We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guesthouse in great location”
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean guesthouse with a welcoming owner then Villa 49 is for you. We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The location of the villa is great, walking distance to the Tooth Relic Temple and into Kandy town. The room was big and basic, very clean and adequate. The breakfast was served each morning by smiling staff and was plentiful. We had a home cooked dinner on our second night and it was probably the best Sri Lankan meal of our trip, it was an authentic home cooked 3 course meal with different dishes of sauces and curries. Very yummy! The owner Shenanigans was lovely, very friendly and accommodating. Her home are jam and meals are wonderful. Villa 49 was a great little place to stay in Kandy and we would highly recommend it if you want a smaller, more personal place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse in Kandy for two nights and we have enjoyed very much our stay there. The rooms are clean and spacious, with A/C and fan. The guesthouse is quite close to the lake and the Temple of the Tooth Relic. The owner of the guesthouse is very friendly, cares a lot about the guests' comfort and helpful, giving tips for visiting Kandy. The breakfast is delicious, and we enjoyed a lot the homemade jam!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chentou93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We booked last minute and chose it because of the location, near town and short-walk to the Tooth Temple. Wonderful staff, very helpful. We had dinner there too and the Sri Lankan food is fabulous - try the spicy breakfast!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a relatively new property very close to the Lake and a moderate walk to the Temple of the Tooth. It also offers driver accommodation but our driver said he was not offered any food. We were on the second floor of the house and had a very large room with a triple aspect - looking out to the next street and over the backs of other houses. There are a lot of monkeys in the area so we didn't venture out onto our balcony which was a pity. We had tea and coffee making facilties in the room and a small fridge. The lady who runs the bookings is very friendly and helpful - arranged parking for our driver so we didn't have to leave the car at the station but I do recommend you request this as it is limited. I am unsure if alcohol was encouraged at the Villa but there is a hotel about 20 yards away and the staff gave us a key to the gate to get back in - although we weren't long and everyone was still up. Breakfast the next day was lovely. All in all, quite a good stay and I would most definitely recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrabbleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were a little skeptical about our stay at Villa 49 based on the photos we had seen but the property is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. We stayed in May during the off season and the Villa was quiet. We enjoyed multiple evenings on the roof-top deck and found the location to be an easy walk to town. The owner was very pleasant and we enjoyed our meal at the property. Definitely recommend this as a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyerergj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

A wonderful place to stay during your visit to Kandy and the surrounding area. The property is located within a 5 minute walk to the lake and about 10 -15 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth Relic which is one of the main attractions in Kandy. The owner (Shanani) and her team are charming and offer excellent customer service to all the guests. The food - both breakfast and the evening meal are truly authentic Sri Lankan and I would recommend any guest to book the half board offer. I cannot say how much I enjoyed the food and the relaxed atmosphere. In essence I would say "Stay at this property if you go to Kandy

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SifnosNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My family and I, with four children aged thirteen and under stayed at Villa 49 for one night. This was the perfect place for us to stay and explore the city, since it was walking distance to some of the major attractions. Every attempt was made to make our stay a pleasant one, and the rooms (rooms 6 and 7) were presented to our very needs, taking into consideration that we had an 18 month old toddler with us, and cleanliness and hygiene were important to us. For the price we paid, and the quality of rooms that were presented, Villa 49 was great value.

Thanks Shanani and staff for your great service and attention to detail. I will have no hesitation in recommending your place to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uppady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#15 of 58 in Kandy
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
878 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
747 reviews
2 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £49 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-MIN STAY IS 7 DAYS - Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing