - arranged parking for our driver so we didn't have to leave the car at the station but I do recommend you request this as it is limited. I am unsure if alcohol was encouraged at the Villa but there is a hotel about 20 yards away and the staff gave us a key to the gate to get back in - although we weren't long and everyone was still up. Breakfast the next day was lovely. All in all, quite a good stay and I would most definitely recommend it to other people.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrabbleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were a little skeptical about our stay at Villa 49 based on the photos we had seen but the property is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. We stayed in May during the off season and the Villa was quiet. We enjoyed multiple evenings on the roof-top deck and found the location to be an easy walk to town. The owner was very pleasant and we enjoyed our meal at the property. Definitely recommend this as a nice place to stay!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyerergj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

A wonderful place to stay during your visit to Kandy and the surrounding area. The property is located within a 5 minute walk to the lake and about 10 -15 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth Relic which is one of the main attractions in Kandy. The owner (Shanani) and her team are charming and offer excellent customer service to all the guests. The food - both breakfast and the evening meal are truly authentic Sri Lankan and I would recommend any guest to book the half board offer. I cannot say how much I enjoyed the food and the relaxed atmosphere. In essence I would say "Stay at this property if you go to Kandy

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SifnosNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews