We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 357 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. The rooms and location are superb and just what you're looking for after the beautiful train journey from Colombo (a must do!). The best thing about the hotel was the owner, who was on hand for everything and anything. No request was too much...even allowing us to use the hotel's tv until the early hours of the morning to watch football.

One important point to mention is the fabulous traditional meal that she cooked us. This can be requested and is a culinary delight.

Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben2397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Villa 49
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during a 10 day Sri Lanka visit. I would recommend it to anyone. In a country of friendly people, the owner surpassed them all. If there is a friendlier and more helpful host, I would be very surprised. Nothing was too much trouble. You can have dinner and breakfast whenever suits. Strangely, Kandy lacks eating places providing genuine Sri Lankan food so it was great to find that the Villa serves exactly that, and to whatever spice level you desire. And for the princely sum of 1200 rupees.

Transport can be arranged through the villa. We sorted out our own for 2 days which in retrospect was a mistake. The owner has high standards and this is reflected also in the drivers she recommends.

The location is perfect. Far enough from town to be peaceful but only a 15minute walk to the centre of Kandy, or 5 mins in a tuk tuk which are plentiful on the road which is 1 minute from the Villa. We had emailed the owner prior to our visit and she provided detailed instructions of how to find the place but local tuk tuks and taxis will know where it is.

All in all, great value and highly recommended. Just remember though it is a guesthouse and not a hotel.



Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our best accommodation in Sri Lanka in terms of location, space, modern amenities, and peace amidst the city buzz of Kandy, probably because it was located in the suburbs so not so touristy but close enough to the city.

We liked the balcony where we could partially watch kids playing soccer, the private rooftop, tv channels, air con, free wifi, location (15 minutes stroll to the tooth relic temple), breakfast, the quality work of the rooms (good finish), clean rooms and dining area, comfortable beds, balcony chairs were very relaxing, homemade jams, and the friendliness of their staff.

We didn't get told about the gate being locked at night when we returned after midnight but it was no problem as we found the doorbell. Good to know some security was in place.

All in all a nice quiet guesthouse with modern facilities, not always easy to find in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Everyone working at the guesthouse was friendly, helpful and accommodating. Perhaps slightly over market value for Sri Lanka Rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely designed and the food delicious. Location good near lake and short walk or tuktuk ride into town. Staying on the top floor if there are other members out on the shared balcony area you can hear them but we were able to have breakfast on there to ourselves as well, so pros/cons.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank IndianaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our first stop on a 2 week tour around the island. As others have said, it is well located just off the lake about 15 minutes walk from the town centre. The hotel was difficult to find in the first place and there was no external signage whatsoever. Once we had found it though everything else was very positive.

The room was very large, well equipped and clean. It also had a private door onto the huge roof terrace which was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a pot of tea in the early evening. The bathroom was adequate (perhaps not as spotless as the rest of the room though).

The food was all freshly prepared, reasonably priced and of a good standard - although there was no choice at all.

The staff, and in particular the owner, were all very friendly, professional and helpful.

Room Tip: The deluxe room on the top floor benefits from a huge, panoramic roof terrace. Although this is open...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The guesthouse is a family run , neat and friendly place. The best thing about the place is the location it's very near the lake about 10 minutes walk and just that much far to be away for the hustle bustle with a great view. The rooms are very spacious and well equipped.the restrooms a little small for comfort but manageable. Most rooms had 2 balconies to give you a great view, you would not mind spending lounging in the guest house soaking In the Sri Lankan weather and tea.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The owner is nice and helped us a lot with information and pointing us to the right places to eat and ensuring that my parents had a accessible room.The breakfast is great and they offer a choice of Sri Lankan or western which is Great if you are staying for long duration. We had dinner there which was good , though a touch expensive.

Define lay recommended with the winning points being rooms size,location and service

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbadhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean guesthouse with a welcoming owner then Villa 49 is for you. We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The location of the villa is great, walking distance to the Tooth Relic Temple and into Kandy town. The room was big and basic, very clean and adequate. The breakfast was served each morning by smiling staff and was plentiful. We had a home cooked dinner on our second night and it was probably the best Sri Lankan meal of our trip, it was an authentic home cooked 3 course meal with different dishes of sauces and curries. Very yummy! The owner Shenanigans was lovely, very friendly and accommodating. Her home are jam and meals are wonderful. Villa 49 was a great little place to stay in Kandy and we would highly recommend it if you want a smaller, more personal place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
793 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 357 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £56 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing