We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absent owner”
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 321 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level Contributor
312 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Absent owner”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Neither a hotel nor a villa. The absent owner made it impossible to correct some of the issues (TV, hot water, transportation) because she wasn't around and the gardener should not be required to know electronics work (and he certainly didn't). Both the helper and owner blamed their problems on monkeys.(TV) The room was basic with a poor A/C that had a poorly controlled fan (on 45 seconds, off 20 seconds, on 60 seconds, off 2 minutes, ...) with limited amenities. Per the instructions, if you want your room cleaned, leave the key with the desk. I did such and there wasn't a sign of anyone in the room. While the people there were very nice, they are extremely incompetent in their job which lies directly on the owner. The other issue that bothered me a bit was there were multiple rooms and only 2 were occupied so why did you put them nest to each other with a shared balcony??? Early morning noise is a problem.

Sri Lanka is a developing country and as friendly as this place was, I'd certainly pass because a room for $50/nt without any extras is too much.

Room Tip: get one that doesn't have a monkey problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    99
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
210
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guerneville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Villa 49 Hotel in Kandy, Sri Lanka and the experience was a great one. The hotel and room was excellent, dinner was super and the staff was friendly and helpful. Kandy is a clean and safe city and there are many things to see there. If you are looking for a good get away, this is a great place to relax. The hotel set up some touring for me and customized it to fit my tight schedule. My tour guide, Praboda, was excellent and made the experience fun. I hope youmake it to this city and hotel, and get the same tour guide, too! GO FOR IT!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. The rooms and location are superb and just what you're looking for after the beautiful train journey from Colombo (a must do!). The best thing about the hotel was the owner, who was on hand for everything and anything. No request was too much...even allowing us to use the hotel's tv until the early hours of the morning to watch football.

One important point to mention is the fabulous traditional meal that she cooked us. This can be requested and is a culinary delight.

Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben2397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during a 10 day Sri Lanka visit. I would recommend it to anyone. In a country of friendly people, the owner surpassed them all. If there is a friendlier and more helpful host, I would be very surprised. Nothing was too much trouble. You can have dinner and breakfast whenever suits. Strangely, Kandy lacks eating places providing genuine Sri Lankan food so it was great to find that the Villa serves exactly that, and to whatever spice level you desire. And for the princely sum of 1200 rupees.

Transport can be arranged through the villa. We sorted out our own for 2 days which in retrospect was a mistake. The owner has high standards and this is reflected also in the drivers she recommends.

The location is perfect. Far enough from town to be peaceful but only a 15minute walk to the centre of Kandy, or 5 mins in a tuk tuk which are plentiful on the road which is 1 minute from the Villa. We had emailed the owner prior to our visit and she provided detailed instructions of how to find the place but local tuk tuks and taxis will know where it is.

All in all, great value and highly recommended. Just remember though it is a guesthouse and not a hotel.



Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our best accommodation in Sri Lanka in terms of location, space, modern amenities, and peace amidst the city buzz of Kandy, probably because it was located in the suburbs so not so touristy but close enough to the city.

We liked the balcony where we could partially watch kids playing soccer, the private rooftop, tv channels, air con, free wifi, location (15 minutes stroll to the tooth relic temple), breakfast, the quality work of the rooms (good finish), clean rooms and dining area, comfortable beds, balcony chairs were very relaxing, homemade jams, and the friendliness of their staff.

We didn't get told about the gate being locked at night when we returned after midnight but it was no problem as we found the doorbell. Good to know some security was in place.

All in all a nice quiet guesthouse with modern facilities, not always easy to find in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Everyone working at the guesthouse was friendly, helpful and accommodating. Perhaps slightly over market value for Sri Lanka Rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely designed and the food delicious. Location good near lake and short walk or tuktuk ride into town. Staying on the top floor if there are other members out on the shared balcony area you can hear them but we were able to have breakfast on there to ourselves as well, so pros/cons.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IndianaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our first stop on a 2 week tour around the island. As others have said, it is well located just off the lake about 15 minutes walk from the town centre. The hotel was difficult to find in the first place and there was no external signage whatsoever. Once we had found it though everything else was very positive.

The room was very large, well equipped and clean. It also had a private door onto the huge roof terrace which was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a pot of tea in the early evening. The bathroom was adequate (perhaps not as spotless as the rest of the room though).

The food was all freshly prepared, reasonably priced and of a good standard - although there was no choice at all.

The staff, and in particular the owner, were all very friendly, professional and helpful.

Room Tip: The deluxe room on the top floor benefits from a huge, panoramic roof terrace. Although this is open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Property: Villa 49
Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 321 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing