We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way too much overpriced for this quality of room and food.”
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Offenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Way too much overpriced for this quality of room and food.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The breakfast was just ok. The toast and waffle were very dry. Dinner price was insane. Better dine in the city. There are a lot of choices there.

After we had waited there for quite a long time, the guesthouse owner told us that they couldn’t offer us any room before 2 pm. Therefore, we got a room to use the basin for washing our faces and hands. In that room, we saw a rat running from the shower room to bed.

In general, the room is pretty OLD and the location is very bad.

Although the guesthouse is located on the hill, the air is very bad, even in the early morning, you wouldn’t want to open the window as the air is almost poisonous. There is no comfortable road for pedestrian. Very dangerous and uncomfortable to walk there. Inconvenient location!

The TV didn’t work. The mattress is very old and too soft. The most incredible thing was the SUPER WEAK water pressure. It took me almost 45 minutes to finish the shower (usually I only need 10 min. to do it).

The Wifi Signal is not good.

The towels are dark and very old. They didn’t look clean. The shower curtain was quite short so that the floor became totally wet after shower.

No 24 hr front desk. You need to look for someone in house for assistance. There is no front desk.

It is not as nice as described on the website! Be aware!

Tips:
There are many options of guesthouses and hotels in the city where you get even better air and deal!

Room Tip: Better not to waste the money stay there. For 17 USD one night would be ok, but not for 77 USD one n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrestchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    99
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
210
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

At the very end of the lake in Kandy on the east side you will find Villa 49. It is a private house with only sex rooms and we had the very best room at the top of the house. It is magnificient and very tastefully decorated. Everything works - and it has a big balcony right outside overlooking Kandy. The staff was very polite and extremely helpful all the time. They also serve really nice breakfast and dinner - in a private looking room with soft music. Why eat out when there is a place like this. We give Shnani, the staff and Villa 49 the top rate in our review ofcourse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a 2 day stopover in Kandy and villa 49 was perfect - close to the city with a nice 15 mins walk along the lake . The rooms were spacious and comfortable and great value. The staff could not of been more helpful and Praboda the manager arranged the trip to the elephant sanctuary about 1 hours drive and our onwards transfer to Dambulla and and then Pasikudah. Breakfast was good and we ate dinner in the city which was incredibly cheap and excellent at the Devon restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_GHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XXX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Villa 49. Had a room on the second floor, overlooking a very greenish residential area with a sight to the mountains. Staff and owner very friendly, everything clean and a nice little balcony. Quite lots of birds to be seen. Breakfast was very good with selfmade jam and rotis. The tooth temple is in walking distance. For dinner one has to go by tuk tuk.
We would recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a great introduction to Sri Lanka at Villa 49, a quiet guesthouse set in the hills near the lake in Kandy, and a 15 minute walk to the Temple of The Tooth and other attractions of central Kandy.

Our room was very spacious and comfortable, with air conditioning and a lovely new bathroom. The owner was very welcoming and forthcoming with information about her country and the area, places to stat, things to see, and was more than helpful throughout our stay. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

The dining area opens out into the garden, overlooking the valley where you can see and hear the wildlife that this country is replete with, quite a start to the day!

Recommended for your stay in Kandy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a family run guest house. Wonderful rooms and very clean. The breakfast and evening meal was amazing. We felt like one of the family. There were 12 of us, so we took all the accommodation. We would definately go back to this one. Right by the lake in Kandy.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Shanina made us feel like family in her lovely guest house in the hills overlooking Kandy. Huge, comfortable rooms with beautiful views and sneaky monkeys that will come in if you leave a door open. Shanina's home made breakfasts and dinners were so delicious we could not be bothered to eat out. We found out too late that Shanina is happy to give Sri Lankan cooking lessons, we will take her up on it next time. It's a 15 minute walk around the lake to get to town or a short tuk tuk ride.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Property: Villa 49
Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing